Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning Spanish
I am just starting to learn Spanish - am booked on a course staring tomorrow! I have spent a few weeks with this book and the CDs it comes with. So, very early days, but the book is clear and you move on quickly. So I recommend it.
Published on 23 April 2012 by Retired Salesman

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but has some major problems
I have been using this book for a beginners' course and, while the grammar explainations are clear and well organized and it is great that all headings and explainations are translated into English, there are many mistakes that mainly come from "saving" space for characters (lack of articles in some exercises, which is confusing for beginners unless they are told...
Published 14 months ago by Nerina X


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Learning Spanish, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
I am just starting to learn Spanish - am booked on a course staring tomorrow! I have spent a few weeks with this book and the CDs it comes with. So, very early days, but the book is clear and you move on quickly. So I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad but has some major problems, 3 Mar. 2014
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
I have been using this book for a beginners' course and, while the grammar explainations are clear and well organized and it is great that all headings and explainations are translated into English, there are many mistakes that mainly come from "saving" space for characters (lack of articles in some exercises, which is confusing for beginners unless they are told that an article is needed in some cases, literal translations from English, expressions that a Spanish native speaker would not use, etc.). I am glad that they used speakers of different Spanish dialects, but the audio quality is often poor and some speakers do not articulate clearly enough and speak too fast for beginners, which is realistic but hard to work with, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Course, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
Delivered promptly. I am currently attending Year 2 part one. This course is the best I have ever done, I am on week 4 and can see the light at the end of the tunnel. The repetitive use of phrases, useful vocabulary, hardly any english makes you work hard. We use the CD in class so did not need to purchase this. The Activity Book is a must to have with this book. Practice makes perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 17 Feb. 2013
By 
Mr. Bozidar Krstic "Boz Skroz" (London, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
Everything is presented nicely, taking care about key elements and rules, gradually taking you from lesson to lesson, so you can practice old stuff and learn a new stuff in unforced and timely way. Great, I like it very much, used weekly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well paced and lively textbook., 23 Mar. 2014
By 
Ms. Valerie Reed (london UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
So far this text book seems to be a very helpful way of learning and reinforcing new grammar and vocabulary. It is well paced and helpfully written with clear exercises to reinforce the main content of each section.
I am using it as part of a Spanish conversation evening class, I think it could be used if you were trying to teach yourself too. If this was the case It would be helpful to obtain the accompanying CD which I haven't bought yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO CD SUPPORT!!!, 31 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
Annoying that the description does not make clear that you DO NOT GET a CD to go with it. I'm using it with an evening class, but it would be half useless on it's own without the audio pack, as so much of the content accompanies the CD content, and you can't use it stand-alone.

3 Stars only at this stage - it won't be increased because of the lack of included audio, but it may be reduced in light of usefulness supporting the evening classes (where it was recommended).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction to the Spanish language., 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
This book was required for the Spanish language group I joined.
Generally easy to follow but sometimes the speakers in the audio sections are difficult to comprehend due to regional accent and speed of delivery.
Has useful English/Spanish dictionary to identify new words.
Phone app advertised on front cover supposed to be available soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pasos 1 - current edition, 19 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
Excellent course-book to use on its own, or as a course textbook. Beware of getting an old edition, which is completely different, or getting the Activity book by mistake - they look just the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pasos Spanish 1 coursebook, 10 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
This book was recommended by the teacher on my Adult Education Spanish for Beginners class. It is easy to read and there are exercises that you can do yourself by filling in missing words in sentences.

To do some exercises you need to listen to the accompanying CD which did not come with the book but if you are on a course then your teacher should have this and play it to you in the classes or you can just omit these parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great Spanish book, 19 Feb. 2013
By 
K. Marciniak (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish) (Paperback)
This is a great book for beginners, I can recommend it to everyone who wants to learn Spanish quickly - with this book it's easy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pasos 1: Spanish Beginner's Course Coursebook (Pasos a First Course Spanish)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews