Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful book
I bought this book for my daughter who is doing GCSE Italian and although some of the phrases and words are too advanced for her, it's proving to be a really useful book to help expand her vocabulary. And it's helped with mine too! Definitely recommend for dipping into around all sorts of subject areas.
Published on 1 Nov 2010 by Diddidi

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an index would be useful
full of useful info & phrases which are subdivided into topics, which are many and varied. a basic knowledge of Italian is I think a pre-requisite and I feel the addition of an index would make this book more user friendly.
Published on 17 Nov 2011 by RosiC


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful book, 1 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book for my daughter who is doing GCSE Italian and although some of the phrases and words are too advanced for her, it's proving to be a really useful book to help expand her vocabulary. And it's helped with mine too! Definitely recommend for dipping into around all sorts of subject areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome :D, 30 Sep 2012
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
This book is really cool, and I would definitely recommend it for anyone doing Italian. Granted, you would have to have some prior knowledge of Italian for it to be useful, however I can barely speak it at the moment and I really like it. It does have some quite random phrases in it, such as 'the victim had a close shave' and 'since it is November the flowers are mostly chrysanthemums so you never bring chrysanthemums when you go visiting friends' and things like that, but I think that it makes the book more interesting! It does include a lot of useful topics that are covered in GCSE and A level Italian, including family, school, social problems, sport, technology, the environment, politics and culture. I also really like the section including sayings and exclamations, such as 'slow and steady wins the race', 'good heavens!' and 'no way!'.
Overall, a great book and a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars an index would be useful, 17 Nov 2011
By 
RosiC (Bangor, Co Down) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
full of useful info & phrases which are subdivided into topics, which are many and varied. a basic knowledge of Italian is I think a pre-requisite and I feel the addition of an index would make this book more user friendly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I was looking for!, 9 Nov 2012
By 
A. Hines "birtles" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
This phrasebook is just what I was looking for.
The layout of the book means that if you are learning the language and eg have to talk to your group, you are well provided for. The section 'Come dire' will give you most of the phrases you could possibly need for a discussion or a presentation, and the odds are on that another of the chapters amongst which are recycling, global warming, employment, sport will cover the subject matter you need to speak about.
It is really handy that the phrases are listed by subject - eg Gioventu' which is then subdivided into groups of friends, behaviour,love, fashion etc. Another chapter entitled 'Cibi, dieta, salute' is divided into 'in the kitchen' - dinner, meals, kitchen appliances, diet, fitness, health etc and at the back even sayings & proverbs, and Italian sms
It's a good solid book, and a handy size (just a little bit bigger than a regular paperback novel) which will stand me in good stead for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastico ;), 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
My italian (A-level initio) teacher actually recommended this book as she uses it with all her italian students (well, english students, learning italian) and I've found the book very helpful, especially with understanding how italian sentences are put together with the many examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
Very useful when writing essays or while trying to use Italian more idiomatically! Definitely recommened it to any university students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars worth a look, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
Whilst this book does have some good expressions in it, it isn't as good as the French and German equivalent. It's worth a look, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A challenging selection for the beginner, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Foxi Rosie (South Coast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
However, for those who can read Italian, it helps to improve knowledge and confidence in building phrases, sentences. Aimed more at the intermediate student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gem!, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
This book was a find and I regard it as a gem. I like learning words in lists and I know that this method is not for everyone. There is a list of proverbs which is very useful to really master the Italian language. I could never find a book like that till now at least. This book also lists phrases that take the subjunctive as well as filler words to prolong a conversation in the Italian language. I wish I had possessed this book when I was in college a few years ago. I have the French version Mot a mot and it is great to have a version in Italian. Italian students have to be catered for too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars never lost for words., 1 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parola per Parola Second Edition (Paperback)
A very useful standby for all occasions - whether travelling or for business and all social occasions ..a handy book to use abroad and at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parola per Parola Second Edition
Parola per Parola Second Edition by Tony Giovanazzi (Paperback - 28 May 2010)
7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews