Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative but wordy!
A comprehensive guide to Christian Theology. A warning to students who are new to systematic Theology. This book is wordy and not for the faint of heart.
Published 10 months ago by Laurie

versus
16 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should students of theology be averse to facts?
"Christian Theology: An Introduction" is a well-known textbook by Prof. Alister McGrath of King's College, London. Its popularity during nearly 20 years can be attributed in part to its clarity of writing and presentation, its comprehensiveness, and its balance when presenting conflicting opinions within Christianity.
The principal market for a textbook of theology...
Published 20 months ago by Michael D. Reynolds


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative but wordy!, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Theology: An Introduction (Paperback)
A comprehensive guide to Christian Theology. A warning to students who are new to systematic Theology. This book is wordy and not for the faint of heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and informative - more than a text book, 24 Aug 2011
This review is from: Christian Theology: An Introduction (Paperback)
Christian Theology : An introduction - this an excellent and informative book, unlike most text book's this book will keep you engaged and informed chapter by chapter. It is user friendly and can be read from start to finish or dip into chapters as desired.
I would certainly recommend this book to anyone interested in getting a general background of the wider aspects of the Christian faith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy the book, not the kindle version, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book looks very promising, but having purchased the kindle version I was disappointed to find that the book has internal cross-references to page numbers but no page numbers! I obtained a refund and ordered the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars tall order but excellent, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Theology: An Introduction (Paperback)
It’s a tall order to cover both the history (MacCulloch et al) and the thought processes behind the Reformations but this is what McGrath sets out to do, and does very well. His historical narrative both sets the scene and provides a good grasp of the detail, while the following analysis is spot-on. An excellent volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A joy to read, 20 Mar 2013
This review is from: Christian Theology: An Introduction (Paperback)
What I like about this clear and concise introduction to Christian theology is the way it is structured so that themes and ideas get repeated in a way that helps the reader grasp and absorb them yet with a definite sense of continuity and progression throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential for anyone studying Theology, 27 Jan 2013
By 
Mr. R. Dodds "Wookie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Christian Theology: An Introduction (Paperback)
Without doubt, this is an excellent theological text book - perhaps one of the most readable text books that I used throughout the four years that I have recently studed for a theology degree. Alister McGrath, a scientist and former atheist by background, manages to summarise in 16 chapters all of the major developments in Christian Theology covering the past 2000 years. I think I like his explanatory style largely because I have a engineering/technological background and I can associate with a logical progression that uses clear evidence to form a proof. That said, whilst I do agree with the vast majority of what he says, there are some aspects of his theology that I struggle with. For example, he seems to support an Augustinian view that mankind has no control over its sinfulness as a result of the fall which makes no allowwnce for the complemntary argument that God also gives us all free will and therefore mankind does have some degree of control in that we can choose the level to which we sin. However, this - and other minor disagreements with Dr McGrath's seminal work - only covers a very small proportion of what is otherwise a most excellent text and highly recommended to anyone embarking on a course of theological study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing book, 29 Oct 2013
By 
Mrs. R. Barr "Arby63" (Rickmansworth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Theology: An Introduction (Paperback)
This is one of my set course text books so I'm going to be referring to this for some time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concise study resource, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will give both the novice and seasoned Christian of any denomination a classic overview of Christian thought and theological themes that will inform, delight and cause serious thought and/or controversy that may lead one into new nd exciting ways of Christian living.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review for Christian Theology, 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Theology: An Introduction (Paperback)
For students of Theology it would be hard to find a better introduction than this book. McGrath writes in a style which is easy to understand and he makes all points in language that is easy to absorb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift...., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Christian Theology: An Introduction (Paperback)
...for my youngest who is studying at University and she is very pleased with it. This is the 5th edition and she likes the fact that the contents have been restructured from the edition she had been using from the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Christian Theology: An Introduction
Christian Theology: An Introduction by Alister E. McGrath (Paperback - 24 Sep 2010)
20.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews