Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breakneck spread from first page to last.
Review:
When I read Leopard Sword 6 months ago I was shocked at how much further Anthony Riches story telling depth had increased, his books have always been my favourite in terms of pace and sheer fun, but Leopard Sword took it further with twists and turns that had never been there before. Wolf's Gold keeps that improvement going and if possible squeaks past it in...
Published on 26 Oct. 2012 by Parm

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fact and Fiction, but which?
An interesting blend of fact and fiction that at times can be difficult to identify what is what. Nevertheless worth reading.
Published 22 months ago by Mithra


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The story just flows with Riches writings in the Empire series, I have been fortunate enough to meet Anthony and he's as nice a man as he is a good story teller. This book is no different with twists and turns right up until the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Two knives would give conn igguldon's Cesar a run for his money for most respected roman, 26 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Highly enjoyable series of books, we'll researched geography and knowledge of the roman empire and it's workings make the author stand shoulder to shoulder with Conn Igguldon and simon Scarrow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wolf's Gold, 5 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this, was interesting that various plots emerged, and their was a twist too. Read the following one straight away, and leads on to another adventure. Very enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sequenti libro placere, 29 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another very action packed and enjoyable read and can't wait for the no doubt many and epic fights to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Wolf's Gold,, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wolf's Gold (Empire) (Hardcover)
A great series of books by Anthony Riches, cant put them down when I start one, looking for the sixth in the series which is coming out soon, if you are interested in the Roman Army and its make up you will love this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two Knives!!!, 30 Mar. 2014
By 
JediMax (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Guts, glory and duty, yet another great book in a series that goes from strength to strength! Has everything you could wish for including a incredibly well written battle on the most improbable ground! Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting tale told with a wonderful economy of language, 5 May 2014
This review is from: The Wolf's Gold (Empire) (Hardcover)
Starting a long-running series a few books in is always a bit daunting, which is why it's taken me so long to actually read Anthony Riches' The Wolf's Gold, despite having a review copy since it was published in 2012. Because The Wolf's Gold is the fifth book in Riches' Empire series, which follows the trials and tribulations of Marcus Valerius Aquila, a Roman centurion who is set on the path of vengeance after his father and his family are murdered. But as I now have books five, six, and seven and this month is historical fiction month on the blog, I decided to take a leap and see how I went. And fortunately it went quite well; while there were definitely elements of the book that refer to past events, Riches does explain the bare bones for new readers and the story can be easily followed without having read the previous books. However, I did have the sense that I was missing some of the nuances of character interactions, but rather than being a nuisance, it made me want to find the previous books and get caught up on the story.

In The Wolf's Gold Marcus and his cohort have been sent far from their normal post in Britannia and we join them in Dacia. For someone who isn't that familiar with Roman history beyond the well-known facts, especially outside of Western Europe, trying to find my feet in the terminology and geography of the Roman world was a bit difficult at first, but I soon found my footing and settled into it. Riches writes with an economy of language that doesn't leave much room for lavish and detailed descriptions, but focuses more on action and dialogue. It was a style I needed to get used to especially after my last reads having been books that were quite the opposite, but which suited the story and the plot quite well. Riches doesn't waste his words and at about a third from the end I came to realise that nothing he writes is wasted; scenes that didn't seem to have a very large impact on the narrative at the time they occur turn out to be pivotal to the resolution of the plot. As a consequence the plotting is very tight and far more complex than it appears at first blush.

Marcus Aquila is quite a sympathetic main character. He's an honourable man, a leader who cares for his men and who inspires a lot of loyalty in his comrades. I really liked his friendship with his fellow centurions and his senior officers. Marcus is also a very capable character, who seems to have a natural knack for soldiering and strategy. While he is the protagonist of the series and the novel, his isn't the only point of view in the book. In fact, Riches employs many points of view, several of them recurring, such as those of Julius and Scaurus, some of them one time only such as those of Mus and Lupus. It creates a dynamic narrative allowing the author to play fast and loose with what the reader knows. Because while several points of view allow us to see things one perspective couldn't cover, it also allows Riches to keep things hidden from the reader, only to be hinted at and then later revealed with a flourish. Mostly these revelations are a welcome tada-moment in the narrative. There was only a reveal towards the end of the book for which I had missed any and all clues that left me a bit confused and grumpy as it just came out of left field for me.

I have a soft spot for military tales, be it historical, non-fiction, fantasy, or science fiction. What attracts me is not just that often these are tales of people rising to the occasion, beyond what they ever thought they were capable of, but also the cohesion and camaraderie of people serving in a unit. The loyalty a strong unit has to each other and the banter that often accompanies people being stuck at close quarters with each other, when done well, never fails to draw me in to a story. And this sense of brotherhood, connection and banter is something that Riches gets across very well. I love the way the men mock each other and joke about, only to risk life and limb for each other in the next scene. What Riches also portrayed very well is the ruthless nature of Roman politics and the way that military command and warfare was a way to get ahead in the Senate, leading to treachery and corruption quite often. These political officers are contrasted to the career officers quite starkly, as are those of Roman descent and those who are from outlying provinces. It makes life interesting for Marcus and company, since not even a victory is set in stone--it's all about how it's spun politically in Rome.

Despite some troubling finding my feet, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent with Marcus and the Tungrian cohorts in Dacia. Riches tells a compelling tale that spares no one and had me blinking in shock at some of the turns of events in the book. I was completely drawn in by the men of the Tungrian cohorts and I was really glad I could crack open the next book, The Eagle's Vengeance, immediately. While The Wolf's Gold stands well enough on its own - its plot and the Tungrians' mission for the book are all resolved and completed - the overarching story is clearly still ongoing, with Marcus having received an important new piece of information to aid him in his quest for justice and revenge. I may have only joined the adventure late, but I'm glad I did and I look forward to spending many more books with Marcus, Julius, Scaurus and company.

This book was provided for review by the publisher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased for my husband!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great book great series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The epic story continues..., 1 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
...and is as strong and addictive as ever. AR writes with a seeming ease that places the reader in the candle-lit tent, in the damp, dark forest, and on the bloody battlefield as a witness to the dramatic plots and intrigues that plague the characters in the series. One of the best roman era reads around
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wolf's Gold (Empire)
The Wolf's Gold (Empire) by Anthony Riches (Hardcover - 25 Oct. 2012)
Used & New from: £2.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews