Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably one of the best
it's up to date and broken down into manageable sizes. there is a better bookFrench (Made Simple Books) but this hasn't been updated since 1991 so if I had to pick I'd plum for this one simply because the format and reading style helps with learning the language.
recommended.
Published on 11 Mar 2011 by the lambanana

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of an intermediate course
On the plus side, it has practical vocabulary (although topics are in a strange order) and plenty of exercises, perhaps good for a holiday. It is a good course but it may be a bit demanding for the absolute beginner and lacks depth for a 'complete' course as it claims to be. It's more of an intermediate course.
Published on 15 Jan 2011 by A Mother


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More of an intermediate course, 15 Jan 2011
On the plus side, it has practical vocabulary (although topics are in a strange order) and plenty of exercises, perhaps good for a holiday. It is a good course but it may be a bit demanding for the absolute beginner and lacks depth for a 'complete' course as it claims to be. It's more of an intermediate course.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably one of the best, 11 Mar 2011
By 
the lambanana "the lambanana" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
it's up to date and broken down into manageable sizes. there is a better bookFrench (Made Simple Books) but this hasn't been updated since 1991 so if I had to pick I'd plum for this one simply because the format and reading style helps with learning the language.
recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better, 4 May 2010
By 
Andi (Bognor Regis) - See all my reviews
This is more of a traveling book, so it wouldn't be that good if you're using it for school. The order's a bit jumbled, it starts with a few, but not all, greetings, then goes onto some stuff on shopping, and then onto people and family relationships. I've not finished with it yet. It's a decent book and is ideal if you're learning french for a holiday, just bear that in mind before buying.
The CD's also helpful because you can hear how they say things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars complete french, 4 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't buy , you need the audio files. AMAZON should make the purchaser aware of this, utterly disappointed, waste of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good course, misleading aspects, 6 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great package. The book is a very heavy duty full colour, glossy paper affair that will last for ever. Compared to the next level up it is miles better in quality and quantity. If your interested in other languages it may be worth pointing out that the Chinese and Russian titles of this type (level 4) are not full colour. First of all the misleading pointers. 2 x CDs are included in the pack that are indeed 70 mins a piece - the actual content works out about 100 mins for both - just thought you should know. Secondly, whilst it states that the CDs are mp3 compatible - that is all they are, they are not mp3. You will have to sit there for some time waiting for the data to go across to your itunes. about 45mins for each disk. As previously remarked, the content does seem slightly unstructured and it can be a slightly annoying trying to find out where you are in the book relating to the audio. That said it seems a good course, there are plenty of listening exercises and the level is certainly not taxing - at least in the first few levels, which is no bad thing. There grammar explanations are sufficient without being too superficial to enable you to comfortably advance to the next lessons. I do like this course despite the very few misgivings and am confident it will improve my French. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not good.>, 12 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The big attraction of this series of books is the ability to listen to the spoken language "on your smartphone, on your tablet" etc.
Oh yes? Not unless you've got a bloody iPad you can't!
I have a Nexus 10, and this book is next to useless for my device.
Feel like I've been conned out of a tenner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless without the CD, 1 July 2013
By 
kiclarkey (Biddulph, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This looks really good - unfortunately it didn't include the CD, which is ESSENTIAL to the book. Amazon should NOT be offering this item for sale, since it is not "fit for purpose". If you just dip into the book, you won't read more than a paragraph before it refers you to a track on the CD - the book is not suitable for use on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good foundation course, Horrible packaging, 1 Jan 2012
Great foundation course! What I did- As I do with any other course- is I combined three chapters for every week and literally extracted all the good information, all the grammar points touched upon, and then I translated all the dialogues from french to english to back to french. Really absorbed everything!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False expectations., 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have just bought and added this product (Complete French:Teach Yourself (Kindle Enhanced Edition)(Touch & Listen)to my new Kindle Fire HD. If, like me, you expect to get a vocalisation of the words with a french pronounciation, forget it! All I am getting is an automatic American voice speaking in English! You will get no help with pronounciation from this item! Most disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great language learning aid, 25 Nov 2011
I have a read a few reviews of this books and the 'TY' series and agree with most of what they say. For someone who is looking to get to an intermediate level of language then this course ie perfect. However, one issue I have with most of the reviews is that almost all state that you need the CD to get the most out of the book. This maybe true if you are just starting off however if you are coming back to language learning/doing this as a refresher course then the CD, while helpful is not essential. It seems to be really up to date and loving the colour in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach Yourself Complete French (Book/CD Pack) (Teach Yourself Language)
27.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews