Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gayle returns with a classic
Mike Gayle is back with a new book, with a very novel idea.
The book tells the story of a weekend from two different perspectives,and as always is an enjoyable read.
The book can be read in whichever order you prefer (I started with the Hen weekend, and am glad I read it that way round).
I have been reading Mike Gayle books for many years, and so far, they...
Published on 20 Feb 2012 by C Stone

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work
I like Mike Gayle a lot, in fact I think I've read all his books. So I'm sad to say this book isn't one of his best, other than the typos running throughout the book I think the storyline is a bit weak and the character relationships felt unrealistic, and everyone seemed a bit too keen to give up their relationships at the drop of a hat. I wouldn't recommend it, sorry...
Published on 13 May 2012 by Kiki


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gayle returns with a classic, 20 Feb 2012
By 
C Stone - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Mike Gayle is back with a new book, with a very novel idea.
The book tells the story of a weekend from two different perspectives,and as always is an enjoyable read.
The book can be read in whichever order you prefer (I started with the Hen weekend, and am glad I read it that way round).
I have been reading Mike Gayle books for many years, and so far, they have all been witty, emotional and entertaining.
This new book is no exception.
I just really need a sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stag and Hen weekend, 24 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good easy read to take your mind off recession etc! Everyone will relate to parts of it. Only criticism was a bit far fetched in certain parts...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like two books in one - FANTASTIC! xxx, 14 Feb 2013
By 
Megan ReadingInTheSunshine (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Stag and Hen Weekend (Paperback)
I was particularly excited about reading Mike Gayle's book for many reasons. One is that I'm actually getting married this year, and me and my fiancé have recently been talking about Stag and Hen do's, and what our plans were, so when this book came through the post - I wanted to read it straight away! The other reason which I need to talk about is the format of this book - it is actually split into TWO parts! One half is The Stag Weekend, and then once you have finished that part, all you need to do is turn the book over and open it from the other side to read The Hen Weekend! I was very excited about this and the best thing is - you can choose which story to start with!

The Stag and Hen weekend tells the story of a weekend from two entirely different perspectives - a males and a females. Phil is off on a Stag weekend to Amsterdam with his friends. Whilst Phil would like a quiet weekend of perhaps seeing the culture available and visiting places of interest, his friends are more interested in getting drunk as quickly as they can and being on the lookout for women. When Phil starts chatting to a woman in Amsterdam, it turns out they have rather a lot in common. Helen has opted to stay in the UK, going for a spa weekend in the Peak District with her friends. Ready for a weekend of laughing, pampering and relaxing, the last thing she expects is to run into her ex fiancé. As well as having a blast from the past to deal with, Helen has also been joined by Phil's sister Caitlin, who she has never got along with...

This is the first book that I have read by Mike Gayle and I must say I thoroughly enjoyed this! I was drawn in straight away and spent many wonderful hours losing myself in the two stories. I started with The Stag Weekend, but as I say, it doesn't matter which side you start with first, and part of the fun is choosing!

With The Stag Weekend, I was immediately hooked to the story, and I instantly warmed to Phil, I got behind him from the beginning and very much enjoyed the time I spent in his story. Phil was such a well-written character that I could feel his emotions pouring out of the page. As I read the story, I could clearly see the scenes vividly in my mind from his perspective, and I went through the same emotions with him. I'm certain that there will be readers out there who will relate to Phil or one of his friends, whilst at the same time enjoying everything the Stag do has to offer! I won't spoil it, but The Stag Weekend was my favourite part!

When I switched to The Hen Weekend, my mind was very much still with Phil and everything that had happened during his journey over the weekend. However, within a few pages, I was completely absorbed by Helen's tale and taken on a completely different journey - this time with the girls! I felt that I connected strongly with Helen as a character, as I read more I began to understand her personality and why she acts the way she does.

I loved the way relationships were explored in The Stag and Hen Weekend. I loved how as a reader I was able to read about not only Phil and Helen's relationship, but the relationships and firm friendships that they individually have built with those closest to them. I enjoyed seeing these friendships grow and develop differently.

Even though there are two parts to The Stag and Hen Weekend they blend together perfectly and compliment each other, and I was so pleased that as a reader we were invited on both the Stag do and the Hen do! Mike Gayle has excelled with this novel - There is drama, plenty of humour but at the same time there is a lot of emotion throughout and some parts are even quite thought-provoking. Personally I am very excited to see what Mike Gayle release next. A brilliant novel that I would thoroughly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not his best work, 13 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like Mike Gayle a lot, in fact I think I've read all his books. So I'm sad to say this book isn't one of his best, other than the typos running throughout the book I think the storyline is a bit weak and the character relationships felt unrealistic, and everyone seemed a bit too keen to give up their relationships at the drop of a hat. I wouldn't recommend it, sorry Mike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lady or the Tyger, 5 Mar 2012
By 
Like many readers, I was initially perturbed at the lack of a definitive ending for this novel. It does, however, bring to mind the short story "The Lady or the Tyger," in which the ending judgment is left up to the reader. After the initial "Arrrggghhh!" at the end, I let the novel digest and now I am at peace with it thematically. Definite must read.

And yes, Caitlin is just as Helen and Yaz describe her. Heatily agree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars books, 21 Feb 2012
ive read all of mr gayles books ,in my opinion this is his best yet,it is a book that i just couldnt put down ,i started with the stag weekend first which left little to the imagination as ive been on a stag weekend to holland,the hen weekend sounded great fun also. it left me in suspense all away along right till the end ,the question is did he or didnt he.i would recommend this book to any one as it is a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What about an ending???, 27 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm usually a fan of Mike Gayle novels, but was left severly disappointed by 'The Stag and Hen Weekend' for one main reason. There was no ending! I understand the concept of an open ending but this was far from it. The story itself was interesting and entertaining enough to have me racing through the second half of the book to reach the joint conclusion.... which never came. At first i thought there was an error with my kindle and it had lost the last few chapters, but sadly it just turned out to be bad writing. Don't buy this book, it will leave you feeling cheated and frustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HIS BEST TO DATE !!!!!!, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read all of Mike Gayles book and thoughtly enjoy them all, however this is HIS BEST YET !!! This book take you on both the Stag and Hen do's of Helen and Phil. takes you through all the emotions that go with it! This has been done with humour as well as giving you a really conection to the charactors and thier friends. The realtionship between Phil and Simon is a prime example, that they have both done things the other doesn't agree with, however their friendship remains firm. I love the way this book can be read as two completely different storys aswell as coming together prefectly.It does however leave to wanting more, which I hope is coming as a squel. After this I cant wait for Mike next book !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wanting more!, 20 Feb 2012
Here is Mike Gayle spinning his magic yet again. The true beauty of this book is that when you are reading the stags point of view you are truely there alongside him and feeling his emotions as clearly as your own - you believe him and everything he thinks about the hen. You're on his side.
And then you read the hen side... and within 5 paragraphs Mike Gayle has you completely captured in the hens world and mind.

These are real people and I was devastated when I came to the last page. 'More!' I cry, 'MORE'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not the best, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not one of mike gayles best books, however still an easy and enjoyable read that doesn't require to much concentration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Stag and Hen Weekend
The Stag and Hen Weekend by Mike Gayle (Paperback - 14 Feb 2013)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews