Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Horrific Detective Tale
For centuries, their race has lived beneath the earth, emerging only at night, to feed quietly on the dregs of society and slip back into the shadows. But now their time has come - their time to rise up from their hiding places and take back what is theirs.

San Francisco homicide detective Bryan Klauser is supposed to be hunting a serial killer. But a serial...
Published on 19 April 2012 by Pablo Cheesecake (The Eloquent...

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SHOWS TALENT
This starts as an engrossing, well-executed X-Files type detective story, and if it had maintained the same balance of intrigue and character development throughout, I would have rated it more highly. However, the book switches genre half-way through. The second part is essentially how you would imagine the book-of-the-film based on an adult-rated comic book movie. Many...
Published on 4 Jun 2012 by J. C. Bailey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Horrific Detective Tale, 19 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Nocturnal (Paperback)
For centuries, their race has lived beneath the earth, emerging only at night, to feed quietly on the dregs of society and slip back into the shadows. But now their time has come - their time to rise up from their hiding places and take back what is theirs.

San Francisco homicide detective Bryan Klauser is supposed to be hunting a serial killer. But a serial killer couldn't be responsible for the seemingly impossible DNA evidence the crime-scene techs keep finding - or for the gory, strangely prophetic dreams Bryan keeps having. And what about the connections he keeps finding to a century-old cult - and his superiors' sudden reluctance to give him the answers he needs about cases that should be dead and buried?

Ultimately, Klauser's investigations will reveal a race of killers who've long lurked beneath San Francisco's streets - and are preparing to take back the city. Klauser is the only man who can stop them, because . . . he might not be a man at all.

It's a constant surprise how much external forces influence the enjoyment of my reading. Nocturnal is a perfect example of this. I recently started watching The Wire (I know, I know, I'm late to the party as usual) and one of the things I love about it is the portrayal of the men and women who make up Baltimore's police force. The initial chapters of Nocturnal feel exactly the same as watching an episode. Nocturnal's two main characters, police detectives Bryan Klauser and Pookie Chang, share an easy camaraderie that makes every conversation they have an effortlessly realistic feel.

Differing location and ethnicities aside, Pookie Chang could be Bunk Moreland and Bryan Klauser could be Jimmy McNulty. These are two men that live for the job, they are experts at what they do. Like their televisual counterparts however, neither are particularly successfully as human beings, they're both flawed. Pookie is overweight and doesn't know when to keep his mouth shut while Bryan has problems with his emotions. I always appreciate when a writer takes the time and and effort to make his characters as human as possible. There is a realism that surrounds Bryan and Pookie, in fact all the characters in the novel, that really makes it easy for a reader to get caught in the narrative.

The novel is split into two books. The first, entitled People, seems initially to be a straightforward police procedural but as the plot unfolds subtle signs start appearing that things are a bit more complicated that a simple murder. In the alternate reality of Nocturnal, appearances can be deceptive and Sigler delights in throwing the reader the occasion red herring just to keep them on their toes. The second book, titled Monsters, is the point where Mr. Sigler really starts to ramp up the horrific elements of the story. I wouldn't dream of delivering any spoilers all I'm going to say is that things get particularly icky. The backstory of the novel's villains is revealed in all its glory and the lines are drawn for a spectacular climactic face off.

I've come to realize that a Scott Sigler novel just isn't a Scott Sigler novel unless you have a handful of moments where you think to yourself `I can't believe he just did that' or `he's never going to do that to that poor character is he?....yup, he has'.

I have to admit a pleased smile crossed my face when I read the final chapter of Nocturnal. Sigler has written an attention grabbing crime/horror/action thriller that doesn't put a foot wrong and the ending hints that there are further stories to tell. Sign me up now, I am so there.

Scott Sigler is the rarest of beasts in the world of books, a self-published author who has achieved a New York Times bestseller status under his own steam. In the UK however he is published by Hodder and Nocturnal is available now.

A final note, if any further were needed, any author who can sneak a `Romancing the Stone' reference into a novel needs to be celebrated and is entirely deserving of your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big Characters, Big Horror, 5 Jan 2013
By 
Kat (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nocturnal (Paperback)
When I first saw this book was available on NetGalley I was SO excited. I loved Scott Sigler's Infected and Contagious when I read them in 2011, and Infected was the first book I can ever recall making me feel physically ill with some very gory passages (and I read hard-core zombie books, I'm not easily rattled!!).

Nocturnal is a fast-paced, edge of your chair, peek between your fingers story - the characters are incredibly well-developed, the monsters are the stuff nightmares are made of and the story is enough to make your skin crawl (and check under the bed before you go to sleep!). The writing is intense and has the perfect balance of detail - descriptive enough to get lost in, not bogged down.

Bryan Chaucer `The Terminator' and Pookie Chang are partners on the San Francisco beat who become involved in the investigation of a series of grisly, unexplainable murders. After Bryan comes down with an unexplainable illness and suffers from a series of nightmares, questions are raised and both Bryan and Pookie find themselves off the case and in the Chief of Police's bad books. Taking matters into their own hands, they gradually close in on the secret that lurks beneath the streets of sunny San Fran.

Nocturnal is a fast-paced, edge of your chair, peek between your fingers story - the characters are incredibly well-developed, the monsters are the stuff nightmares are made of and the story is enough to make your skin crawl (and check under the bed before you go to sleep!). The writing is intense and has the perfect balance of detail - descriptive enough to get lost in, not bogged down.

At 576 pages, Nocturnal is a big book with a big story, big characters and big monsters. There were a few parts in the early stages of the book where the action could have moved a little more quickly, and the revealing of the monsters is a gradual, teasing process, but when they do come out, be prepared....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb work, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: Nocturnal (Kindle Edition)
This book is excellent, superb story and such a great imagination. Scott Sigler is an up and coming author with a mind like few others. I strongly recommend Nocturnal along with his other ever growing catalog of books.

Check out the man himself, his fans from around the world and his free podcasts at his website [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Sigler's Nocturnal 2012, 11 Jun 2012
By 
Fred Weimer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturnal (Kindle Edition)
What starts out with two awesome detectives, Bryan Clauser and Pookie Chang, chasing down serial kilers and what they think is a vigilante killer, discover absolute horror lives within San Francisco. Great characters, darkly comic at times and absolute terror at others. I can recommend this book, but be warned, it will scare you. This is my favourite book by Scott Sigler.

Nocturnal
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best book ive read in a long time!, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturnal (Paperback)
Scott Sigler is an amazing author. I got that impression barely a few pages into the book. The characters are really well written and easy to connect with, the descriptions are described in a more simplistic way than some, but the images he creates are so fleshed out its unbelievable, and the plot is, I thought, original.

I wont go into much detail since plenty other reviews already have done, but I will say this novel is one of the best ive read in a really long time. Its been added to my list of favourites thats for sure. I'd reccommend this book to almost anyone, but if your particuarly interested in mystery and horror then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Fantastic, 17 April 2012
This review is from: Nocturnal (Hardcover)
I had listened to the original podcast of this book a couple of years ago so had a pretty good idea of what I was getting, and how good it would be. I didn't count on how much better it has become since then. It's fast-paced and doesn't let you down half way through like some books. The storyline is well constructed and gets extra points for being well researched. It has changed slightly since the podcast with the removal of a sub-plot which helps streamline the story. Probably the best book I've read this year, clearly the best story.
It ticks a lot of boxes and is definitely worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sigler's a trash horror legend!, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturnal (Paperback)
I've read all of Sigler's books. So I'm a huge fan & was really looking forward to Nocturnal. He didn't disappoint. It's a near 600 page romp through the sewers of San Francisco as a secret cult of creatures chow down on the city's down and outs. Sigler is the absolute master of combining violent horror, fast techno thrillers and hard boiled thrillers. This book is no exception. Sure the plot is totally outragous, but Sigler has the words, style and panache to make it relly exciting, enjoyable and outragous. I loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nocturnal - Review, 19 Aug 2012
By 
J. Child "John" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturnal (Kindle Edition)
Without giving too much away I would have prefered if he'd stuck to this as a dectective story but thats just me. This is the fifth Scott Sigler book I've read so far and enjoyed it. The reason for the 4 stars is it just felt a tad cliché, It starts off really well and turns into a 'superhero origans' type story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nocturnal, 6 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturnal (Kindle Edition)
This freaky horror is brilliant, and completely original. I never write reviews but felt I had to this first time: The characters are perfectly formed and believable, their personalities consistent throughout. The humour is hilarious and well timed to the situations the characters find themselves. It's shocking, weird, sick and horrific, and all in a good way. And emotional! I've got through a lot of books so far this year and this is the funnest romp I've read in a long while. In characterisation, in my opinion, Sigler rates alongside Stephen King and Dan Simmons. Nocturnal was on a par with Infected and Contagious, and better than Ancestor. I can't wait for his next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nocturnal, 22 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nocturnal (Kindle Edition)
Like all of Scott Sigler's books todate this one did not disappoint. Fantastic read a bit out there - shades of from Dawn to Dusk as effectively two genres rolled into one story. Looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nocturnal
Nocturnal by Scott Sigler (Paperback - 22 Nov 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews