Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Sigler is the next biggest thing to hit the publishing world
Ive had the pleasure of following the podcast novel versions of Siglers books since ancestor then earthcore then infection(infested) and then The Rookie.Sigler is the vanguard of the digital publishing revoultion. He was the frist to give out a podcast only novel with earthcore and followed this sucess with his other subsequent novels.

This format is highly...
Published on 15 April 2007 by Mr. S. Veerabadren

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Galloping Story, But...
There's nothing wrong with this book - it performs exactly as you would expect from the cover and the blurb on the back. It grips, and rips along. Some of the characters work better than others, and the whole thing reads as if the author had an idea for a movie all along, but that's true of a lot of thrillers.

It's not great though, despite what some other...
Published on 8 Nov 2010 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent page turner, 12 April 2011
By 
J. Paton (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
I had never read a Scott Sigler novel and was pleasantly surprised after buying this after an Amazon search. Sigler is an intelligent writer incorporating interesting characters with a cracking storyline. I read this book in a couple of days and would highly recommend it to anyone who is a fan of creature features. WOuld make a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scarey, 17 Nov 2010
By 
D. A. Clewes - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
I've never read a Scott Sigler book before, but after reading this I will definately be buying more. After reading this you'll never look at a cow in the same way again without thinking of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as the sum of it's parts, 7 Nov 2010
By 
SonicQuack (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
Sigler's writing style is developing at a rapid pace. He's leaving behind the more pulpy and simple horror fiction and is producing more complex narrative and character interaction. Ancestor feels like a screenplay with heroes and villains, some high octane action sequences and many scenes of suspense, utilising technology vs. nature to create thrills.

However, even with all these requisite building blocks the outcome is not the engaging sci-fi/action/horror novel it could and should have been. Sigler somehow misses the hook. Although the two likeable characters have a certain amount of pull upon the reader, they don't stand out enough. This is key in a novel which plays out a power struggle between humans, the ancestors are a catalyst for the this conflict. Ancestor drags its heels at times, some of the action seems run-of-the-mill, almost as if Sigler is trying to be more verbose than his previous books, although their off-kilter narrative worked. Ancestor is a good read and you will want to see it through until the end, it's just not as much fun as his previous two books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Give it up for the FDO, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
The FDO Scott Sigler (Future Dark Overlord) for those uninitiated Junkies, is the master of horror sci fi. Ancester is a page turner rollercoaster rider through a combination of genuine science and horror fantasy. I started out listening to Sigler's podcasts in itunes and am delighted to be able to buy a physcial copy of the book. If you like this check out his other books and join his podcast feed, i garentee you'll like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most original novel of the year, 1 Sep 2010
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
Scott Sigler's new novel, ancestor combines hard hitting action and incredibly accurate, scarily real science to keep the reader on the edge of their seat. A twisted story of betrayal and fear makes this one of the best books i've ever read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ancestor - Simply great reading., 26 Aug 2010
By 
J. M. Farrow (Basingstoke, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
I rarely buy books unless I know they have a great story and that I think it is worth the money. I have been listening to Scott Sigler's stories, via his podcast, for at least four years and they are great. This latest book, Ancestor, is up there with the best.

This is a book that, along with the other Sigler masterpieces that I have bought, I will read time and time again as it is such excellent work. It has the right mix of plot, excitement, twists, and really kicks your imagination into top gear.

If you just don't know then goto [...] and listen to the podcast of this book. Yup, he has given it away for free online in audio format. Even after getting it for free, as one who reads a lot of books, this is still worth getting.

The UK only has the paperback edition. The US has hardback. Shame, as this is one I would even have bought in hardback. That's publishing for you.

In short. It's awesome. Want some? Got mine, get yours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing piece of work, 22 Aug 2010
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
I truely love this book, I'm not someone for going into deep analysis of any thing whether its films, books or tv but i have to say if you want a book which will keep the pages flipping without you knowing it, then this is the book for you. Also if you want a writer who truely dosent care about pandering to social expectations then this is your man. Sigler sells books even though he gives his novels away for free via his podcast(Which i'd recomend) He is a pionner of the literay world and i stongly believe that he will be a household name in the next few year. If for no other reason then the chicken scissors in his novel Infected.

Sigler puts his charaters threw hell and creates personalities that we shouldnt like but we always strive for them to suceed by the end of the book.

If you like a thriller with an intelligent storyline then buy this book, and then buy Infected and Contagious. You will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Awesome Sigler book, 21 Aug 2010
By 
Mark Booth (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
Scott Sigler always delivers and this latest release does not disappoint. The plot is equal parts exciting and scary, the characters well fleshed out and the book as whole was un-put-downable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another solid read, 21 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
Once again Scott Sigler has put together a high concept, well thought out and well executed read. If you enjoy a good science fiction concept and then having a good thrill ride to go with it get this book.

It's clever, well characterised and it has genetically engineered monsters in it! What more could you want?

It's a great book and the author also runs a website with all his other books in podcast form available free. This means that you can get so much more out of everything he releases which I found has really enhanced my enjoyment of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must read, 16 Aug 2010
This review is from: Ancestor (Paperback)
a must read for anyone who loves fact based fiction, ten out of ten. a fantastic page turner, sigler at his best. also check out infected and contagious also red hot reads
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ancestor
Ancestor by Scott Sigler (Paperback - 19 Aug 2010)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews