Customer Reviews


148 Reviews
5 star:
 (102)
4 star:
 (30)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes "read" is better....
This is probably not the most sophisticated or deeply plotted Stephen King book - it is one of his early works and that shows. Pet Sematary is, however, the most absorbing and haunting novel I have ever read and is full of a black humour that remains with you long afterwards.
The concept is simplicity itself - happy all-American family move to their dream house in...
Published on 18 Feb. 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pet Sematary
My first Stephen king book. Good read. Not very scary so will try another book from this author. Loved the ending.
Published 10 months ago by Crystal


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes "read" is better...., 18 Feb. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
This is probably not the most sophisticated or deeply plotted Stephen King book - it is one of his early works and that shows. Pet Sematary is, however, the most absorbing and haunting novel I have ever read and is full of a black humour that remains with you long afterwards.
The concept is simplicity itself - happy all-American family move to their dream house in rural Maine and make friends with the kindly old couple across the street. This, of course, is the world of Stephen King - so everyone has a secret and nothing is quite as it seems. The one thing you can be sure of is that nobody is likely to live happily ever after...
The book is certainly bleak and not to be recommended if you're feeling depressed ! But, however intense the emotions that it evokes, the joy of meeting some of King's most believable and sympathetic characters and the experience of discovering just what is out there in the woods behind the Creed house are certainly worth it.
I have read this book countless times, but have never forgotton the pleasure of discovering it initially, when every plot development was new. If you are about to read Pet Sematary for the first time I envy you - enjoy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The dead won't sleep.... BEST HORROR BOOK EVER!, 12 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
I am an avid reader of horror. I have been reading horror books since I was about 10 years old - I am 28 years old now - and all I can say is that Pet Semetary is simply one of the scariest books I have ever read.

I'm sure you already know the basic storyline: there is an ancient graveyard deep in the woods, and if you bury the dead in this sacred ground, they rise to life again. Then you are into one of the most dark, disturbing and unsettling stories ever written.

Even Stephen King himself has said this was the scariest thing he ever wrote!

I am being honest here: there were times when I was frightened to turn the page to read what would happen next. I literally struggled to carry on reading because the whole thing became SO disturbing to me.

I highly recommend this to any fans of the horror genre... but be warned, it is a dark, sad, horrific story... and don't expect a happy ending! You are warned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Disturbing in ways you can't fathom, 13 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
It is an on going debate amongst the Stephen King fan base which is his scariest story. For me it's got to be IT, but the two front runners of this arguement are two very different tales. One, of course, is The Shinning. And the other is Pet Sematary. Stephen King himself said that after writing Pet Sematary he felt as if he had finally gone too far - and its easy to see why the thought that. He even went as far as sticking in a drawer and forgetting about it - never supposing it might actually get published. It's that bleak.

Pet Sematary is as far from a thrill-ride as you can get. Its not a knock-down, drag-out roller coaster of suspense and terror. Rather, it is a slow burning, ever escalating cauldron of unease and dread, that is slow to come to the boil, but scolds you when it finally does. Gripping in a way that I have never quite experienced in a book - I can only explain the experience as somewhat similar to the charity work people do with terminally ill children - you know tragedy is inevitable, but you can't leave the side of the characters until everything has been seen through.

The ending is all important to this book, and lynch pins the entire story. If King had got it wrong, the entire book would have been a massive waste of time. As it is, the ending is one of the most memorable I am likely to ever experience; a terrifying crescendo that had me clenching my teeth and squeezing the pages. While reading Pet Sematary, if you think you have the ending guessed, I can tell you now that youre most likely wrong.

Of course there are the typical Stephen King draw backs that you find in every single one of his novels, without fail. The story is probably a little too drawn out, and there are long passages of self indulgence that could have easy been shortened, and not to mention those irritating tangents he goes on occasionally that have you screaming "Get back to what's important!". But hey, all those of us who return to Stephen King's stories time and again expects them and abide by them, so as to experience a tale that is bound to leave some mark on you.

And Pet Sematary does that better than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back from the dead..., 8 Mar. 2007
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
A young family move to a new home next to a busy main road, while in the woods behind their property is an old Indian burial ground with the secret power to bring the dead back to life...it doesn't take a genuis to work out where King is headed with Pet Sematary, but the result is a powerful read. The 'old Indian burial ground' may now be a horror cliche, and the influence of the W.W. Jacob's classic 'The Monkey's Paw' short story (freely admitted and referred to in the novel) is massive, but for sheer darkness Pet Sematary is one of King's most affecting novels. Most of Stephen King's novels have at least some brighter rays of hope shining through the horrific events, but with it's central theme of the inevitability of death 'Pet Sematary' is a resolutely bleak experience - while King may have written better novels in terms of sheer horror (witness the gutwrenching tale of the heroine's disabled sister, or the intensley eerie tale of the killed soldier who returns to a shambling semblance of life) this is probably King's strongest work. If there is any criticism here it's that King has a tendency to overstretch his material, particularly in the second half of the novel where every event is recounted in laborious detail for little gain, but despite it's rather bloated size this is still a key work from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most disturbing- and best- books i have ever read, 27 July 2011
By 
B. Franklin "Fronk" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
Well i very rarely write reviews of books, as i feel everybody has their own taste, but i'm making an exception for this perticular novel as i have just finished reading it and have been utterly blown away.
I won't describe the plot in too much detail, mainly as its quite hard to go into too much detail without giving it away, but what i will say is this; Louis Creed and his family move into a new house next to a busy main road, and are introduced by a neighbour to a pet 'Semetary' in the woods near the house. But it's no ordinary 'semetary'. I won't say any more than that, but if your a fan of Stephen King then you know what to expect. If your not a fan, then make an exception for this one book. Lots of books describe themselves as horror, but lets face it, very rarely does a BOOK actually scare a reader. But this Book. Wow. If you want a book that will scare you, and leave you utterly disturbed, this is it. Forget 'The Shining', 'It', and all his famous others. This is his most disturbing horror novel.
Numerous times during reading it i had to take a time-out just to get reacquainted with the real world, as it truely sucks you in, all the way from the first page to the shocking climax. And many times i thought i had guessed where it was leading, only to be fooled by twists and turns on every corner.
Its the perfect length, just under 500 pages, so is a comfortable read, isnt too complicated or in-depth. Just a gripping, powerful, and disturbing read. If you want a book that will truely send shivers down your spine, and leave you debating 'what would i do in that situation?', then this is the book for you! Read it. Trust me. You won't be the same again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How Far Would You Go?, 3 Feb. 2015
By 
M. Dowden (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
After hearing about the ‘Zombie Cat’ in Florida last week, and now a battle over who will keep him, I thought it must be a good time to dig out my copy of Pet Sematary. This book is slightly unusual in that over the years I have known loads of people who would not read a Stephen King book actually read and enjoy this.

To a certain degree this book feels real in terms of location due to the fact that King did base this on a place that his family once stayed at, and there was a pet cemetery misspelled as Pet Sematary by children there. For Mr King this book is what he considers his scariest, although when he last said that was some years back. Feeling that he had perhaps gone too far with this, I would disagree and say that he had hit the nail more or less straight on the head. Death is the end for all of us eventually, but if there is anything on the other side or if there is a chance of coming back no one knows, despite what certain religions and their leaders and followers would like you to believe. They haven’t been dead and then some time later came back to tell us what it was like, and before anyone thinks of some smart answer, remember Jesus may supposedly have been resurrected, but he didn’t stand around giving talks on what he experienced.

As usual King sticks to the tried and tested manner for horror success, and that is to make something that is firmly fixed and believable to us then have a supernatural element added. In this case what may be in the woods beyond the actual pet cemetery itself. So for Dr Louis Creed, when the pet cat dies and his neighbour across the road takes him on a journey into the woods where the cat then comes back to life, it is a relief not to have his daughter crying her eyes out at the cat’s sad demise. Of course the cat isn’t quite the same, but it makes an appearance of being nearly normal, so what could be the harm?

But how far would you go if you knew about this secret? Suppose your child or spouse died, would you try to bring them back? It is this question that ultimately is raised by this book, which makes it still quite current and a topic that is still much discussed today. It is only human nature that at some point someone, if they know this secret will try it on something slightly larger than a pet. As we all know Stephen King isn’t really the greatest when it comes to endings, but here he does quite well as he leaves us with something to ponder long after we have closed this book. In all this is something that unlike some of his earlier novels has stood the test of time and is still well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't read this when you're on your own, 10 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
I have just finished this book and it was very good, not the best I have read by King (I keep that standard for 'Salem's Lot) but still a great read. The characters are very well drawn out as is the plot, which does take some time to get to 'point' but doesn't fail becaus eof this, in fact I would say that the suspense helps the plot along.

One problem I had with this novel though was the fact that once the climax stated it ended very quickly, a little too quickly to be honest which was why I only gave it 4 stars. King could have easily cut some of the middle out and allowed a bit more depth into the ending chapters.

Overall though, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a book to die for., 6 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
My advice to you is not to read this book whilst sitting alone in the house at night with only the cat for company because i can guarantee you that you will not be able to sleep.
This is the story of Dr Lous Creed, his wife Rachael and their two children, Ellie and Gage who move from Chicago to Ludlow, Maine. Here they become friends with an elderly couple across the street, Jud and Norma Crandall. One night Jud takes Louis up to the Pet Sematary and beyond to a magicial place, an indian buiral ground. From here on in this is truly Stephen King at his best.
I realised that this was not the best book to take to read on holiday whilst lying on a sundrenched beach, with nothing much to occupy my mind with during the day i found at night my imagination running wild and have to admit to having to sleep with the lights on.
After having read this book ask yourself one question - If you were in the same position as Louis Creed whould you do the same thing?
My answer: Under the circumstances and bearing the state of my mind, then probably yes. Quite a frighting thought.
If you are Stephen King's Number One Fan than this book is a MUST HAVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for dark spooky nights!, 14 Dec. 2002
By 
Matthew7 (Donut City, England) - See all my reviews
An excellent BBC adaptation. The production quality and music are excellent, and the performances from the cast are superb. Genuinely creepy, this one can be enjoyed many times over, and doesn't disappoint. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not as scary as expected BUT....., 23 Nov. 2011
By 
C. E. Ellam "Clareee" (West Yorkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pet Sematary (Paperback)
You might either think this has one or two spoilers in it, or like me when reading reviews, think "he does What?! Does that really happen in it? Goodie Goodie" and be even more tempted to buy the book. Anyway, whatever, read on if you enjoy nice ramblings and a couple of spoilers.....

I finished Pet Sematary tonight, and as I neared the end of the book I was reading it brushing my teeth, reading it in the car in the works carpark if I was 5 mins early, reading it while also trying to watch Masterchef Australia...wow, I guess it must have been Good. I thought Id have a look at some peoples reviews who scored it low to see what they might have thought the less successful parts were, seen as summararily I enjoyed it so much. The main train of thought seems to be with the last couple of chapters that deal with the grand finale. And I partly agree...I thought the end seemed rushed too...when you see you havent many pages left to go you expect it all to finish with a grande finale to top all other episodes of fear and tenseness youve already experienced in the book, but the gage-zombie killing spree was a bit hurried, in a way that didnt shock so much as just leave you with a half formed image of whats just happened and with a feeling of "huh...what? Eh?". Its great when an author successfully builds up your relationship and empathy for a character, to then all of a sudden surprisingly kill them off (or have them suffer when you really dont want them to ala the character Del's execution gone horribly wrong in the Green Mile - ugh) as it doesnt half take you on an emotional rollercoaster with the book, but it felt like there just wasnt enough meat on the bones. For me the best part of the book was the event of Louis sneaking into the cemetary and exhuming his son - this, if i remember rightly now, seemed to last ages. There were loads of tense situations (the police patrolling in the car and he had to hide behind the tree, him nearly skewering himself on the railings and busting his knee, when he gets the grave open thinking for a second his sons head was missing, losing his car keys, the dog barking and nearly blowing his cover....) it was deliciously grisley and so tense and cumbersome you just kept thinking "doh ... doh...DOH!" Brilliant! And then to blow it all with a fizzle-pop of an ending compared to brilliance of the exhumation chapter was a bit of a let down. I thought the story jud told of that other dude that exhumed his son way back when was freakier, when they all went to his house and the zombie son was staring up at the red sky and then tells them in his gritty-demonic voice their dirty secrets really made me shiver. Much more scary than the scalpel wielding gage. I wish he'd strung it out more. Even the bit at the end were Rachel comes back from the grave...would have been freakier if she'd have gently put her cold dead hand on his throat from behind rather than his shoulder to really insinuate that the horror continues past the end of the book with the assumption she will in the end kill Louis would have been spookier!! I do think that anyone that has children, especially young ones at the time of reading, would find the book particularly chilling and hard to forget after switching off the bedside light. It raises good issues of how events of the past can leave an indellible mark psychologically for later in life. Also the love for your family that questions where would you draw the line to try and protect your family or when faced with grief and an opportunity to bring a loved one back against all sensibilities, if you could, would you not also take your chance. Chilling certainly, and some parts very delicate and tough to read and face up to, but as far as down right scary, perhaps not quite so much as I had thought it would be but still a good old yarn. Should have been creepier earlier on I think.

^ Some of this might not make much sense as I started writing it as a comment for another persons review, generally agreeing and adding a bit, but a bit turned into a lot so I copied it into my own review.

For the sake of a couple of quid just buy it and make yer own mind up
x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 215 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pet Sematary
Pet Sematary by Stephen King (Paperback - 10 Nov. 2011)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews