Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comic Timing
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Ms Imrie sets out her stall early on that she is determined to avoid the cliches of showbusiness autobiographies, and that applies to the structure as well as the content of this book. So there's no dreamy-eyed first chapter, detailing her moment of greatest success, before we flashback to her childhood in chapter two. Ms Imrie is much...
Published on 15 April 2011 by Umberto Eco & the Bunnymen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the happy hoofer
found each chapter exactly the same as the one before, not very exciting, was hopeing it was going to be a lot better, very dissapointing
Published 23 months ago by fred


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comic Timing, 15 April 2011
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Hardcover)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. Ms Imrie sets out her stall early on that she is determined to avoid the cliches of showbusiness autobiographies, and that applies to the structure as well as the content of this book. So there's no dreamy-eyed first chapter, detailing her moment of greatest success, before we flashback to her childhood in chapter two. Ms Imrie is much more sharp-eyed than that, and has an ear to avoid the kind of empty padding that can clutter up other such books. If she had a ghost author - and I strongly suspect she didn't - I didn't hear his or her voice once; this is so much in the Imrie tones: cheeky, sharp-witted, respectful of the written word and often laugh-out-loud funny. (One anecdote, about a visit to a blue movie, to see a colleague's early foray into acting, had me roaring.) Ms Imrie may be someone suited to grey cardigan parts (a running gag in the book), but her private life is much more complex than that, and her assessment of the rewards and privations that accompany life as an actor is as honest as you'd expect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful read, 13 April 2011
By 
Karin Slaughter (Atlanta, Georgia, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Hardcover)
What an incredible life Imrie has led--at turns shocking and downright crazy, but always entertaining because of the woman's indomitable spirit. Most celebrities come across as very dull in these things, but in the telling of her fascinating story, the author reveals herself to be not only witty and engaging, but also a skillful writer. Imrie is just the sort of person you'd put on your "must invite" list for a dream dinner party. I didn't want the book to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Memoirs of 'Miss Babs'!!!!, 27 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Hardcover)
Have been a fan of Celia's for many years (mainly through her work with the fantastic Victoria Wood) so I was very interested to get my hands on her book!! And a very interesting read it is too!!!!

What I particularly liked was the way Celia has written the book!! She gets straight to the point and doesn't waffle on like some autobiographies tend to do!! There are numerous interesting stories and anecdotes from her life and work (some of which will surprise people I'm sure, particularly with regard to her eating disorder!! Although she doesn't dwell on that topic for long either!!). There are lots of other stories in the book to do with actors and actresses she's worked with and I particularly liked her working relationship with Dame Judi Dench and their now famous grey cardigan tradition!! She also discusses her son Angus and how she came to have him (an interesting point of view about marriage).

She does of course mention most of her work and the characters she's played, from the wonderful 'Miss Babs' in Acorn Antiques to the now famous bigger buns role of 'Celia' she played in the movie version of Calendar Girls!!

Al in all the 'Happy Hoofer' is a highly interesting read which I'm sure most people will find very enjoyable!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Brilliant Celia Imrie, 5 May 2011
By 
J. Ship (Hants, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Hardcover)
Thoroughly enjoyed this auto-biography. Informative, entertaining, amusing, well-written and some sad but important issues also covered. Particuarly enjoyed the travel and family stories. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Magical and entertaining, 2 May 2011
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Hardcover)
Well what can I say? This is one of the best reads I have read in a long time! Once you start this incredible book it's very very hard to put it down. A wonderfully well written book that makes you laugh loads!

You forget how much of a busy actress she is, and a lot of time in this book I thought she's in that, I forget she was in that etc

A 10/10 book, i would recommend it to everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 9 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Kindle Edition)
This is a splendid book. Not only is it a very entertaining theatrical autobiography, it's also a portrait of a remarkably appealing woman.
Celia Imrie comes across as an intelligent, very courageous, free spirit. She has led a most interesting life. She tells of an adolescent experience of anorexia and its "treatment" which would have left most people in pieces - or dead. In later life she had a serious illness which affected her deeply, both physically and psychologically, for a long time. Her account of becoming and being a single mother is thought-provoking.
One of her most attractive qualities is her capacity for friendship; she seems to have known and made friends with almost anybody who is anybody in the world of entertainment, and she portrays them in a lively and often very amusing way. She is an excellent writer. This is one of those books you can't put down, and you feel bereft when it's over. I live in hopes of another volume, soon, please.
Pity about the title - it doesn't fairly represent this multi-talented lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the happy hoofer, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Kindle Edition)
found each chapter exactly the same as the one before, not very exciting, was hopeing it was going to be a lot better, very dissapointing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 13 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Hardcover)
As soon as picked up this book I new I was going to enjoy it. I thought it was well written and found I couldnt put it down. It was as if you were talking face to face. I only read Autobiographys and I think this was up there with the best, I really didnt want it to end.
Now looking for one to replace it for my next read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Really Good Read, 20 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Hardcover)
The promotions for this book were correct - it really is a good insight into this marvellous actress and her very interesting life. It flows well and is a most enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars celia-- the happy hoofer, 20 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Happy Hoofer (Hardcover)
a very funny thought provoking book. the service was excellent, as was the delivery and ordering. i would not have any reservations in reccommending you to friends and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Happy Hoofer
The Happy Hoofer by Celia Imrie (Paperback - 24 Nov 2011)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews