Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 April 2009
This book simply is awesome. It describes and explains everything mentioned in the Edexcel Specification and more. It gives examples of real life situations which will definitely help in the Data Response questions of the paper.If you are reading this and want a good book to revise for Economics, then definitely purchase this book!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2010
the book was very good and useful. it helps you with essay questions and the components you need to get a certain grade. it also contains information about the topic. the delivery was quick and the service was excellent. the only downfall of the book was that it didn't have an index, so if you were looking for something specific, you had to flick through the whole book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2011
Very, very good book. I bought this book on recommendation from my economics teacher, and he was right, this book perfectly summarises all the information required to pass the exam and can be used in conjunction with other textbooks to get really good results.
I can say with all confidence this is a good book, I used it in my June AS exam and got 100%. What more can you want.
Note, this book does not contain everything you need for a really good grade, it is a summary book, and needs to be used with other sources of info, however it is written by the chief examiner for Edexcel economics, so you can garuntee it's all useful stuff.
The book contains sections on how best to revise (including a basic revision timetable), a section on what you need to know (everything clearly written, well explained and full of useful tips), and an example answers section (past candidates answers to show you how to and not-to answer exam questions).
All in all - highly recommended, along with all other books in this collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
This book is incredibly vague. It misses out key concepts and ideas. Of those that it does include, it explains very vaguely/poorly. The book is poorly written and is a waste of money. It has not added to my understanding for economics whatsoever. Trust me, I'm not the kind to blame my lack of understanding solely on a book, but in this case I am. The one for unit 1 is fantastic, perhaps due to the fact that it was written by a different author, however sadly this does not suffice and I strongly advise you to save your money/invest in a different guide.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Really good condition and arrived very promptly. It is very useful for anyone doing AS level economics edexcel as it consolidates the course very efficiently.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
To be honest, I'd buy the book just for the mock-responses and examiner comments at the back of the book which will always be pretty helpful. In terms of revision notes they really aren't the best, I was pretty confused when I first read them although if you already have a decent understand they're pretty good to consolidate your notes. I'd recommend Anderton AS Level Economics book instead, although it is overly in-depth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2010
I thought very highly of the Unit 1 guide, similar to this one for the Edexcel AS examination, so I bought the Unit 2 guide. I have to say this guide is disappointing, about 40% of it is good quality 'stuff' to revise from whereas 60% is ambiguous, lacking in explanatory power and in some places the information seems to be incorrect as a result. For example on p.53, the author says: "raising interest rates tends to make exchange rates rise. As UK firms import nearly all their raw materials, the effect on production costs may be significant." Now, 'hot' money, that is, foreign investment in currency has the effect of strengthening the currency of the recipient country, and weakens the currency of the country where the investment is coming from. This would have the effect of making imports *cheaper* in the UK, so the statement about production costs is simply wrong, and if not, why isn't it explained? There are more examples of this, but I'm not going to write them all down here. I just feel this guide may have been rushed out to meet the new specification starting from 2008, and I hope a second edition will be released making the content guidance a little clearer.

Some positive points about the book (aside from some good content guidance) are that there is advice at the front, and questions and answers at the back in the exam style of unit 2, with examiner's comments included.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2013
This book gives a really good overview and key summary of the elements found in the edexcel economics syllabus. It definitely doesn't have ALL the content, but it is a great help for revision or to have an initial overview .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2015
Good quality service! Thanks
The book itself is not very detailed but good if you're looking for an overview on macro economics and useful as a revision tool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2015
Excellent revision book! Helped me achieve 96 UMS on this exam - truly recommend to anyone also studying this course
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)