Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The English Legal System.
This is a an ideal resource for any Law student that is starting out for the first time in this subject. this third edition is comprehensive and up-to-date with the English legal system. This book is well laid out and everybody should own a copy if you are studying Law or not. It is easy to follow and it makes no assumptions of your Law knowledge. this book is filled with...
Published on 26 Feb 2003 by tonyharte80

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well I needed it
Its a book about law, I needed it for my course and well it does the job but is quite boring if I'm honest.
Published 21 months ago by Robert


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The English Legal System., 26 Feb 2003
This is a an ideal resource for any Law student that is starting out for the first time in this subject. this third edition is comprehensive and up-to-date with the English legal system. This book is well laid out and everybody should own a copy if you are studying Law or not. It is easy to follow and it makes no assumptions of your Law knowledge. this book is filled with diagrams and real articles. Jacqueline Martin LLM is a former chief examiner for the 'A' level Law board for 10 years, as well as being a barrister and a Law teacher, this lady knows her stuff and she know what you need to know to pass your 'A' levels. Great book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for A level, 9 Sep 2003
I used this book for my AS level Law course and found it invaluable. Each chapter starts with an introduction and gradually becomes more in depth as the chapter moves on, which ables students to easily follow and understand each topic on the syllabus.
I have also found the book will be useful for my A2 course, as the first half of my A2 course requires the use of the police sections which are featured in the book.
Overall really useful for helping on A level courses, and i actually used this book instead of my notes when it came to revision so also saves on buying a revision guide etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very concise and easy to follow, 20 Nov 2000
By A Customer
i studied law at degree level and had never done it before. this book was very easy to understand and laid out exceptionally well. Refence is made to a wide variety of useful cases. i still refer to this book now for aid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The English Legal System by Jacqueline Martin (4th Edition)., 2 Jun 2005
By 
Dr. P. Jepson "Dr Peter Jepson" (Strode's College, Egham, Surrey.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have used the Jacqueline Martin book - The English Legal System for teaching AS and A-Level Law for a number of years. It is without doubt an excellent publication. If there is a criticism of the book it is the binding - which could be better. However, academically the book is without equal for AS to Degree Level Law Students.
The new fourth edition (May 2005) builds upon previous editions and incorporates Human Rights, new statutes, cases and other relevant materials. What is especially pleasing about the book is that it mainatins a balance between depth and easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A-Level Student, 11 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. Anuj Ghai (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have just started my A-Level Law course, and my law teacher reccomended this law textbook to us. I have to say, that the material Martin covers in this book is sufficent for you to achieve a very good grade in your a-levels. The text is well laid out, making the information easy to read. I would reccomend this book to all law students, and all those who are intersted in how the english legal system operates. A great book. Thanks Jaqueline:D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compliments the OU courses in easy to read format., 6 Feb 2002
By A Customer
A well written document whch compliments the early stages of a degree well. The book is littered with case refences and quotations which are essential for any study. Absolutely reccommended for anyone either interested in or studying law.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars English Legal System Review, 28 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This examination of the English Legal System provides a deep insight and analysis of the the curret, and developing English legal system.
An excellent resource for students like myself, this textbook covers much more than just the basics, encouraging those with a reasonable and inquisitive mind to question the logic and prcticality of the law in comtemporary England and Wales.
As an A level stdent I have found this book imperitive to my studies, both for modules focusing specifically on this area, and for extended background reading, allowing a more comprehensive understanding of the legal system and the law as one complete existence.
This book is invaluable, and I, and any other who will read it, will find it necessity when faced with studies and subject interest alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AS Level Student., 3 Mar 2008
This book is fantastic if your'e studying A-Level Law with any exam board as this book covers most of the aspects of all the courses syllabus, although it is only written for the OCR and WJEC course. It covers all aspects of law clearly and in plain english so if you're someone new in law, like me you can get the hang of it straight away. Previosuly I've also used thed ELLIOT and QUINN English Legal System Book with each page covered with full text with techncical words, making it hard to understand for a begginer. Personally I think this book is fantastic and a must have for all A-Level students.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The English Legal System, 7 May 2003
By A Customer
I found this book was very helpful, it was full of facts and figures, with lots of cases and acts that are a good resource and went very well with the Jimmy O'Riordan AS for OCR - what can I say it was brilliant, as it gave sometimes a better account of cases that were being dealt with in JO's book AS for OCR.
I also found it was a very good fore runner to the next book by Diana Roe (Criminal Law 2nd edition: isbn: 340-84819-7).
Not to be missed book - champion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Year Law, 8 Sep 2006
By 
Cee-Gee (Northants, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
A brilliant book for someone who has never studied law before. A nice short book to read before your course begins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The English Legal System, 6th Edition
The English Legal System, 6th Edition by Jacqueline Martin (Paperback - 25 Jun 2010)
Used & New from: £7.90
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews