Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well up to standard
Richard Blake has written another book so over the top that it makes a continuous good read. Goodness knows how he will top this but I look forward to reading the next one.
Published 12 months ago by Mrs. N. H. Radford

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down a little as main character never in serious danger
I love an anti-hero as you're never sure which way things are going to go. After all they're unbound by the usual set of ironclad rules that most have to stand by and for that reason the wonderfully dark as well as delicious Brother Aelric is a cracking change from the norm.

In this historical adventure (the sixth title for our hero) we get to see his own...
Published 16 months ago by Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well up to standard, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Mrs. N. H. Radford (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Richard Blake has written another book so over the top that it makes a continuous good read. Goodness knows how he will top this but I look forward to reading the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reads as if you were there., 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read and historical story. Richard Blake at his best and well researched and written.. I enjoyed it end to end..............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aeltic, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Yet again Richard Blake has produced a magnificent story, so over the top that it does not matter, which is great fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Let down a little as main character never in serious danger, 19 Aug 2013
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I love an anti-hero as you're never sure which way things are going to go. After all they're unbound by the usual set of ironclad rules that most have to stand by and for that reason the wonderfully dark as well as delicious Brother Aelric is a cracking change from the norm.

In this historical adventure (the sixth title for our hero) we get to see his own brand of trouble in Constantinople as a man of rank. It has great prose, some wonderful twists and of course with a lead character that you're never 100 percent sure on then you know that its going to be a whole lot of fun. The only problem that I have with this type of book, and its been a bug bear for years to me, is that I hate books being a look back on a characters life from their own point of view. It means that there's no danger to the characters person, that they're always going to get out of a situation which really does take a huge edge off the plotlines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is another excellent read. Richard Blake is obviously extremely knowledgeable about ..., 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Curse of Babylon (Aelric 5) (Paperback)
This is another excellent read. Richard Blake is obviously extremely knowledgeable about Greek, Latin and Anglo-Saxon as well as the historical background of the Western Roman Empire. Apart from being an excellent read, you will learn about history. My only quibble is Aelric is 90yo, however that does mean the Author has his intervening years yet to write about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly enjoyable, 25 Jun 2014
The Curse of Babylon is the sixth in Richard Blake’s Aelric series of books. Those who have read previous instalments will not be disappointed as it contains all the qualities that places it several notches above most historical romps. Equally, it is a volume that can be enjoyed as a stand-alone.

Set in the early seventh century, its youthful protagonist has risen to high office in the Eastern Roman Empire. Despite his humble ‘barbarian’ English origins, he lives in some style in Constantinople as Lord Treasurer. However, his fiscal duties are disrupted after he is presented with a possibly maleficent artefact and comes into contact with a mysterious young woman. Events move quickly thereafter with treachery in high places and the threat of a Persian invasion much to the fore.

Two features of the novel stand out. The first is a wonderful evocation of time and place. Constantinople may be the capital city of a great, albeit declining, empire, but it is also – as described – a place of terrible poverty, full of schemers and plotters, where episodes of lurid violence are commonplace. The second is a narrative that unfolds swiftly and often surprisingly, leading to a final showdown with possibly the most sadistic fictional bad guy I’ve ever encountered.

Notwithstanding the above, the tone is frequently darkly comic. My favourite moment comes when, against the odds, Aelric effects a daring escape from his pursuers and crashes through a window only to find the grossly obese City Prefect in a somewhat compromising position. All in all, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the story goes on, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Curse of Babylon (Aelric 5) (Paperback)
Very amusing writing, can't put the book down
The series as a whole is outstanding
I would recommend all of the books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Curse of Babylon (Aelric 5)
The Curse of Babylon (Aelric 5) by Richard Blake (Paperback - 2 Jan 2014)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews