Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clochemerle meets Candleford
What a delight this book is.
It is rare to find a genuinely funny & moving book that keeps you (in my case) rapidly turning each page & ignoring familial demands, because I really wanted to know what would happen next !
Julia Stagg has produced a novel that is not only great fun....the running joke about poor French cooking is a delight, with a punch line to...
Published on 31 May 2011 by catherine

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet story
Two English people decide to chuck it all in and run a B&B in France - absolutely the dream of just about every disillusioned middle class British professional. It's slightly weird: there's a ghost in the local shop.

Our heroes have to overcome financial difficulties plus the entanglements of local power politics.

The countryside and people are...
Published on 29 July 2011 by Mrs. PJ Taylor


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sweet story, 29 July 2011
By 
Mrs. PJ Taylor (Reading UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Two English people decide to chuck it all in and run a B&B in France - absolutely the dream of just about every disillusioned middle class British professional. It's slightly weird: there's a ghost in the local shop.

Our heroes have to overcome financial difficulties plus the entanglements of local power politics.

The countryside and people are lovingly described by someone who clearly knows the area well. This is sweet, funny and has a happy ending. Works for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clochemerle meets Candleford, 31 May 2011
By 
catherine "Catherine" (poole, dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a delight this book is.
It is rare to find a genuinely funny & moving book that keeps you (in my case) rapidly turning each page & ignoring familial demands, because I really wanted to know what would happen next !
Julia Stagg has produced a novel that is not only great fun....the running joke about poor French cooking is a delight, with a punch line to die for !( I don't want to spoil it for other readers ); but is also moving ,without mawkish sentiment.
The cast of characters is a joyful mix of the naive (the English), the unintelligably wise (Annie) & hissably Machiavellian(the Mayor).
My only complaint, & it's HUGE, is , that this book only covers the first 3 months of ownership of the Auberge. All I can say is Ms Stagg needs to write the sequel quickly, because I'm already suffering from Fougas withdrawal symptoms.
This has the potential to be a series which will run, & run. And if the BBC or ITV are looking for their next big thing, they could do worse than look at this.
I've already lost my Vine copy of this book...my mother ran off with it, & I've ordered 3 copies to give as present's . Yes, I really do think it's THAT good.....Enjoy...I did
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uplifting amusing read., 10 Sep 2011
By 
GM Harlow (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
L'auberge

A lovely light hearted book. I found this easy to read, amusing, and absorbing. If you have ever stayed in France, you might recognise some aspects, though naturally the characters are larger than life and perhaps stereotyped. They are, in the main, wonderful down to earth characters with no guile or hang ups about the world in general. The main exception is the mayor, who is the villain of the peace, but actually perhaps.... I cannot say too much without giving away the plot!
I could see the auberge, the garden, the door, the bedrooms, everything as it was described.
I liked it for it's portrayal of French village life, for its descriptions, for the characters and because it is such a light, uplifting read, which nevertheless is perceptive of character and has some surprises up its sleeve!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars L'Auberge, 7 Jun 2011
By 
R. Gardner "Corriebob" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Firstly I really enjoyed this book, similiar to a Year in Provence or the Chris Stewart Books 'The ALmond Bloosom Appreciation Society' in that an English couple try to start up a restaurant/Inn in a small mountain village, but in this case the local Mayor tries to prevent this happening and shut them down, also how the locals come to their rescue and the story around that happening. There is a lot of nice humour and the characters are nicely fleshed out, You obviously know how it's going to end, but, it's fun getting there..The author gauges the pace nicely and we feel a connection with the locals as they appear in the story. A nice light read and suitable for anyone, easy to dip into with a lot of pleasant humour and the occasional outright laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, easy reading, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
A very good "story", quite obviously based on real experiences ? which having lived in rural France and run a business there , I could relate to almost everything in this book . The ups and downs of moving abroad , the difficulties with the French and their adminstrative systems, the "power "of the local Mayor, the most unfortunate anti British feeling from some French people... the generosity and kindness of others, all outlined by nice little stories within the main story.
A very well written and interesting book , I hope for a follow up on how the Brits are doing running their Auberge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A gentle insight into French village life., 11 Aug 2011
By 
Herbie Green "Herbs" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A good book, easy to read, but well written and fun. A gentle insight into french village life in the Pyrenees.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars l'Auberge, 11 July 2011
By 
Mr. B. W. Haynes "b & e haynes" (North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When an English couple manage to buy a run down restaurant in a small French town under the noses of some interested local parties, it seems that it can only end in tears; but for whom? As the couple stuggle to open the business they gather unexpected friends and support along the way.
On the whole an unchallenging story that would make a pleasant holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming French Auberge, 6 July 2011
By 
Mrs "Love all sorts of books, Eng Lit degree,... (Potterton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very charming book. It is pretty well written and carried me along to the end. The story revolves around two English people who have bought a dilapidated auberge in a small french village. While many people are delighted to welcome the English couple, some have plans for the Auberge themselves including the mayor. Although there is an initial impression that resistance to the English is due to the fact that they are English and will be terrible cooks, the author reasonably quickly moves one on to understand that the motivations are much more complex than that.....

If you to know detail - read the book!

One warmed to most of the characters and the author had an extra little twist in the story that, while really not necessary to make this a good read, was funny and poignant at the same time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a must read if you have any interest in french life, 27 Jun 2011
a lovely read, kept me turning page after page to find out what happened next. living in france and running a small business in the ariege region i can verify that the the author has created a wonderfully accurate and funny depiction of the conflicts and joy of living in a rural community in france. a must read if you are interested in a humorous view of rural french life. thank you julia and i look forward to more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Light reading, 26 Jun 2011
By 
Alison "runninggirlcycling" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I enjoyed reading L'Auberge and it would make perfect holiday reading because it is very light and easy reading.

It's a fictional story of an English couple who but the auberge in a small French village upsetting some of the more traditional residents who want it to remain in French hands. There are many ups and downs from the day they arrive and discover their memories of the auberge they have purchased are rather rose tinted compared to the reality.

As a first novel it's pretty good, but there are some random elements to the story that should have really been edited out (I don't want to spoil the plot so that is as much as I will mention) as they don't add anything to the book and seem to distract. Some characters seem bland and without enough detail to get a good sense of who they are while others are much more rounded. There are a lot of different things going on in the lives of the characters, many of which are not resolved by the end of the book. Possibly there are already plans for a second book? The plot was predictable but ultimately I enjoyed the book and I read it quickly.

Recommended if you are looking for a light holiday read and enjoy reading this kind of fish-out-of-water tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles)
L'Auberge (Fogas Chronicles) by Julia Stagg (Paperback - 12 May 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews