Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb military page-turner
Juggernaut is the tale of a band of mercenaries, who head to the remote Iraqi Valley 403 in order to pick up one of Saddam's bullion caches. When they arrive, it's clear that this place is more than just a remote gold-depot; the ancient citadel riddled with bullet-holes and ankle-deep in brass casings suggests that something is amiss. As the truth unfurls, it becomes...
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by J. Morris

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adam Baker's second novel improves on his first
Adam Baker's debut novel, 'Outpost', was a competent but rather generic apocalyptic thriller. 'Juggernaut' is set in the period prior to 'Outpost', but is not strictly a prequel and can be read independently. On the other hand, readers coming to it from 'Outpost' will find at least partial answers to some of the loose ends Baker left there.

In this book, Baker...
Published 21 months ago by Paul Bowes


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb military page-turner, 29 Dec 2011
By 
J. Morris "Josh" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Juggernaut (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Juggernaut is the tale of a band of mercenaries, who head to the remote Iraqi Valley 403 in order to pick up one of Saddam's bullion caches. When they arrive, it's clear that this place is more than just a remote gold-depot; the ancient citadel riddled with bullet-holes and ankle-deep in brass casings suggests that something is amiss. As the truth unfurls, it becomes clear that this place should have stayed forgotten, but will any of them make it out alive?

Adam Baker writes extremely well and has managed to engineer his second novel as a prequel to his first - the excellent Outpost - whilst remaining canon. His style is succinct, with numerous short-sentences that maintain pace & conveys urgency. He remains fixed in reality for the majority of the book, name-dropping real-world brands of weapons, ammunition and places but with a major twist that is an interesting take on an increasingly threadbare pop-culture vein.

Well written, kept me guessing and I steamed through the 400-odd pages like the eponymous juggernaut as a result - highly recommended for a thrilling pulp-read!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zombies of Mass Destruction, 15 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Juggernaut (Paperback)
Outpost, Adam Baker's debut novel, was an unexpected highlight of last year. Creepy, action-packed, with a cast of memorable characters and a darker than dark story it most definitely earned its spot on my book of the year list. When my copy of Juggernaut arrived, I have to admit that my expectations were extremely high.

Like its predecessor, Juggernaut features a strong female protagonist as its main character. Lucy leads the group of mercenaries from the front and she is just as tough as any of her male counterparts. She is ex Special Forces and her calm under pressure makes for an engrossing character. She doesn't panic, she doesn't flinch, and she just does whatever needs to be done. Like the lead character in Outpost, there is an inherent inner-strength that starts to shine through as the plot unfolds.

The rest of the mercs are a rag tag group. My personal favourite was the South African team member, Voss, who has a habit blowing things up and chewing tobacco. I have to admit I kept picturing Jesse Ventura as Blain in Predator every time he appeared. My only minor disappointment was that Voss never delivered the line "I ain't got time to bleed" in a South African accent.

The northwestern Iraqi desert is an ideal backdrop for this story. While war rages far to the south, the blistering heat, inhospitable terrain and desolate landscape creates a sense of isolation. This isn't just mercenaries against hordes of undead but also against their surroundings. As the action escalates and the odds of surviving reduce by the second there is a palpable air of desperation.

I continue to be impressed by Baker's work and Juggernaut expertly showcases a rising talent in the genre. Be prepared for a tale featuring zombies of mass destruction that seamlessly blends together political intrigue with shockingly graphic body horror.

Juggernaut functions as a prequel to Outpost and fills in some, but not all, of the intentional blanks that appeared in the first novel. The reader gets to learn at least a partial origin to the virus that is causing all the mayhem. There are also some insightful flashbacks that shed light on the shadowy government officials who are trying to control it. There are, however, still enough gaps and a tantalising epilogue that makes me think there may be at least one more novel to come. If not, I will be happy to start the campaign here and now that demands that Adam Baker writes one. Juggernaut and Outpost are both masterful works that I would recommend to any reader that enjoys absorbing horror. Mr. Baker is an author that has a flair for the apocalyptic and I'm already looking forward to his next novel.

I have my own mental checklist when it comes to zombie novels like this. I'm looking for seemingly hopeless situations, futile gestures made by characters that know they are living on borrow time, small groups facing insurmountable odds and a climax that takes has you sat on the edge of your seat. The good news is that Juggernaut delivers all of this and more. Sure there are a plethora of zombie books out there but there is a world of difference between a zombie novel and a zombie novel done well. This falls firmly into the later category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Adam Baker's second novel improves on his first, 4 July 2012
By 
Paul Bowes (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Juggernaut (Paperback)
Adam Baker's debut novel, 'Outpost', was a competent but rather generic apocalyptic thriller. 'Juggernaut' is set in the period prior to 'Outpost', but is not strictly a prequel and can be read independently. On the other hand, readers coming to it from 'Outpost' will find at least partial answers to some of the loose ends Baker left there.

In this book, Baker has fused the post-9/11 military thriller with the bio-hazard horror novel. The plot - a team of mercenaries desperate to recover something from their largely wasted time in Iraq: a hidden horde of stolen gold; a shadowy CIA agenda; a seemingly straightforward off-the-books mission that goes horribly wrong - is familiar enough. But Baker has done his homework, and the detail of mercenary and intelligence operations is convincing.

Baker still writes like a screenplay writer - all choppy prose and two-sentence paragraphs - but moves the plot along efficiently enough. He is less adept at dialogue, and struggles to convey complex information in a believable way. Some of the information-laden speeches that characters are required to give later in the book would never have been uttered in such a stilted, cod-literary way in actual conversation. However, Baker seems to have improved as a creator of character, lending even the somewhat improbable female-led mercenary band a veneer of credibility. In fact, I could have done with more of this deepening of character, along with a more extended exploration of the ideas behind the book; preferably at the expense of action scenes that, while predictably kinetic, are too numerous and too similar and thus also repetitious.

Nonetheless, on the whole 'Juggernaut' succeeds better than 'Outpost' as an entertaining if undemanding read. A brief epilogue suggests a possible third book on the same theme, and again enough ends are left untied to make that book potentially interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite authors delivers yet again!, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juggernaut (Kindle Edition)
I discovered Adam Baker when I read Outpost and I had high hopes for this book - I wasn't let down.

Fast paced and a good mix of gruesome detail and action. I love the fact that Mr Baker isn't scared to kill main characters off, this makes for a more seat of your pants reading experience.

Also - a wee thanks for the Sisters of Mercy references in each book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed after reading Outpost, 27 Jan 2014
By 
B (Flitwick, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juggernaut (Kindle Edition)
I read Outpost and really enjoyed it, a book I could not put down and have recommend many times.
Very disappointed with Juggernaut, the story is ok but I found it very hard to empathise with any if the characters. I did persevere and finish and the last 20% was much better.

Outpost had me hooked, Juggernaut did not live up to expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent rubbish, 5 Dec 2013
By 
Myles Burke (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juggernaut (Paperback)
Read "Outpost" and liked it, which is why I bought this book from Amazon. It started well, with lots of details of weapons, explosives, life in Iraq as a mercenary, but then it quickly gets out of its depth. The actual story is so confused and long to develop, you lose interest before you get to the conclusion...that ultimately fizzles out into nothing. There are tremendous inconsistencies, people leave a group to scout for the walking dead, and two sentences later the group is back together and as a reader you say..."...I thought he just left?" People get killed but come back as 'not quite dead yet', although the authority on the subject says, "Your friend will have turned into a zombie in an hour." Fifty page on he's still there still dying, or turning into a zombie. The zombies are boring and at the beginning just crawling skeletons, but later in the book as the author tries to drag out his story they are now strong and a deadly threat, they can climb, fight and struggle. They have been dead in the desert for many months but still have goop in their brain (e.g. for blowing out with shotguns etc.). I cannot recommend this book in any way and that probably means I won't buy any more by this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 13 Nov 2013
By 
This review is from: Juggernaut (Kindle Edition)
Good follow up to the first part of the series. I like the writer's sparse style, it keeps things moving apace while being very descriptive and involving. Book is a bit pricey but it won't stop me from buying the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars i liked it!, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juggernaut (Paperback)
It was a good read, if you like outpost you will like this one too! i can only recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juggernaut (Paperback)
I have read other books by Adam Baker and although the theme is the same his easy-to-read style makes it an enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Err, 29 Aug 2013
By 
D. C. Norman - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Juggernaut (Kindle Edition)
Adam Baker again explores his ideads about plague from space that was very good in Outpost that is a far superior book than this effort. It is a treid an tested forula and trundles along. Nothing new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaaa70498)

This product

Juggernaut
Juggernaut by Adam Baker (Paperback - 16 Feb 2012)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews