Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great characters, 1 minor concern
Deaver managed something that most books don't - he actually taught me something new. His exceptional detail and insight into the close protection business is fascinating and very realistic. The plot, however, isn't. As other reviews have alluded to, the twists and turns are way over the top and diminish the overall impact. However, that aside the book is probably the...
Published on 15 April 2011 by RMartin

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Procedural tedium
I have enjoyed a lot of Jeffrey Deaver books, but occasionally his writing style is overwhelming. He covers a lot of `procedural' issues, which transcend a fine line between interesting and boring. Typical example of a Deaver book, characters don't use night vision goggles. They use `Xenon Supervision 100 Night Vision monoculars'. Yawn.

The protagonist in this...
Published 17 months ago by I'll Get You Butler


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great characters, 1 minor concern, 15 April 2011
This review is from: Edge (Hardcover)
Deaver managed something that most books don't - he actually taught me something new. His exceptional detail and insight into the close protection business is fascinating and very realistic. The plot, however, isn't. As other reviews have alluded to, the twists and turns are way over the top and diminish the overall impact. However, that aside the book is probably the best thing I have read for a long time. Fascinating protagonist who needs several more books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different but Brilliant, 8 Feb 2011
By 
Wendy Jones "wjones7423" (Dundee, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Edge (Hardcover)
This book is not the usual Jeffery Deaver fare but it is brilliant nevertheless. Initially I was unsure but within a few pages I was totally hooked. The main hero Corte, is a man with no feelings which to start with I found a bit unsettling. However, this part of him is vital to the job where he protects people from "lifters" who are trying to extract information from them. He is assigned to protect a family who are in danger, and from the first chapter to the last the surprised and twists and turns just keep coming. All the other characters are extremely well scripted and I found myself loving them and hating them in turns. I really enjoyed this book and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jeffery Devious, 3 Nov 2010
By 
John Grimbaldeston (Preston, Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge (Hardcover)
Twists and turns abound as the hero Corte plays cat and mouse games with his opponent Henry Loving in trying to protect the Kessler family from some unknown Mr Big who needs information, and Loving is the ruthless man to extract it. There is a personal element as Loving had previously killed Corte's mentor, but the overriding feature of Corte's character is his lack of emotion - emotion gets in the way of the success of the job and adversely influences the strategic calls needed to beat an equally adept opponent. There is less of a didactic element in this novel - this is no manual on electricity as the last one was - and amazingly for Mr Deaver, barely an acronym; so aspects of his books which can be a little irritating are absent, and the plot benefits accordingly. The plot twists are unguessable as the two protaganists move their human chess pieces around the board, and in many ways this is vintage Mr Deaver - my only minor gripe is with the Kessler family. I know it is to keep the twists going with a limited number of dramatis personae, but how can one relatively ordinary family have so many secrets from each other and so many skeletons rattling about their closet? But great fun: some of the twists are more obvious than others, plenty of potential twists are actually red herrings, and everything is rounded off in a satisfactory way with the bad guys suitably punished and the good guys coming out of it all much stronger than when it began.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Procedural tedium, 3 Nov 2012
This review is from: Edge (Paperback)
I have enjoyed a lot of Jeffrey Deaver books, but occasionally his writing style is overwhelming. He covers a lot of `procedural' issues, which transcend a fine line between interesting and boring. Typical example of a Deaver book, characters don't use night vision goggles. They use `Xenon Supervision 100 Night Vision monoculars'. Yawn.

The protagonist in this story, Corte, is a protector of civilians who are part of the witness protection programme. Corte describes himself as a `shepherd'. Corte is also a board games enthusiast who applies the strategy he learns from the board games, to his duties as a `shepherd'. Like a lot of Deaver characters, Corte is a know-all pedant, always regaling the other characters (and the reader) with his unique insights to any particular situation and reminding everyone of his impeccable academic credentials.
As more of his background is revealed, we are told that Corte is a member of a board games club. Rather than making him more interesting, It underpins the growing realisation that he is a tedious and slightly obnoxious windbag.
Typical Corte dialogue:

"I knew this from reading history - another one of my degrees".
Or
"I forced myself to play a few mental rounds of the Chinese game Wei-Chi against an invisible opponent"

Who is this guy? Austin Powers?

I have no problem with central characters being unlikeable, but it is hard to fathom if Deaver is even aware he has made the character such a waffling bore.

This brings me to my favourite passage of the book, where Corte's boring descriptions become unintentionally comedic.
"I've told my protégés always to watch for patterns of animal behaviour. An uneasy badger saved the life of one of my principals a year ago."

Classic. The Bill Oddie guide to witness protection.

Despite the accidental comedy, it was a struggle to finish this dull book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great though far-fetched, 24 Dec 2010
This review is from: Edge (Hardcover)
A true to form and enjoyable twisting suspense from Deaver. A member of the 'Kessler' family is targeted by a 'lifter' to get information. Security expert Corte and a rival of the Lifter is assigned to protect the family. Deaver delivers numerous attempts at extraction, engagement, and ambush with copious amounts of his trade marked deception and mis-direction. In this respect it is a classic Deaver plot. However, given that all this happens over 1-2 days it really does seem extremely far fetched, that the Lifter can arrange so many well thought out plots and contingencies. The novel whilst recommended is therefore very high on the fiction stakes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pace=terrific suspense=great ending=perfect, 1 Nov 2010
By 
rhosymynydd "liz" (west wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge (Hardcover)
I think my title says it all. I could hardly wait for this to come out and it was, as anticipated, superb. The plot is outlined above so you don't need me to go over it or spoil the ending. Let me just say that Deaver proves once again that he is without doubt the best psychological thriller writer around. I love his twists and turns that never fail to make his books page-turners. I could not stop reading until I had finished (around 4:00 am!!!) worth every minute of lost sleep. READ IT!! Edge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My First Deaver, 9 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Edge (Paperback)
Seems I'm in the group who give this a higher rating because I'm a first time Deaver reader, so haven't measured it up against his previous work.

I've read lots of thrillers and the storyline in Edge was pretty unique. I didn't see any of the twists and turns coming and couldn't put it down. Loved it. Will try more Deaver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deaver... good, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Edge (Paperback)
Is this going to be a stand-alone novel for Corte, the hero of Jeffery Deaver's latest outing? Well, if I can judge from the character I'd say no. Corte, plain, simple Corte, seems to have in him a lot of stories, too much juice, and I really wouldn't mind if he came to replace Kathryn Dance who, unlike Lincoln Rhyme, his other favorite hero, seems to have run out of steam already.
Corte works at a witness protection service, a private company. His latest assignment is to offer protection to Ryan Kessler, a decorated police officer, who seems to be the target of a yet unknown hitman. He and his family seem, for no apparent reason, to be in a life-threatening situation and Corte has to work really hard to save the day. But he has more than one reason for taking this assignment, since the man posing the threat is none other than Frank Loving, an expert interrogator and remorseless killer, who was behind the murder of Corte's mentor, a few years back.
The two men, during the long and fascinating course of the story, seem to involve themselves into a game of cat and mouse, exchanging roles time and again. As each of them works hard to get into the head of the other and guess his next moves, the pace gains momentum and the twists and turns just keep the reader guessing about what's coming next. However, Loving definitely has the upper hand in this game and Corte, even though he hates him, finds himself every now and then, admiring the criminal for the analytical capabilities of his twisted brain; capabilities that are not quite out of his league since he's quite familiar with them; an extra bonus of playing strategic games.
As time goes by, painstakingly slow for the Kessler family, the heat keeps rising and a lot of secrets and lies come out in the open. As it seems one of them has a secret history, while the rest are so stubborn and obviously clueless that it looks like they want to die. Thus Corte, having no another option, just needs to rush from the one place to the other, in order to keep the fragile bonds between the members of the family tight, while at the same time trying to find Loving, and also figure out who's the person working so hard to get him fired. In this fierce and lonesome battle, he only has two people he can turn to: Dubois, his highly intelligent assistant, and his boss, who despite everything still has his back.
From the first explosive moment until the very last, everything seems to hang from a weak thread: Corte's career; the Kessler family's survival; the wishes for revenge and redemption of some of the heroes. Deaver looks deep into the psyches of these people and what he sees is a world made of glass that could explode and turn into pieces at any given moment. The psychological portraits he creates are nicely crafted, and the characters really seem to come alive on paper; with all their faults and their never-ending passions.
Perhaps this is one of the very few books by the writer that could make a good movie. His world is not easy to adopt for the big screen, but maybe, just maybe, this is about to change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deaver on form, 26 Nov 2010
By 
P. G. Kirby (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edge (Hardcover)
A great Deaver. Keeps you guessing. When you get to the end of a chapter, you just HAVE to read the next one. Plus the fact that the solutions you work out as you read are finally shot down at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back to his former brilliance, 3 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edge (Hardcover)
The last 3 to 4 books Jeffery Deaver churned out I did not really enjoy but I kept buying his books because I am a big fan and was hoping for some of his former brilliance. And that is exactely what you get in this novel. It grabs you from the first couple of sentences untill the very last word. I found the subject of "sheparding" also extremely interesting, unlike with the Lincoln Rhyme novels which can get boring with all the technicalities of forensic science.
I would recommend this book to anybody who has recently been dissapointed by one of his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xafa855bc)

This product

Edge
Edge by Jeffery Deaver (Paperback - 15 Sep 2011)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews