Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ministry of food
this book is full of histocial information that can be easily used today in this climate of unknowns.
it has been written in a way that makes it a enjoyable read with lots of facts.
I've used lots of facts and put into our every day life.
I highly recommend this.
Published on 19 Aug. 2010 by Amazon Customer

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed with content.
Although I did find the information in the book interesting I hoped there would be more frugal receipes in these difficult times.
Published on 28 Mar. 2013 by TSL

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ministry of food, 19 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
this book is full of histocial information that can be easily used today in this climate of unknowns.
it has been written in a way that makes it a enjoyable read with lots of facts.
I've used lots of facts and put into our every day life.
I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have we gone full circle ?, 24 Feb. 2010
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
By 1939 only one million people out of a population of forty eight million were employed in agriculture. Britain imported over sixty percent of it's food and also relied heavily on imports for animal feed. The outbreak of WWII brought chaos to the procurement of simple foodstuffs and threatened the island with starvation on an epic scale. Something had to be done. The Ministry of Food intervened and immediately rolled out an all encompassing plan of action. The wholesale abandonment of peacetime crops was followed by land reclamation on a massive scale. Every man woman and child was encouraged to grow food and " Dig for victory ".

This book is so much more than a recounting of the war and the hardships endured, it certainly has such anecdotes aplenty and one cannot help being moved by the extracts from selected diaries. It somehow manages to transport us back to a bygone era where an egg is a luxury and a banana is unheard of, the spirit of survival is almost palpable and should give inspiration to all who read it. The tales of rationing are depressing yet to learn how the people coped with it is uplifting. I love the recreation of the old public information advertisements with lines such as " A clear plate means a clear conscience " and " Food is a munition of war, don't waste it ". With a generous littering of wartime recipies like : Rabbit pie, nettle soup and mock duck, one may not be running to the kitchen to recreate. However if the recession lasts any longer these forgotton dishes could be on the menu once more. And I believe this generation could learn a lot from this book on how to make the most of the lean years, self sufficiency is a dream nowadays of many but in the 1940's it was a matter of life and death. This book is a joy to read on so many different levels , it's a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back....., 25 Mar. 2010
By 
Angela (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
This book is delightful in so many ways. I love that it's not just a cookbook, although the recipes are timeless and I was pleased to find that they've been updated where appropriate. I was born after the war - in 1949 - and although I, like many others, got a bit bored listening to tales of the war, as the years have gone by I've begun to realise and appreciate just what was achieved. This book shows just how much was achieved in terms of ensuring that people were educated about food and nutrition and how people learnt how to survive on so little but with so much spirit. The information that was provided in the form of posters and leaflets are so interesting, colourful and quite humorous. I just love it and want to share it with my grandchildren. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mums know best, 12 Feb. 2010
By 
P. Rothwell (Hove, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
I bought this title recently as a gift for my mother, a WWII baby (though she won't thank me for saying so). Her response was sheer delight; she's currently engrossed, not only in the recipies contained within but in the fascinatingly detailed background information which underpins the practical content. The book has given her the impetus to dust off and revisit some of the wonderful recipies of her (and mine, come to that) formative years. It appears rabbit pie is back on the menu for my next visit home, which will be a joy, thought I'm less enthused by the prospect of her search for powdered egg coming up trumps. The lasting impression is of a book that serves not only as a fond reminder of a bygone age but, as it's strapline suggests an altogether timely contribution for the straitened times we find ourselves in today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dissappointed with content., 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
Although I did find the information in the book interesting I hoped there would be more frugal receipes in these difficult times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a timeless piece of social history (ministry of food), 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
Again this book really does open up your eyes to the world of how to use up one's leftovers, as more and more of us are throwing away our food, without realising the consequences for us and our planet, as there are millions of people in food poverty here in the UK and in a lot of the African continent, plus the far eastern countries too. With a little forethought and planning several pieces of leftovers can make a good quality tasty meal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Feb. 2013
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
Really good book, great recipes! Purchased for my father in law who grew up in the war times- he loves cooking too so looking forward to trying some of the dishes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab book, 28 Oct. 2010
By 
J. A. Finnerty (oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
I visted the Ministry of food recently to see how we fed the UK population during the war. This book brings it all together a really worthwhile read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars book, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
i liked this book,it was given as a pressie,and she liked it too.its a fun book to have in your cookery book collection,but will we cook anything from it am not sure,nice to read and flick through on a evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Far from Thrifty..., 23 Jan. 2013
By 
Simon P. Howes "simmuns" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family (Hardcover)
These recipes are far from Thrifty; 300 mls of cream, 10 ounces of cheese and four eggs in a 'feeds two' recipe, rabbit pie with a large amount of bacon and cream, chocolate brownies with 70% cocoa solids chocolate, butter sugar, eggs, Spiced beef with 4 pounds of Brisket etc. It's just an ordinary cookery book interleaved with Wartime annecdotes and copies of printed ephemera. Mrs Fearnley-Whittingstall also mixes Imperial and Metric weights in recipes which seems to indicate that the whole thing is just a hurriedly put together cookery book with a band-wagon to catch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family
The Ministry of Food: Thrifty wartime ways to feed your family by Jane Fearnley-Whittingstall (Hardcover - 4 Feb. 2010)
Used & New from: £5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
WW2 REPLICA REPRODUCTION WAR-TIME COOKERY RECIPE BOOKLET World War 2
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (40)   
Buy new£1.71
In stock

Eating For Victory: Healthy Home Front Cooking on War Rations
Eating For Victory: Healthy Home Front Cooking on War Rations by Various Authors (Hardcover - 9 May 2013)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45)   
Buy new£9.99
In stock

Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph)
Good Eating: Suggestions for Wartime Dishes (Daily Telegraph) by Telegraph Group Limited (Hardcover - 1 Dec. 2006)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13)