Customer Reviews


22 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a god send for advanced language learners, 9 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
Since being recommended this by my university professor, its practically become my bible. I look to it in times of doubt and confusion, and it gives me hope and understanding. In all seriousness, its extremely comprehensive and covers just about everything you could need to know about. The format is very clear and its set out in a way that doesn't make the page like a big blur of confusing words and explanations. It's detailed, easy to understand and you can easily and quickly refer to any section you should need. Not to mention the fact that its great value for money - I will certainly be using this for many years to come. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The comprehensive Spanish grammar, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
I used the second edition of this book when doing my Spanish degree and I have recently upgraded to the newest version. In my opinion, this is the best Spanish grammar book out there, suitable for A-level upwards. Explanations are clear and reliable, and it's an absolute must for students and teachers of Spanish alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 11 Dec. 2012
By 
T. Parry - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
If you are a serious student of the language you have to know and understand the grammar. This is a companion reference book that is always going to be there to help and guide you as your knowledge improves generally. It does require some concentration. I was influenced by earlier reviewers and am glad I bought the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Spanish Grammar Book, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
Excellent book for those wanting to advance their Spanish beyond the elementary. Some of the examples are a bit quaint but once you get into the Spanish mind set it makes better sense. I would question some of the Spanish translations into English but on the whole it is a very in depth look at the construction of the language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great grammar book, 14 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
An excellent reference book that is both readable by topic and diveable into by specific query. Definitely recommended for anyone who wants to know whether to use 'por' or 'para' and when to use the subjunctive or any of the other tricky bits of grammar. They are all clearly explained with good examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for University and beyond, 11 May 2015
By 
E. Morrison (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
Bought this book to help study for my exams in second year of uni. I struggled to find a grammar book that was advanced enough to be a good investment purchase, most are tailored towards school learners but I wanted a book that will carry me through university and beyond and this book is great! It is a little cluttered, it has so much information that it can be difficult to just get the main ideas at first. However, it is clear that every aspect of each grammar point is covered, with examples from both Spain and Latin America. It has extensive glossaries and indexes to help you find what you need, but no practice exercises.. Definitely more of a grammar bible than a book to work through chapter by chapter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muy bien!, 27 July 2011
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
I would class myself as an intermediate student, and hence was needing a more complete- but nevertheless clear and unambiguous- explanation of the nuances of actual Spanish use- this volume provides that. It is clearly laid out, easy to navigate through and ideal for simply dipping into if one feels so inclined. Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 29 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
Very thorough grammar reference book at a good price.
Promptly dispatched and securely packaged.
Six more words required blah blah.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This remains the outstanding reference work for Anglophone students of ..., 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This remains the outstanding reference work for Anglophone students of Spanish.

As Hammer/Durrell do with German, it matches perfectly the requirements of blending formal-register written Spanish with the realities of the contemporary language in use across the Hispanic world.

An enjoyable an indispensable guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Advanced!, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) (Paperback)
This book is not for the beginner! I am doing a degree and this is a set book it's fab and serves its purpose well but as I'm only in my first year I find I sometimes need to reference another grammar book just to clarify some points! Don't be put off by the price this really does have it all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG)
A New Reference Grammar of Modern Spanish (HRG) by Mrs Carmen Benjamin (Paperback - 27 May 2011)
£23.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews