Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish it would stick to one variety of pronunciation
I like this course very much, but for a learner it is confusing that speakers come from different parts of the world and therefore pronounce certain sounds differently (as do speakers of English and French, of course). I realise that the idea may be to prepare learners for the different types of Spanish that they will encounter if they do not confine themselves to...
Published on 13 Mar 2012 by Alan Fisk

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed
Although the title states audio eBook for Kindle I was disappointed after spending £12 to find out the audio does not work. Had I known this beforehand I would have purchased it as a book and CD.
Published 11 months ago by Lisa Pollitt


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wish it would stick to one variety of pronunciation, 13 Mar 2012
By 
Alan Fisk (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like this course very much, but for a learner it is confusing that speakers come from different parts of the world and therefore pronounce certain sounds differently (as do speakers of English and French, of course). I realise that the idea may be to prepare learners for the different types of Spanish that they will encounter if they do not confine themselves to visiting Spain but go to Latin America as well, but for learning purposes it would be much better if the dialogues were to stick to European Spanish, and if a separate course were to be issued for Latin American Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very disappointed, 27 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Although the title states audio eBook for Kindle I was disappointed after spending £12 to find out the audio does not work. Had I known this beforehand I would have purchased it as a book and CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Confusing/False advertising, 23 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I ordered this product back in October assuming it would be the Book/CD pack as advertised for £8 or so. Imagine my surprise when I finally get the chance to open my new purchase and it only contains the book.

DON'T ADVERTISE AS "BOOK/CD" IF IT ONLY CONTAINS THE BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absoloutely Brilliant, 7 Jan 2011
This is the best language learning course I have ever seen. The book is clearly set out, and the CDs are clearly spoken and really help with your pronounciation. I still can't believe how cheap it is!!!!

¡Muy bien!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy peasy, 3 Oct 2011
By 
E. Clarke "Cambusken" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an attractive and effective way to learn everyday Spanish. The scenarios are realistic, the vocabulary up to date and the exercises challenging enough to make you feel good but not so hard as to be discouraging. I have absolutely no criticism whatsoever. (I did spot one typo but I forget where it was).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, but don't order the separate audio support CDs, this product already includes them!, 1 Aug 2013
By 
David Harper "Doctor David" (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Complete Spanish (Book/CD Pack) (Teach Yourself Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
This is an excellent introduction to written and spoken Spanish. I found it very easy to learn from this course, even though I knew almost no Spanish when I started. The course uses examples from practical, real-life situations throughout, so right from the start, I was learning words and phrases that will be useful.

The course teaches the dialect of Spanish that is spoken in mainland Spain, but the author frequently highlights the important differences in pronunciation and word usage that you'll encounter in Latin America and in regions of Spain such as the Canary Islands.

CAVEAT: If you're planning to buy this product, please note that it includes the same pair of audio CDs that Amazon sells separately as "Teach Yourself Complete Spanish: Audio Support", and which it lists under the "Frequently Bought Together" heading. This is very misleading and confusing. If you click "Add both to basket", you'll end up with two sets of the audio CDs, and you'll have to return the extra set to Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good book, 15 Sep 2010
I've been learning Spanish for about 4-5 years now and it's fair to say I've bought a lot of books in my quest to speak the language. I think this book, at least for me, is the best book I've seen. It covers so much for one book. There's no substitute for hard work and any book you buy will only be as good as the effort you put into learning the language. That said, this is a very good book to have if you're serious about learning this brilliant language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's doing the job, 14 Nov 2010
I am trying to brush up my Spanish and this course seemed to be the right one for the job. It covers a lot, has plenty of revision drills. Not that it matters much, but paper quality and pictures are quite pleasing. On the minus side, somethings look a bit strange, there may be some typos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars CDs needed, 17 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The text and organization of material appear fine, but I had understood that this product would provide opportunities to hear spoken Spanish.

How can I procure the CDs to accompany this book?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oral Backup, 15 Oct 2011
By 
Birdman "Ray" (West of Scotland) - See all my reviews
I have used the earlier hardcopy version for a while which is really very good - it came with 2 discs which are also VG. I have tried the Kindle version and am still impressed but what is missing is the discs for oral back up etc - my older ones are not fully co-ordinated with the new layout. Is it possible to down load the disc part to a PC? This would help with speaking and listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach Yourself Complete Spanish (Book/CD Pack) (Teach Yourself Language Complete Courses)
£26.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews