Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curiosity killed the Cat!!
Well here it is .... this years Stephen King release, I always look forward to it and after the release of some of his shorter stories earlier this year -- this is no doubt his main course.
A claustrophobic affair more in keeping with Geralds Game or Misery than his epics like The Stand. Not set in Kings Country and he explains the reason at the end ... the main...
Published on 3 Sep 2002 by Mr. Paul J. Stephen

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so
I can't say From a Buick 8 was one of the best S King books i have read, but I didn't exactly hate it either. There isn't much of a plot, just a collection of incidents that have taken place around the existence of this car, that isn't a car. I felt I wanted to know more about the car and where it came from, but then again so did the characters in the story, and I suppose...
Published on 24 Jun 2007 by Patty


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite...but almost., 14 Aug 2003
By 
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Paperback)
Trying to compare any recent Stephen King novel with his earlier works such as "The Dead Zone", "The Shining", "The Stand" or "It" is a hopeless task, as nothing he has written since will ever match those books for sheer genius.
However, trying to leave that prejudice aside, this was a highly enjoyable novel that restored my faith in King after the quite awful "Dreamcatcher" which must rank alongside "The Tommyknockers" as the worst books he has ever written.
I approached this with some trepidation after reading the synopsis, as I was dreading what I thought would be another futile attempt to introduce us to an alien world, as in my opinion, King can't get this to work...his tedious Dark Tower saga being a case in point. But, work it did, mainly due to the strong narrative and the fact that the "other world" was just skirted around and never truly explored, leaving the reader to make up his or her own mind about where and what it was.
King writes better in the first person and it showed here. He regained the knack in this book of lulling you into a false sense of security, where not much is happening, before hitting you with a chunk of unsettling horror and then just as quickly leaving it alone for a while. It was all the better for not having a huge build up into what is normally a disappointing, badly written, climatic scene which King is fond of lately.
Altogether, a return to form and it bodes well for future novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From a Buick 8, 14 Jun 2003
By 
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Paperback)
I have read nearly all Stephen King books and my first thought about this was, oh god a book about a car it's Christine 2. This is definatley not Christine 2.
The son of a recently killed Police officer is helping out around the police station where his father served, while looking around the back of the barracks, he see's the secret of the Station. A Gleaming Buick 8 motor vehicle. It has no battery, the engine could not possibly work, no key and it repairs itself if scratched. So how did this car drive onto a garage forecourt years before, this is a car that draws you towards it.
This book without doubt is responsible for my reignited interest in Stephen King. It is extremly well written and a pleasure to read. The story is involving and you feel for all the characters involved.
This is a book that should definatley not be missed, hopefully this will not be lost in the shadow of the dark tower books due for release this year.
Miss this book at your peril. It's Official King is like a good wine. He is getting better and better with age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We're on the road to nowhere..., 28 Nov 2002
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Hardcover)
From A Buick 8 has been on Stephen Kings back burner for the past few years, and its perhaps easy to see why other projects would have taken priority. The most surprising thing about this novel is that the tale itself is so slight – a mysterious car shows up out of nowhere and strange occurrences surround it, that’s about it. Fears of comparisons with Christine are redundant, the fact that the mysterious object here happens to be a car is the only similarity – it could easily have been one of a dozen other objects without altering the story too much.

The story is told predominantly in flashback, not unlike Dolores Claiborne, and this has the effect of making a lot of the supporting cast rather faceless and interchangeable. Beyond the core main characters there is a large cast of cops who drift into and out of the story over the span of years, and these very thinly sketched characters often remain little more than names.
The main problem with From a Buick 8 is its length – it’s far too long, and much of the middle 200 hundred pages are taken up with repetition. Young Ned is impatient with the rambling nature of the story being told, wanting to get straight to the meat of the story – after the third ‘flashing light show, appearance of Lovecraft-ian creature, examination’ sequence in a row the reader sympathises. King also stoops to using the lowest possible form of reader misdirection I’ve ever read in the last chapter, which manages to end things on a sour note.
This is by no means a bad book, and there is still plenty to enjoy – plays on the attraction of dangerous objects, the chain of events that stretches between people and events over the years, the authors usual trait of a repeated phrase (“Curiosity killed the cat, satisfaction brought him back”) – its just a bit of an uneven ride, and certainly a let down after the brilliant Black House…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Constant reader....., 11 Oct 2002
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Hardcover)
Following on from his X-Files stylee "Dreamcatcher" I first had the idea that this years offering from 'the King' looked very much like 'Christine' and was worried that he's running out of ideas. However, after getting into the book, which for most of his books is not very hard I was hooked, not for the scares or the twists but for the simplicity of the story based around a troop of every day policeman. The things that were "born of the Buick 8" were a bit simple and not exactly what I expected from the man that thought up IT !
Overall, a good engrossing read but as other's have already recommended, if you're new to King then start off with his earlier work. This book, I think is for his and I quote "constant reader"....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars gets you thinking, 15 Jun 2011
By 
Richard Byers - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Paperback)
i think to enjoy this book you have to have an active imagination, the book works on the fear of the unkown, and it does this well. As with other king books its not what you see that scares you, its what you dont and your what imagination makes up.

overall i think this book is a great read, a would interest those with an eye for parallel universes and perhaps takes a nod at the dark tower series and the film mist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For All the Explaining, Much is Unexplained, 5 Jun 2011
By 
John M. Ford "johnDC" (near DC, MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Paperback)
The "Buick 8" is a car kept in storage shed B behind the headquarters of Pennsylvania State Police Troop D headquarters. For all this neat-seeming classification, little is known about this vehicle. It was abandoned by an odd, nameless stranger. It occasionally gives off strange lights and noises. And if you damage it--with some difficulty--it seems able to fix itself. Troop D keeps it secret. And occasionally faces the consequences of its presence.

Stephen King weaves three stories around this car. The first is its history, related in hushed tones by members of Troop D and their close associates. They tell of the tragedies, disappearances, and strange events they have witnessed. And speculate without confidence about what they mean.

The second story is of a son learning about his father by talking with his father's friends. Ned Wilcox's father Curtis was a member of Troop D. He was killed by a drunk driver in one of those senseless events that seem so common in life, but so hard to understand. As Ned first visits, then joins Troop D, he learns who his father was. And develops his own version of his father's obsession with the Buick 8. The third thread is in the background. It unfolds the relationships between the members of Troop D, their loyalty to each other and their acceptance of things they cannot change and only partially understand.

This is a good book, subdued and with few action sequences amid all the reminiscing. It has some connections to Kings larger body of fiction, but not so many that readers unfamiliar with the Tower and its implications are at a loss. It is a thoughtful read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Ford Mondeo of a novel, 15 April 2011
By 
Patrick Neylan "Patrick Neylan" (Orpington, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Paperback)
'From A Buick 8' probably isn't the best place to start with Stephen King: when reading a book in an unfavoured genre, usually only the best will do, and 'Buick 8' isn't the best.

Pennsylvania's state troopers find themselves in possession of a mysterious object that looks like an old Buick but in fact is a portal to another world. Over 20 years a few things go one way and a few the other. That's it, pretty much. No explanation, very little conflict and no resolution.

It's a tribute to King's writing skills that he can be engaging for several hundred pages of mostly flashback in which nothing much happens. His characters are sympathetic, well-drawn and distinct, but they're all too sympathetic. They're all 'good cops' with the usual array of problems, except for the carboard cut-out bad boy who appears and then quickly disappears half-way through. Where's the conflict?

The structure is a procession of chapters where a different cop takes up the story of how an object that looks like an old car but is in fact a portal into another world found its way into Shed B. The listener is Ned, son of Curt, who has recently died in the line of duty. The way King often switches narrators and chapters in mid-sentence is a nice touch, but it gets tedious to listen to the old cop again talk about how good a cop Curt was and how much is son reminds him of his departed colleague.

Ultimately, this is a pleasant enough way to fill some idle hours, but we learn nothing about the car or the paranormal, and even less about the human condition. All pretty sterile really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best, 13 July 2008
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Paperback)
I have read a few Stephen King books, and whilst the likes of the Shining and Misery had me on the edge of my seat, feeling a little freaked out, this book just didnt have the same affect on me. Although I enjoyed it and will still pass it on, I was a little dissapointed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effortless Mastery, 4 July 2008
By 
A. J. King "ajking22" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Paperback)
I'm not a Stephen King addict but I've read enough to know what he's about - and in this case I found myself haunted by his tale which is a good recommendation for a horror story. I noticed "From a Buick 8" on a shelf in our rented holiday villa and I pretty much didn't put it down until I'd finished it. I confess that King's wilder flights of horror don't appeal to me but here he is again effortlessly creating and moulding these good ol' boy characters, making them as real as you or I and then making the reader care what happens to them as they are faced with the everyday problem of how to deal with something that is so horrific yet for which no explanation exists either for them or for the readers. I love King's deliberate refusal to dot all the "i's" and cross the "ts" in this book. He deliberately doesn't explain everything - you must accept the situation no matter how bizarre, and of course we do, because King is just about the best storyteller around. There is an air of suspense around the mysterious Buick and around the story. Every page turn makes you wonder if something is about to explode. And sometimes it does, but often just the stillness remains, waiting, into which we drop our own nameless fears, and sometimes King serves them right back to us. King makes brilliant storytelling seem effortless and I'd recommend this book as one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a book that scared me...., 29 Aug 2003
This review is from: From a Buick 8 (Paperback)
I have to confess that even if I've read all King's books only one had given me the creeps so far and that was Salem's Lot.
I was quite surprised when I found out that this book scared me, that is the only reason I gave it five stars.
The story is a classic from King with the typical "both world" object and the events that happens around it.
If you have not read any book from King I reccomend this book, if you have read all book from King you have already bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

From a Buick 8
From a Buick 8 by Stephen King (Paperback - 13 Oct 2011)
7.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews