Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 March 2015
This course book and CD are excellent, either to be used in a German class, or as a standalone learning aid. Each chapter is theme based, eg shopping & going out, work & study etc and contains examples and exercises in which vocabulary and grammar are gradually introduced. At the end of each chapter there is a "Checkliste" containing the key vocabulary and expressions covered in the chapter. The CD is a valuable learning aid, as it not only teaches the pronunciation but is excellent training at following spoken German at a reasonable speed. The only thing missing, that I would like to have seen, is a quick reference section containing a summary of the key grammatical points, eg declension of definite and indefinite articles and adjectival endings in the four cases. This could either be at the back of the main book or in the small support book that gives the answers to the exercises and audio transcripts. However even without this, the book is an excellent German course book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2014
This is the required course book for my Introductory German course. Its full
of excellent information, the exercises are very helpful, the accompanying CDs are very good to assist with correct pronunciation. I highly recommend this text book. However I don't think I will use the same supplier again - the book took over 3 and half weeks to arrive, by which stage my course was well under way.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
As the star rating says, it's ok, it makes a good textbook if you have a teacher to accompany it, but if not, then it's not great.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I found this book very easy to use and to learn from but would still recommend a good teacher. Thanks
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
This is the set book for my beginners' German class for adults. A few of the game-type exercises seem to be aimed more at a teenage audience, but for the most part this is a sensible and accessible course for adults with no prior knowledge of the language. The CDs are very useful, and I recommend getting the edition with them, even though it is more expensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 December 2015
A course text for an evening class I'm taking. I'm not sure I would have picked it otherwise. The layout was designed to keep you interested and while it's probably better than screeds of printed text, it was faintly annoying and there wasn't much information per page. The exercises provided class material. I didn't find the audio CDs particularly helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2015
Just at the beginning of the book but it seems fine. Good quality up to date, I feel confident that it will suit the purpose. I am looking forward to progressing to the next stage in my quest, learning to speak more and better German.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2015
Hardly worth a star. Beginners beware. This is a muddled course book with an untidy layout, unnecessary illustrations and not worth the cost. The BBC Talk German book and cds is a better, clearer course and cheaper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2014
It is good for beginners and for intermediate learners as it goes through useful vocab and really well explained grammer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
Great book, but you can. to study the language with this alone. It is more useful to use alongside language classes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)