Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact, colored diagrams and most importantly well put together!
This book is one of the best handbooks I have seen recently.

Presentation by both class of microorganism and presentation makes it easy to locate the offending pathogen whether you are a budding microbiologist or a pre registration doctor/resident. The summaries are concise and easy to follow. So much so that I would suggest if you are sitting for any type of...
Published on 15 July 2012 by Jack Chakotay

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Aimed at Doctors
I had hoped this pocket sized guide would be usable at work. However it is limited to being installed only on one electronic device with no easy option of moving it if you change phone.
The paper copy is useful but is really designed to be a carry around guide but is too big to fit in a pocket and too small to be a good revision guide.
Published 19 months ago by Keats The Cat


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compact, colored diagrams and most importantly well put together!, 15 July 2012
By 
Jack Chakotay "Ender Brazil" (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This book is one of the best handbooks I have seen recently.

Presentation by both class of microorganism and presentation makes it easy to locate the offending pathogen whether you are a budding microbiologist or a pre registration doctor/resident. The summaries are concise and easy to follow. So much so that I would suggest if you are sitting for any type of exam, you use the relevant entries as an aide memoir. The usual individual microorganism entry is presented as follows:

Location, transmission, diseases, diagnosis, antimicrobial.

The diagrams are relevant and informative. There are multiple colour plates. I enjoyed using this reference immensely! This is set in UK terms with a current UK immunisation schedule and generic names being used for medication. There is even a bibliography of references linking to the Cochrane database of systemic reviews or standard protocols/definitive journal articles.

I am not going to give a review for the Skyscape app but I know my reaction was similar to that of the Google Play store reviews when asked to give permissions for personal contact and calendar information. Just plain wrong. The app itself is free with certain basic modules. This book gives a code for a premium/paid module based on this book.

However I can see this app being very useful on the phone/ tablet instead of carrying various handbooks around. Perhaps installing it on a separate device unconnected to your account, ie linked to a new account.

This should in no way detract from a first class reference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent resource, 1 July 2012
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a superb resource for anyone who is looking at starting or revising this area of medicine. It would also be useful for anyone with an interest in microbiology or infectious diseases, even students of biology, human biology or epidemiology would find this book and the accompanying app helpful.

The text isn't overly complex, and has a section at the beginning explaining how to use the book, and one on the abbreviations used.

It is broken down into 2 main areas: microbiology and infectious diseases. There is also a section for "self assessment".

.
Micro Biology

~ bacteria
~ virus
~ fungi
~ protozoa
~ helminths
~ antibiotics

.
Infectious diseases

~ respiratory infections
~ gastrointestinal infections
~ cardiovascular infections
~ haematology infections and HIV
~ genitourinary infections
~ nervous system infections
~ skin infections
~ bone and joint infections
~ congenital, neonatal and childhood infections
~ history taking, septic screen and monitoring

For every infectious illness mentioned (and it is not a fully comprehensive book, but covers all the more prevalent infectious diseases) there is a description of symptoms along with possible causes.

.
Each of these sections also contains some, if not all, of these mini boxes:

*"Micro Case" - case studies and bullet point summaries
* "Micro Facts" - summarisation of the essential facts
* "Micro Print" - extra information that may not be essential to all
* "Micro Reference" - panels for further research and guidelines

.
At the end of the book is a section for "Self Assessment". Each question has the correct answer included in the book.

The book is full colour showing drawings of cells and photographs of stained slide sections.

The book comes with a special code for the app download. Please note that this code can only be used once, so pick your device carefully.

The app allows access to even more detailed information, along with "on the move" information and suggestions for further research.

This is a superb reference text book. If you are thinking of a carer in the medical, medico-research and/or medio-technical areas then I can recommend it and its associated app for your consideration.

Even if your studies are only limited to the cell based areas then you may find the "micro biology" sections well worth a look.

I look forward to other texts in this range.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent revision aid!, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Fireball Dragon (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I am currently reading for Masters degree at UCL in Clinical & Experimental Medicine. This book was a very welcome addition to my growing library. I wish I had this book during my undergraduate degree, which contained a module on microbiology. The easy to digest and concise material would be very much appreciated as a revision aid for examinations. I particularly found the list of abbreviations at the beginning of the book to be useful.

The actual book itself is fairly small and can easily fit into a students (or Jr. medics) bag. Without going into too much detail, the book covers the majority of microbiology tests. The book is divided into 3 rather large chapters; Microbiology, infectious diseases and self assessment.

PART 1- MICROBIOLOGY This section covers bacteria, viruses, fungi, protozoa, helminths and antibiotics. Each chapter begins with a brief over view of the pathogen in question, before moving onto the infections they cause, laboratory identification and diagnostic tests. This is all supplemented with excellent microscopic images as well as charts and plenty of diagrams for easy learning.

PART 2- INFECTIOUS DISEASES This chapter covers a wide range of infections that cause specific infections in different bodily systems; respiratory , gastrointestinal, cardiovascular, haematological, genitourinary, nervous system, bone and joint, skin and childhood infections.

PART 3- SELF ASSESSMENT The final chapter puts learning into practice, covering various case studies and multiple-choice questions.

The item lost a star due to the below average online eBook. To view the eBook (I tested this for the iPad), one is 'required' to download the SkyScape App and the eBook is installed there. It would have been nice if this could have been downloaded to iBooks, instead. The content is present in the App, albeit in a condensed format. However, I have experienced the App shutting down, for no apparent reason, on a number of occasions. If it worked, I am sure it would have been a handy addition for Jr. Doctors to check their iPhone (the App also works on iPhoned) when they are uncertain about a diagnosis.

All-in-all, I am very pleases with this microbiology book. It is fairly reasonable enough for someone with a non-scientific background to grasp, but I would recommend a basic background in microbiology to really understand everything. This is a very up-to-date book in a condensed and easy to digest format. The book 5/5; highly recommended. The App 2/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Resource, 18 July 2012
By 
Andrew Kerr (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
"Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move" is a book aimed at medical students, junior doctors, microbiologists or those who have an interest in the field infectious diseases. It's also a great revision tool.

While being almost pocket sized it contains a wealth of information on a massive range of bacteria, virus and fungi. Including community acquired and waterborne diseases.

It's structured in such a way thats is easy to follow and easy to navigate, either cover to cover to to look something up. It doesn't over pad subjects and uses lots of summaries and bullet points.

A few minor points, I would have liked more information on antibiotics such as side-effects, combination of the drugs and resistance. Also I'm a visual learner and while there are some good photos (all colour), it would have been good to have seen more. Finally there is very little on tropical diseases.

However it's great value for money considering what it offers and should be on your short list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great use of colour and images, 8 July 2012
By 
Mr. Stephen Redman (York England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A brilliantly accessable format, with a helpful layout and interesting appearance. Fantastic for early clinical years.
Good use of colour and images.
Laid out as you would organise your own medical notes, so that it makes sense and feels immediately comfortable.
Covers common issues and more important ones giving more than just basic answers.
Above all this informative book is very easy to read and will be a good basic reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful text to allow you to get to grips with clinical microbiology at a level for medical students, 7 May 2013
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
This book is a handy book for any medical student to use if they want to better get to grips with microbiology from the perspective of what a medical student needs to know.

The section on basic microbiology is a useful edition though the detail within this section is beyond what you would be required to know for any medical student examinations. However such detail is a useful read so that the student can better understand the second section which is an essential read most certainly before finals giving you all the major points you need to know about infections & their management across the body systems which without the first section would be harder to conceptualize.

Perhaps the most useful aspect of the first section is the mnemonic for learning the gram positive bacteria - 'sexy students can look bad come the morning' - I won't say what the bacteria are as others have given it below but if you use this then any question asking you to work out type of infection should be a lot easier.

The final section is a useful addition allowing you to test your knowledge gleaned from the rest of the book & the mobile access makes browsing the book a lot more convenient as you can restructure it by organism etc.

On the whole I would encourage a medical student who wishes to better prepare themselves for this component of the course in examinations to strongly consider this title as in my opinion it is easy to read & gives you the essential facts.

Competing Interests: Student Rep - received gratis copy of this title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Micro Q&A, 22 Sep 2012
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Easy to read and follow, practical information on microbiology that is relevant to trainnes, both in medicine and other disciplines. The questions are relevant and drive home salient facts and information.
Overall, a well packaged an presented book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another excellent resource from the MOTM series..., 11 Sep 2012
By 
John "John75222" (Leeds, Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The MOTM guides are not intended as comprehensive guides but as an overview of a particular subject area. They're designed to be concise, punchy in the way they deliver information and easy to read, with the information presented in an accessible way.

The guide to microbiology and infectious diseases is typical of the MOTM guides. It's particularly relevant these days when there is a great deal of focus on how and why iatrogenic or hospital acquired infection rates are on the increase.

The layout is colourful, easy to follow and more importantly relevant and easy to understand. Unlike some of the books on the market today this is written for a British market and not full of American terminology. The book is aimed primarily at pre registration medics but would also find great use as a resource for nurses, paramedics or other health professionals.

I haven't used the mobile app but as I understand it the app allows access to the book in online form as well as other resources.

Another useful addition to the MOTM series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great handbook to compliment your knowledge, 26 Aug 2012
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
'Microbiology and Infectious diseases on the Move' is a very user-friendly, colourful and informative book. The glossy pages, multiple diagrams and pictures and colourful textboxes make it a nice handbook to peruse through. It is light and quite small, meaning that it really is suitable to be used 'on the move'.

There is an informative section on the various types of microbes with short but concise descriptions of each and their important processes. This is followed by a section on infectious diseases, which includes a good variety of information including 'description', 'epidemiology', 'signs' and 'complications'.

I know this will be an invaluable tool in my studies at medschool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good quick revision aid in a handy size, 25 Aug 2012
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) (Paperback)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is my first experience with this series of guides I really liked the layout; it is nicely colour coded, pleasant visuals in terms of diagrams and charts, the sections are easy to navigate, so that the would-be reader is able to zero in on the areas of interest quickly, considering its size the book is packed with the relevant information. In essence it has all the must have material for study, my only caveat is, as one reader has already pointed out, is tropical infections are almost non - existent in this guide. At the back of the book there is a good set of questions for self-assessment, which are clinically pertinent.

The down loadable apps side, was not as intuitive to set up, as one would have expected, and asked for excessive private data of the user and the use of premium rate numbers. I did not like these elements and believe that it could have been done better.

In conclusion then, this text is written by UK clinicians and conforms to guidelines and best practice in the UK and is intended for a UK target audience, this should not detract from the information contained, but should be borne in mind, when selecting this guide. A good revision text that enables one to cram up and very good size for portability as you revise on the go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM)
Microbiology and Infectious Diseases on the Move (MOTM) by Rory Mackinnon (Paperback - 27 April 2012)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews