Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and useful for the Celta course
This book explains just about everything you would need to know while training to teach Esol. I found it really helpful in revising lessons from the classroom as it always seemed to give a very useful explanation of planning, classroom management, learner difficulties and teaching in general.
Published on 22 Oct 2010 by BEDMARK.CO.UK

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This guide works mostly for adult learners
I ordered this book based on some reviews which praised it highly as being a practical guide for teaching EFL. For people who are interested in teaching to adults, there is a lot of good information and tips about how to do it. However, I am teaching English to children, and much of what is contained in the book is not relevant for that age level. Therefore, it was...
Published 19 months ago by Singing Bones


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars interesting and useful for the Celta course, 22 Oct 2010
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
This book explains just about everything you would need to know while training to teach Esol. I found it really helpful in revising lessons from the classroom as it always seemed to give a very useful explanation of planning, classroom management, learner difficulties and teaching in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SGA, 3 April 2011
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Using it during CELTA. Easy to read and simple. Gives the basic idea without too many technical words. If detailed reading id required, it suggests where to go as well !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teach teacher teach, 19 Sep 2010
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Just finished my CELTA course and this was one book that was always very popular in the library. It has some great advice and teaching tips. Useful for Teaching practice and also for the assignments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars This guide works mostly for adult learners, 12 Jan 2013
By 
Singing Bones (Sjślland, Denmark) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
I ordered this book based on some reviews which praised it highly as being a practical guide for teaching EFL. For people who are interested in teaching to adults, there is a lot of good information and tips about how to do it. However, I am teaching English to children, and much of what is contained in the book is not relevant for that age level. Therefore, it was somewhat disappointing to read it and not as helpful as I would have liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One great book!, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
As an EFL teacher, I have been looking for books that could actually help me help my students. I have attended quite a few seminars of Methodology, and I must say I found this book equally helpful. It is a step-by-step guide on what to teach and how to teach it. What is more, it is very well written and the tips it gives, well, they couldn't have been more clear. A real treasure for EFL teachers who have just started teaching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, especially for those doing the CELTA training!, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Excellent book! Highly recommended for anyone wishes to be a ELF teacher. This book has been a very interesting read, Riddell has simplified how one becomes a outstanding English teacher in this compact book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very useful book, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am fresh out of CELTA and got this book to review all the stuff that we learnt on the course and just get some confidence whilst I'm looking for a job. I think the book will be useful to all those who are planning or just starting teaching English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good!, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
So far so good. I'm still reading. Lots of informations in it which in my TEFL course doesn't mention it.
A book to have as a reference whem you need.
I recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the basics and more, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
It's got all you need ! Get this and a decent grammar book and you're sorted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars user guide, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
it does what it says on the tin. Those not faced with the problem it deals with will not have a need for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself
Teach English as a Foreign Language: Teach Yourself by David Riddell (Paperback - 30 July 2010)
Used & New from: £2.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews