Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo!
As a King fan of too many years, I have no qualms in saying this is my favourite King book so far. It feels like a long, short-story if you get me. It has more of the feeling of the excellent 'The Body' than of 'The Stand' where the main tale is all, and there are no sub-plots.
It is told in an unusual way that is at first hard to get into. But once you have, you...
Published on 2 Oct 1999

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Average tale of domestic discord
Though I am not Stephen King's greatest fan I have read several of his novels though I tend to shy away from the horror end of things. Dolores Claiborne was recommended by my friend, and I had no real idea what it was about.

The book is written in monologue form, its protagonist Dolores, is being interviewed by the police regarding the death of her employer,...
Published on 4 Feb 2012 by R. A. Davison


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Very well written, a clever mix of tragedy and comedy, 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Paperback)
A cleverly written story from a refreshingly different perspective. I liked the use of comedy (mainly the way the main character describes some of her experiences) which, if nothing else, prevents you from being made totally miserable by the not so funny, often quite tragic parts. This is one of King's non-supernatural stories where the only horror is that of real life and what people can do to each other. Nice little twist at the end too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic! Loved the film - love the book!, 29 Aug 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Hardcover)
Non typical Stephen King, and then again still Stephen King at his best if you think Misery style.Watched the film first. The film is one of my favorite films ever, and the book just adds a whole new dimension to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pushing boundries, 24 April 2009
By 
T. Brown (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Usually stephen king likes to do something different with his books, and dolores claiborne is no different. Be prepared to read from one cover to the other without a break.

I dont want to spoil the plot, so i wont say much. What i will tell you is that this book is one big long monologue by the character named by title. She is giving a statement to the police concerning a suspicious death, and to explain things she has to tell her life story, or at least the interesting parts of it. The book deals with the very grittiness of human nature, as usual for stephen king, and when you get into it it feels like you could be in the room with her.

What this book isnt is a horror or fantasy tale. There are no dark tower links and no randall flagg. This is all human nature. A good book and well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great book, 25 Jan 2009
First Steven King novel i ever read, as i found it in the charity shop for very cheap, i was expecting something supernatural, even though there wasn't i loved it. As soon as the story begins you have sympathy with Dolores and her children, and you hate her cruel, selfish pathetic drunk of a husband. Most of it is not very horrific but there are a few pages in the middle that are absolutely spine-chilling. Very satisfying and exciting book. Buy............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you think that Stephen King only writes horror your wrong, 9 Dec 1999
By 
Amazon Customer "Gav" (Cardiff, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Paperback)
I lent this book out twice and never got it back. Each time I buy a new copy and I read it again. It is a story about real people. I really emphathise with the characters. If it didn't say Stephen King on the cover you yould have thought a woman wrote it. So I'm going to buy it again. Read it and probably give it away again. You'll do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Touching story about mother and daughter, 27 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Paperback)
With relatively little violence and bad language and plenty character-based narration, this is my favourite King novel. The way Dolores talks her story and the way she describes her daughter is really touching and memorable. Also it doesn't have that mass destruction at the end of many of King's novels. Very good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this is one of his best. i wish it would never end., 27 Aug 1999
By A Customer
what a great book! all the characters are so real! the story leaves you satisfied. when i read this book i thought: thats exactly what should have happened. interesting plot. i think it is his best book. thank you sk!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Thriller..., 29 Jun 1999
By A Customer
Hooray for Dolores, that's one woman who won't give up. She starts very early in the book taking care of herself and she does till the end... A very good piece of work by Stephen King, hopefully he will completely recover from last week's accident and write for us for a long time to come... Don't give up, Stephen...I greatly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eerie and disturbing, 20 April 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dolores Claiborne (Hardcover)
This book is masterfully written by King who continutes to prove his brilliant writing skills. Though this book is not outwardly scary it is, in many places, very disturbing. Delores Claiborne takes a cold look at many topics such as sexual and domestic abuse. It is a chillingly good read and I reccomend it heartily for those who enjoy books of this genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Recommended by a friend... dissapointed, 7 Sep 2009
A few friends kept recommending me this book and since I have not read much Stephen King before I thought I would give it a go. Ballsy, feisty Dolores is not a women to argue with, but not the kind of character to fall in love with either. King forces her character upon the reader so much that I wanted to read the book as quickly as possible just to put an end to Dolores's ramblings.

Perhaps I am too young to relate with Dolores yet, or maybe it was just the unfamiliar setting and accent that put me off. Maybe I will read this again later in life and get more out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dolores Claiborne
Dolores Claiborne by Stephen King (Paperback - 7 July 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews