Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth it!
found this really helpful for my gcse english literature. if you're struggling with Woman In Black then this will definitely help!
Published on 26 Jun 2012 by joanna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Bought because it is a set book for GCSE English, which I am teaching. However, for my taste, it is just trying too hard. The constant Gothic, foreshadowing of gloom, doom and despondency is overdone and the story too thin. it is however better than the film that came from it. I understand teat the stage play is stunning, although i have yet to see it.
Published 8 months ago by Mr. S. J. Isserlis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth it!, 26 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
found this really helpful for my gcse english literature. if you're struggling with Woman In Black then this will definitely help!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It answers every question!!!!, 16 Oct 2011
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
This literature guide was perfect for my daughter to get her through her GCSE. She struggled with answering questions and "reading between the lines" to find the model answers. This guide seemed to do just that for her. It's explanations were clear and concise and made life so much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars revision book gcse, 17 Nov 2011
By 
Janet Mason - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
This is for my daughters gcse and she doesn't usually use the revision books as they don't suit her way of revising but she said this one is brilliant and really helpful how its set out. brilliant 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful guide, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
I was very pleased with this guide. Used in conjunction with the novel, it provides extra information needed by students
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A very helpful guide!, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
So far I have found this book to be quite helpful as I am currently revising for my GCSE . The book has a very clear layout, it makes valid points and is easy to understand. As well as this, it includes helpful tips and guidance on how to plan answers, it also includes the assessment objects and example C grade and A* grade essays.
I would recommend this book to people such as myself who have really poor revision notes, but also to others as purchasing this book as it will definitely be worthwhile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
Bought because it is a set book for GCSE English, which I am teaching. However, for my taste, it is just trying too hard. The constant Gothic, foreshadowing of gloom, doom and despondency is overdone and the story too thin. it is however better than the film that came from it. I understand teat the stage play is stunning, although i have yet to see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Basic errors in text, 25 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
A good revision guide on the whole, but the book is referred to as 'A Woman in Black' on a number of occassions instead of 'The Woman in Black' and the pub is called the 'Griffin Arms' when is should be the 'Gifford Arms'. Small points I know, but in a book such as this they shouldn't occur.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely helpful, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
I bought this for an AQA spec for my 2013 June exams and it was great for revision, including a lot of useful content.

I would recommend buying it a 3-4 months earlier however, it's not a last minute revision thing as its very text heavy. I picked out key information (everything you need to know is there and more) and worked my way through the exam-style questions which ended up being very similar to the actually examination question in June.

It caters for all target grades and has a whole section on exam technique which I found so useful to.

Defiantly recommend it to aid the study of the Woman In Black for any exam board! (and you can't really go wrong with the price either) :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compliments the novel beautifully, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
A comprehensive guide through the book chapter by chapter with helpful questions at the end of each to aid revision. Very good as a stand-alone resource but superb when used in conjunction with the teacher pack. Excellent value for money, both for use in school and for private revision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 31 July 2014
By 
Mr. J. H. Richards (Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black (Paperback)
Useful for daughter's GCSE. If it ups her grade, then as a parent, it's worth its weight in gold.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black
Philip Allan Literature Guide (for GCSE): The Woman in Black by Margaret Mulheran (Paperback - 27 Aug 2010)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews