Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!
This is the book I've been waiting for my entire A Level teaching career. It's rigorous, analytical and a damned good read; it hooks students in from the start by appealing to everything that's thrilling about the period, (the description of Bosworth on the opening pages), holds their attention by weaving personal stories throughout events and uses illustrations and...
Published on 7 Jun. 2012 by Kate B

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not waste your money
Must be my fault that I thought I was going to learn something from a book, not knowing that it was a pamphlet knocked up in a lunchtime.
Published 16 months ago by George F Bradbury


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!, 7 Jun. 2012
This review is from: The Wars of the Roses (Enquiring History Series) (Paperback)
This is the book I've been waiting for my entire A Level teaching career. It's rigorous, analytical and a damned good read; it hooks students in from the start by appealing to everything that's thrilling about the period, (the description of Bosworth on the opening pages), holds their attention by weaving personal stories throughout events and uses illustrations and diagrams to clarify historical processes. No bolted-on source evaluations at the ends of chapters, sources are intrinsic to the text and show historical figures making imperfect decisions with unexpected consequences - suddenly, source evaluation makes a lot more sense. I felt like breathing a sigh at the end and I don't feel that way about many of the A Level textbooks I've used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Butchery a its worst., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wars of the Roses (Enquiring History Series) (Paperback)
Fascinating period of history and this book helped to clear up a few anomalies.Would recommend it for both the serious and casual
student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clever and careful, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wars of the Roses (Enquiring History Series) (Paperback)
Overview is excellent not just for A level or undergrad study aid, but aid it is does not explore impact and genesis from the 100 year war
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 2 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wars of the Roses (Enquiring History Series) (Paperback)
Item just as describe and good priceS delivery took quiet long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Wars of the Roses (Enquiring History Series) (Paperback)
Just what I needed for college
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not waste your money, 28 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Must be my fault that I thought I was going to learn something from a book, not knowing that it was a pamphlet knocked up in a lunchtime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Wars of the Roses (Enquiring History Series)
The Wars of the Roses (Enquiring History Series) by Ian Dawson (Paperback - 30 Mar. 2012)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews