Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (101)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for my mother in law who is an ex-teacher from Yorkshire
She is going to love this stocking stuffer. I bought this on the strength of the TV interview with the author. Great shipping and packing from Amazon as usual.
Published 13 months ago by Gillian Jordan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy Reading
I really enjoyed this book especially with the Yorkshire connections.
It was very easy reading though and you cna get through it very quickly.
Published 6 months ago by great


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for my mother in law who is an ex-teacher from Yorkshire, 14 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The School Inspector Calls: A Little Village School Novel (Hardcover)
She is going to love this stocking stuffer. I bought this on the strength of the TV interview with the author. Great shipping and packing from Amazon as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The School Inspector Calls!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed following the next instalment of the series. I do hope there are going to be more, because I am itching to find out what happens next. I certainly recognised the children. I would recommend this book.
.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER EXCELLENT READ, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This author has a way of putting over things that have happened in the form of an amusing story. I get Phinn's books as soon as they are published. It is difficult to put it down until you have finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to read but no Challenges, 9 Dec 2014
This is the third in the light series concerning the village of Barton-in-the-Dale centering around the little village school. The school merger is in the planning stages with meetings and dignitaries galore. There are marriages in the offing and will a new housing estate be built?
This is a light book which is easy to read. It is an ideal book if you want to put it down quite often as the thread is easy to keep track of. The characters have distinct personalities but they are slightly setereotypical - a grumpy caretaker, a gossipy owner of the post office.....characters which have been frequently seen before in books of this type. There aren't really any big surprises in this book making it quite comforting to read. However, there are no real challenges either.
My biggest gripe with this book was the constant explanations of previous events. Each time a character or event occurred for the first time we were treated to a synopsis of their involvement and significance in the previous books of the series. I found that this interrupted the flow of the story and found it quite patronising. Why not have a few pages at the beginning of the book summarising the previous two books which the reader can choose to read or not as they wish? This would serve as a refresher for those who wanted it without interrupting the flow of the story.
I do wonder where the author is going with this series. There were quite a few similar events to the previous books which if repeated again would be too much. Perhaps a significant influx of new characters when the 2 schools merger will stop the series going stale.
This was a light, mildly amusing book which flowed well and was easy to read. It is ideal for a quick comforting read but didn't present any surprises or challenges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of humour and written in a very easy to read style, 27 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Characters spring to life throughout the novel which make the novel a superb read for relaxation purposes. It also has short chunky paragraphs which facilitate picking up and putting down read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having worked as a teacher for 30 years, Phinns words made me laugh and cry. They reminded me of the best things about children,
this I am very grateful for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written story, of village school life, I enjoy this lovely easy read , the characters are great, the writer makes you feel par to the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes this is easy an easy read, 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one of these books that is easy to pickup funny . Yes I enjoyed this book will get the rest .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift which I want to read myself, 18 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The School Inspector Calls: A Little Village School Novel (Hardcover)
A colourful inviting cover, tempting an immediate read.
Will be requesting a loan after Christmas - roll on the new year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gervase Phinn does it again!, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another gem from this talented author who brings humanity, humour and intelligence to his books. We travel through the lives of the people in the village with a story stitched together by the village school and its pupils. A lesson to us all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The School Inspector Calls: A Little Village School Novel
The School Inspector Calls: A Little Village School Novel by Gervase Phinn (Hardcover - 7 Nov 2013)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews