Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
Brilliant - up to the usual Chris Ryan standard with current references that ring true. A great thriller - can't wait for the tv series.
Published 14 months ago by T. Graham Dughan

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gave up
I've read all the other Chris Ryan and found them a good read. Unfortunately this has no comparison to other titles. I found it very disjointed with the plot being very jumbled and just did not seem to be in the same style of past which makes me think it was ghosted.

I gave up after 25% which is something I rarely do particularily after paying what was a high...
Published 12 months ago by Pilot


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gave up, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read all the other Chris Ryan and found them a good read. Unfortunately this has no comparison to other titles. I found it very disjointed with the plot being very jumbled and just did not seem to be in the same style of past which makes me think it was ghosted.

I gave up after 25% which is something I rarely do particularily after paying what was a high price for a Kindle version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could have been anywhere, 8 Sep 2013
By 
C. R. Lowe "Domtail" (Pontefract) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book, like his last featuring Osama Bin Ladens last days, is clever in the sense of timing but other than that its not really up to much. Whilst his earlier books were gritty and attracted more than the SF wannabe this book is poor. We have a bet on how grisly and how quickly the women in his book are dispatched. It took until page 4 this time. I struggled on hoping for a little of the spark there used to be. But basically this was a standard or even perhaps substandard read with its placing in Syria pretty irrelevant. Throw in a few Syrian place names ...
The ending was odd with various characters being rescued ' off screen' as if Ryan had run out of his quota of pages and he was in a rush to close. I suspect he's left it open for the main SAS character to appear once again and if he develops this character with some of the skill he did with his earlier books then it could be good. But this is mainly a rehash of other books and there's only so many ways you can say the same thing over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant - up to the usual Chris Ryan standard with current references that ring true. A great thriller - can't wait for the tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars avid reader of this author, 26 Sep 2013
By 
Helena Gray "fun lady" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
have thoroughly enjoyed reading this story as it is very current to today's political climate - looking forward to the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping read, 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As good as you'd expect from Chris Ryan. I would recommend this book to war/action novel readers. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good read, 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
husband enjoyed this book as he has done with all his others,he will buy many more of these stories i reckon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masters of War., 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another action packed top notch Novel from one of the best authors of action books. Well organised book and very topica
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 Sep 2013
By 
P. Turner (Staffordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another one of his that I couldn't put down, it took 2 days to read it. I hope he keeps on writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best Chris Ryan, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best Chris Ryan effort by a long shot. The books need a good proof reader, too many basic errors. I sometimes wonder if some of his books are not written by a ghost writer whose knowledge of the subject matter is limited. It was obvious from this book there is some discrepancy as to how big a metre actually is!
The books are starting to get very repetitive and contain far too many errors and inconsistencies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another triumph., 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Timing is everything and Chris Ryan's has always been excellent. You feel you are on the ground with him experiencing everything through his eyes. Lots of twists and turns, just what you would expect from Chris Ryan. A quality well researched novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Masters of War (Danny Black)
Masters of War (Danny Black) by Chris Ryan (Paperback - 8 May 2014)
£3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews