Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (88)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A delightful book for those on the fringe, a salutory one for those at the centre,
I read Dave's book of about 200 pages of admittedly good, clear, very legible type (with nice line illustrations), in an hour and a half on a train journey, for once truly a book I could not put down, liberating and refreshing.

It is lighter than his earlier books which I should also recommend, because unlike them, I guess this is especially for those on the...
Published on 9 Oct. 2012 by Dr. John Bunyan

versus
37 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Flawed thinking ultimately makes you ... a worse human being
Tomlinson comes across in this book as a warm, caring and deeply compassionate man, and I have absolutely no doubt that he is just that. However, like many Christians desperately trying to be liberal and inclusive, he posits an impossibility by wishing that all religions are equally valid. Unfortunately, however hard you wish for an impossibility it remains an...
Published 18 months ago by Michael W. Phillips


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Makes you think!, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Or perhaps that should be, makes you rethink what being a Christian is all about! Refreshing thoughts on not letting the Christian life drag you down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't put this book down., 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being (Hardcover)
Great alternative way to look at Christianity. This man has got a BIG heart. Am going to pass it on to several other people. Great read. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 5 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being (Hardcover)
It is very reassuring to find a like mind, for me, especially amongst the clergy. I enjoyed listening to him on Aled's Sunday morning radio 2 slot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Restored my faith!, 30 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being (Hardcover)
Common sense, and legitimises the feeling that some of the questions and doubts I have had about evangelical teaching pumped in to me over 30 years are valid! I want to go back and re-read it immediately then get others to look at it. It is radically altering some of my long-held views. Great stuff!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to laugh at yourselves and your beliefs - it doesn't detract it enhances!, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being (Hardcover)
Another brilliant book from David Tomlinson. We all need to laugh at ourselves from time to time and Tomlinson helps us to do just that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sanity and spirituality, 19 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear and free of claptrap - a refreshing challenge for us all to express our religious experience with humour humility and simplicity
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pastorally helpful, doctrinally... interesting!, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being (Hardcover)
Very engaging and honest, makes real pastoral sense, but avoids big questions of truth, possibly a bit too post-modern to be durable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction & easty read, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being (Hardcover)
Good book to give away to someone locked into 'religion' who needs a first step in realizing that thinking out of the box is ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bad christian wonderful, 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being (Hardcover)
i read this book immediatly and found itmost interesting and sending a clear message of christianity at work in every day life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a read, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very thought provoking and an easy read. Some very good material to use for discussion about the churches mission in society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 912 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being
How to be a Bad Christian: ... And a better human being by Dave Tomlinson (Hardcover - 16 Aug. 2012)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews