Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Stephen King...very gory!!!
I read this a few years ago and the story has managed to stay pretty well intact in my mind. That shows that this is a good story.
It's about an author who, as a child, suffered with bad headaches. On examination, the doctors find that he has a growth in his brain. When they go in to operate, they discover the growth is actually body parts of what can only have been...
Published on 22 Feb 2004 by Sue Lewendon

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Good but a drag
I find Stephen King's books to be a hit and miss. Some of his books are brilliant, others are boring. I find this book to be a mixture. It id gripping and has its suspense but that only comes once every so often and the rest of the book is a drag and I ended up speed reading to get it done. The short story Secret Window is much better and has a very similar story. Try...
Published 19 months ago by Wood


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Stephen King...very gory!!!, 22 Feb 2004
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
I read this a few years ago and the story has managed to stay pretty well intact in my mind. That shows that this is a good story.
It's about an author who, as a child, suffered with bad headaches. On examination, the doctors find that he has a growth in his brain. When they go in to operate, they discover the growth is actually body parts of what can only have been his twin. Somehow they have started growing and so they are removed.
Years later, Thad Beaumont becomes a very successful writer. But the books he writes are beginning to get him down as they all tell tales of a pretty nasty character. As well received as these are, Thad decides to retire the character and move on to other, nicer stories.
The character, George Stark, isn't happy about this and decides to stop Thad. How is this possible you might well ask? Anything is possible in the safe hands of King.
Then begins a truly horrifying tale of good vs evil as Thad comes to realise that George isn't just a figment of his imagination. He will do anything to protect his wife and twins, and George will do anything to stay a part of this world....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars King uses his own life as a basis for one of his best books!, 29 Nov 1999
By 
Mr. C. Barker "MajorBoothroyd" (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
Written shortly after Stephen King revealed his own alter-ego, The Dark-Half takes the pseudonym author idea to the worst possible case scenario! What would you do if your alter-ego came to life and started killing everyone close to you in a desperate bid to make you write the book which would save his soul. A great yarn and a wonderfully abstract view of the heart of schizophrenia. Read it and see for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story from King, 25 Aug 2010
By 
A. Nelson (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
I like Stephen King. He does what a popular writer is supposed to do: he writes gripping stories so well you just have to keep reading. And I like the fact that he deals with contemporary America in a mythologising but totally realistic way - he is the Spielberg of the novel. More than that, the plot of this book is tight, simple, and memorable. Any sub-plots are kept that way - just sub-plots - so there are no silly diversions. I found the ending a little obvious as it approached, but even so, I wanted to be there to see it happen! A great story from one of the best living writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The cover of my edition is right: HIS MASTERPIECE,, 1 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
My favourite King novel of all time, a small but significant inch above "Misery". Like "Misery", this is the story of a writer, a close-to-home topic through which King's genius really shines.

Thad Beaumont, a serious and seriously undeappreciated author, has been paying the bills writing under the pseudonym of George Stark for some time now. Stark's novels are gritty, gory, sadistic blood-fests which the public can't get enough of, but the real writer in Thad has had enough of living a lie: he stages Stark's funeral, announcing to the world Stark's death and, hopefully, the birth of his success as himself.

George Stark, as you may imagine, is less than thrilled at being proclaimed dead... terror ensues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good - but not the usual, 30 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
good but strange King novel.
feels like he wanted to write two different stories (one about evil and sparrows and one about writing) but ended up mushing them together instead. and its all the better for it.
the first half is intense and gruesome, lots of murders and mystery, then the second half is an inevitable slog to what we know has to happen.
the supernatural stuff is great, but the story as a whole is quite unlike Steven King.
anyways, action packed, convoluted and manic (it reads like a vastly superior Philip K Dick) King manages to create very interesting characters that you begin to care about very early on. great characterization throughout.
8.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent book from one of the greatest storytellers, 4 Mar 2005
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
I have read a large number of Stephen King books and am yet to find a disappointing title. The Dark Half was excellent in the way King manages to base a story around such a small amount of characters yet still engages the reader from start to finish.
Another stand out point from previous novels I have read from King was the excessive gore used to describes the murders in the story. These however only manage to emphasise the scares and thrills contained in the plot.
For me it would undoubtedly have won a five star rating, if only the ending had been slightly more inspiring, but to be honest the rest of the book alone makes up for any slight let down.
joe hindley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 100% Blown Away!, 1 Oct 2008
By 
Michael David O'Neill "M!key" (Wigan, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
When I picked this book up, I did not expect what I got. I picked the book up and I could not put it down until I finished it! Superbly written like all of his other books. The story just grabs you by the throat from the minute you pick it up.
And how can anyone who reads King's novels not love it when Alan Pangborn just pops up. Gotta love that Castle Rock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Pulp Horror, 6 July 2013
By 
Gregory S. Buzwell "bagpuss007" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
The Dark Half is, appropriately enough given its subject matter, one of those novels where the author's life and the author's work overlap. Stephen King published a few early books under the name Richard Bachman and then, when the secret was out, he 'retired' Bachman from service. In The Dark Half novelist Thad Beaumont publishes literary works under his own name and violent pulp thrillers under the name George Stark. When a needy lowlife stumbles across the secret Thad decides to kill Stark off anyway and avoid the possibility of blackmail but the trouble is Stark refuses to stay dead.

I think the premise behind The Dark Half is about as good as a horror novel can ever hope to have - a respected novelist with a wife, kids and a comfortable lifestyle in staid middle-class America who finds himself pursued and threatened by a violent alter ego who really shouldn't exist. I sense King had great fun with the idea himself and the result is a fantastically over the top homage to Jekyll and Hyde and The Picture of Dorian Gray on the one hand and the pulp EC Comics - notably the Tales from the Crypt series from the mid-1950s - on the other. The tag-line for the novel is 'George Stark. Not a very nice guy' and Stark's insane murder spree as he bumps off interfering cops, nosy journalists and literary publishers before targeting Thad and his wife is as accomplished and unpleasant a piece of pulp noir writing as you'll ever find. It's to the book's benefit that even though Stark is an abomination it's impossible not to have a sneaking admiration for him. He may have no right to exist but having crawled into reality from the dark-side of an author's imagination he's going to have a damn good stab at staying there.

I'd argue that King has written deeper and more complex novels (It, The Stand and The Shining to name but three) but he hasn't written many in possession of a greater narrative drive than The Dark Half. George Stark is a terrific creation - there's something almost Terminator-like about his ability to target and take-out his victims - and the way he physically decays over time is a nice touch and a great means of adding another layer of visceral horror to the story. Similarly the way King has his lead characters investigate the nature of fiction, the weaving of fact and experience into stories and the means by which the process of writing is carried out from initial idea to final draft is fascinating. It's a good book about an individual nightmare made manifest. George Stark. Not a nice guy .... You can say that again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dark indeed, 23 Aug 2009
By 
Marie Brice "riacatacus" (chatteris england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
This was originally publishes under Kings pen name. It is indeed dark stuff. I have re read it several times but still find it slightly disturbing rather than just plain scary. I think IT is the best book he has ever written though I love all his work. I recommend Cell as I believe it might happen one day!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars King at his best, 4 April 2008
By 
A. Auburn (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Dark Half (Paperback)
This book is superbly well written, covering every point of view effectively and subtly. Stephen Kings ability as a horror writer shines through excellent descriptions and an highly original, relevant plot.
I would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoyed Kings earlier work such as Misery and Carrie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Half
The Dark Half by Stephen King (Paperback - 10 Nov 2011)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews