Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars priceless
I thought this book was a very worthful buy. It is small enough to be kept in your pocket or bag or next to you at work. The lay out of the book ensure ease access to information in a concise form when required.
Students have borrowed the book and feel its explanations of i.e. respiratory management are very clear and understandable.
The book is valuable to...
Published on 16 July 2003

versus
27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Monitoring the critically ill patient
Pocket sized book, so easy to carry. However, there are a few factual/editing errors that need rectifying. Would suggest this is a good book for the novice critical care nurse.
Published on 14 Feb 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars priceless, 16 July 2003
By A Customer
I thought this book was a very worthful buy. It is small enough to be kept in your pocket or bag or next to you at work. The lay out of the book ensure ease access to information in a concise form when required.
Students have borrowed the book and feel its explanations of i.e. respiratory management are very clear and understandable.
The book is valuable to staff on a busy acute ward or to HDU/ITU staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book to know the Basics of Intensive Care, 15 Jan 2009
By 
Irwin "ICU Rookie" (Southampton City, England, UK) - See all my reviews
I worked in a Surgical ward for 7years, I must admit I don't have much background in Critical Care. The outreach nurses helping the ward did inspire me to progress to this speciality.
Since I've used Blackwell's books before and find them easy to use, I tried this book to start with for this specialty and I haven't regret buying it. It help me tremendously not only in assessing but monitoring my patient. My colleagues especially my mentor are impressed knowing the basic things that they just about to teach. I'm truly happy I'd used this Intensive Care book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Monitoring the critically ill patient, 14 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Pocket sized book, so easy to carry. However, there are a few factual/editing errors that need rectifying. Would suggest this is a good book for the novice critical care nurse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent resource, 11 Aug 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient (Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is "x" number of years since I did the training which involved a series of medical related qualifications, but as with all my qualifications I like to keep them up-to-date so I am up with the game - the latest techniques, theories, etc.

This book would have been a God-send to me when I was studying for the "Home Nursing" qualification, and, after reading it, it has certainly reminded me that some things in the medical world change very quickly.

The contents of this pocket-sized, 359 page book are concise - everything from monitoring the patient to record keeping, in 19 chapters.

Contents:

~ recognition and management of the deteriorating patient
~ assessment of the critically ill patient
~ monitoring respiratory function
~ monitoring cardiovascular function: ECG monitoring
~ monitoring cardiovascular function: haemodynamic monitoring
~ monitoring neurological function
~ monitoring renal function
~ monitoring gastrointestinal function
~ monitoring hepatic function
~ monitoring endocrine function
~ monitoring nutritional status
~ monitoring temperature
~ monitoring pain
~ monitoring a patient receiving a blood transfusion
~ monitoring the patient with infection and related systemic inflammatory response
~ monitoring the critically ill: pregnant patient
~ monitoring the critically ill: child
~ monitoring during transport
~ record keeping

Each of these chapters contains a list of "learning objectives", an introduction along with things like the "best practice" ideals (in grey boxes). The text is easy to follow (but if you are new to the subject you might need a Medical Dictionary).

This book is a great training book for those looking at caring for seriously and critically ill people and can be used as a revision/top-up guide for those who have experience. It is a good resource, not just for nurses, but for anyone who will be looking after an ill family member.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Would reccomend to inexperienced, 2 April 2009
By 
D. Mcluckie "Man Nurse" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good beginners text, small and practical. Only got 3 stars as I felt it would be insufficient for people with some experience. I don't work with critically I'll patients but I found a lot of the info in the book was stuff that I was already familiar with. In saying that I would still reccomend this book to anyone considering a post in ITU or to those like myself just wish to broaden their nursing knowledge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 14 May 2013
By 
George Rodger - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient (Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is well written, and well designed for its target audience - the nursing staff on the front line, assessing and monitoring. The format is ideal - a compact, pocket size book of helpful summaries of topics re critically ill patients.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Critically good, 12 April 2013
This review is from: Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient (Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is an handy pocket guide to help caring for critically ill patients. It is quick and easy to search and look up relevant queries, and is well referenced. The text is nicely and logically presented, easy to follow, good layout. Includes chapters on the deteriorating patient; managing critically ill children, pregnant patients, septic patients; recognition and management of the deteriorating patient ECG and haemodynamic monitoring; systems like CNS, resp, GIT & hepatology etc; blood transfusions; pain; and record keeping.
All in all, a handy and invaluable resource, for both quick answers and more detailed study. Perfect for the acute wards and HDU/ITU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Philip Jevon will save your life...., 20 Jan 2013
This review is from: Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient (Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
It is with high praise I give to Phillip Jevon as this is another book that works well with getting essential information to staff nurses. Would say that only the mighty Royal Marsden is a better all rounder than this book but this book works well with a very difficult subject of having to monitor the early warning signs of your patient whilst also trying to conduct a long term plan of maintaining their wellbeing. If you ever meet Philip, shake his hand and thank him - he has probably saved a lot of people...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 17 Dec 2012
This review is from: Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient (Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I write this from a nurse's perspective.
Working on an assessment unit more often than not it is the nurse who first assesses patients and prioritises who is seen.It is also the nurse who is first to recognise changes in a patients condition.
Knowing what to look for and being one step ahead in treatment is an essential skill for a nurse working on any acute ward.
Clear and concise without too much indepth and unrequired information as a revision guide I found this book highly useful.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Monitoring the Critically ill Patient, 18 Aug 2012
By 
P. A. Smith (Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient (Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a guide book that seems to be aimed at Student Nurses. It comes across almost as a study/training book as each section has "Learning Objectives" and is laid out in a very matter of fact way, complete with pictures and diagrams. Fortunately, it isn't a huge book to lug around and is definitely an excellent book to have by your side while you are training.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monitoring the Critically Ill Patient (Essential Clinical Skills for Nurses)
19.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews