Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More news from the Dales'school
Volume two in what will hopefully be a long series of books telling the story of a fictional school in the Yorkshire Dales, this is an amusing but realistic story, obviously drawing on the author's lifetime experience as a School Inspector. If you enjoyed the first book, then you will love this sequel.
Published on 3 Nov. 2012 by Mr. Simon J. Archer

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gervase Phinn
Story was enjoyable if a bit predictable. It was not quite to the standard of his earlier books about his time as an Inspector.
Published 21 months ago by 0191granddad


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More news from the Dales'school, 3 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. Simon J. Archer (Hatfield, Herts.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Volume two in what will hopefully be a long series of books telling the story of a fictional school in the Yorkshire Dales, this is an amusing but realistic story, obviously drawing on the author's lifetime experience as a School Inspector. If you enjoyed the first book, then you will love this sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trouble at the little village school, 15 Oct. 2012
By 
Anne Earls (Buckingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having previously enjoyed the first of this series by Gervase I was really looking forward to reading his second offering. I was not disappointed. The characters are so well drawn that you feel you actually know them and as with the first book I love the apt names he has given each person in the village. The story drew you along and thankfully all the characters ended up as I hoped they would. I was a little surprised to find myself actually feeling a little sorry for Miss Sowerbutts in this book. I hope the village books do not end here as I'd like to see how Danny and some of the others progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trouble at the village school, 21 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Trouble at the village school, Good story but must be read in right order of story, I would recommend both books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A witty, warmhearted and wise novel from this master storyteller., 16 Oct. 2013
This review is from: Trouble at the Little Village School: A Little Village School Novel (Paperback)
This second instalment of Gervase's Barton-in-the-Dale series focuses once again on the fiesty Elisabeth Devine, newly appointed head teacher at the village primary school.

She has only just cemented her popularity amongst pupils, fellow teachers and villagers, than she encounters fresh challenges. There's a move to amalgamate two local schools and Elisabeth has to fight for the new headship with a ruthless rival; and just as Elisabeth and the local doctor are falling for each other, the arrival of Elisabeth's ex-husband and a new female curate proves that the course of true love never did run smooth.

Gervase has the rare ability of making initially dislikeable figures (an embitttered former headmistress, an estranged grandmother who disrupts an adoption) into sympathetic characters, and he intersperses his readable narrative with acute observations of village life.

A witty, warmhearted and wise novel from this master storyteller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second Term, 21 Jun. 2015
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trouble at the Little Village School: A Little Village School Novel (Paperback)
I am back for my second term at the Little Village School.

I am coming back to heartwarming characters, gossipy village ladies and some tension. Enough to keep you turning the pages.

The closure of the school seems to have been to dealt with, but now there will be an amalgamation of schools and it seems that the headteacher Elisabeth Devine has more battles to face.

She has drawn out so many of the teachers who will now inspire and encourage the young minds that they are meeting every day, but she has also made them look closely at their own happiness.

One of those young minds Oscar, seems to be challenging as always and gives the school caretaker much to mutter about.

There is of course Danny who you think has found a more settled life into which to grow. It seems someone else has other ideas and the author brings into the story social services and the battles of right and wrong in not just the best education for a child but also the best home environment you can have. It raises questions about what is best for the child?

In this book as we wait to find out how exactly the amalgamation of two schools is going to work and whether the board of governors and local councillors can agree on a solution which doesn't appear to be in their own interests. We learn more about Elisabeth and her son. Progress is made but then something from the past brings back memories and can perhaps disrupt future plans.

Of course this book takes you right into the depths of Yorkshire and the wonderful humour it brings. I much enjoyed it and look forward to finding out more about the school and all the characters which make the village what it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice follow up, 10 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a nice follow up to the first book "The Little Village School". We learn about the fate of the school and its Head Mistress Mrs Devine. Mr. Phinn leaves room for a third book that I hope he will consider writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more of the same - very much a rehash of previous works, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As soothing and relaxing as the previous book. Just the thing when you want to curl up with something undemanding and forget your troubles! However, I think this sequel is less well crafted than its predecessor. In particular, there are long passages all over the book which just provide a recap on events covered by the first book, even sometimes repeating incidents almost verbatim. These are quite tedious to anyone who has read that book already, and even if you haven't, they slow down the current story and in many cases are not really necessary to the enjoyment of this book, but simply pad it out. There are other, more subtle and less intrusive ways of setting a background in place.
I also feel the story is very much 'more of the same' - character types and anecdotes and very reminiscent of those found in Phinn's other books. Which is fine of course if that's all you want! I hope that Phinn's next book will keep the Yorkshire village atmosphere and the school setting, but maybe by a little more innovative in terms of characters and plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Humorous and heart-warming - just as I've come to expect from this author. I'm now intending to purchase more of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gervais Phinn, 11 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I just enjoy reading about young children at school, particularly in part of the country that I am not too familiar with. There is a tendency because he is a Yorkshireman, for him to overdo the sentiment and perhaps he exaggerates anything attached to living in Yorkshire but I still enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great little read!, 10 Oct. 2012
By 
The Little Bookworm "The little bookworm" (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I am a big fan of Gervase Phinn. I have seen him at numerous events and his books have always been perfect for a light hearted, funny read. I read, and enjoyed, 'The Little Village School' a while ago and was delighted that he had brought out a sequel.

This story carries on where the last one left off. Elisabeth Devine is in charge at Barton-in-the-Dale primary and things are going swimmingly. After avoiding closure in the last book, all is well...until disaster strikes. (I won't give anything away!)

This book was just as enjoyable as the last. It was light hearted and funny. My favourite character - Oscar - makes a welcome appearance (well, unless you're the school caretaker!)

The only issue for me was the ending. We had all the build up of tension towards Elisabeths problem and then it fizzled out to nothing! It just didn't quite hold my interest all the way to the end.

Having said that, this is a great book for a wet, Sunday afternoon curled up by the fire. I would say you need to read 'The Little Village School' before this one. I am, also, delighted to see that this is destined to be a series. I cannot wait for the third one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trouble at the Little Village School: A Little Village School Novel
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews