Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy without the audio
Afrikaans is a language with a particularly rich sound inventory. Do not presume that you can learn to speak it from the text alone. Along with the audio this is a very nicely written book and given that Afrikaans is relatively easy you will get good results
Published 16 months ago by Oliver Cromwell

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not ideal for an adult bit school like for me - service good though!
Published 8 months ago by Mellissa Thorogood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Afrikaans Beginner to Intermediate Course: (Book and audio support) Learn to read, write, speak and understand a new language with Teach Yourself (Teach Yourself Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
Not ideal for an adult bit school like for me - service good though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy without the audio, 25 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Afrikaans is a language with a particularly rich sound inventory. Do not presume that you can learn to speak it from the text alone. Along with the audio this is a very nicely written book and given that Afrikaans is relatively easy you will get good results
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 21 Nov. 2014
Bought this for my Fiance to learn a few Afrikaans phrases and he really likes it. I think it is suppose to come with a CD but does not, so he struggles with pronunciation. but overall a very lovely book to lern Afrikaans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough by a long shot!, 18 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this CD along with "Teach yourself ZULU", approximately 45 pounds for the both(Just over i think) Like both CD's, they both came WITHOUT the course book, which is essential and totally PART of the language excercises, without it you CANNOT follow the course. So from the beginning i was stuck, it was HOPELESS WITHOUT the course book. For approximately 22 pounds for each CD(which is far too much), i found that the person who was translating the "Teach yourself Afrikaans" was not even an Afrikaans speaker, but worse than that they were not(as far as i could determine from my previous experience of speaking Afrikaans) even translating the correct meanings from the Afrikaans excercises on the CD. I did not try out the "Teach yourself Zulu" fully yet, but it's obviously by the same company(CD covers are the same) So i assume it will have the same problems, as it also came without a course book. I found the 2 CD's a COMPLETE waste of money and time, a big dissapointment. I also discovered that other language CD's from other well known companies that i won't mention here cost as little as 2 pounds and 49 pence, including delivery! Some even less than 2 pounds! I even tried a couple of these 2 pound AFRIKAANS CD's from other companies and found they had a much larger and more comprehensive collection of vocabulary!
Don't buy these items, they are far too expensive and without the course book you won't learn a thing! The excercises are rushed through very quickly and this CD is not for beginners, you have to have a reasonable level of afrikaans in order to follow the CD, and without the course book you have to guess what is going on. As well as this there are not enough excersises on the CD, it is far too short. For approx. 22 pounds i expected a large selection of afrikaans excersises, but there were very little! A waste of money big time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well written and easily explained, I am well into this and fully ..., 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written and easily explained, I am well into this and fully confident of achieving my goal. Of speaking Afrikaans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Afrikaans Beginner to Intermediate Course: (Book and audio support) Learn to read, write, speak and understand a new language with Teach Yourself (Teach Yourself Language Complete Courses) (Paperback)
arrived swiftly and good simple to understand but comprehensive pack, thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 18 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really brilliant book, downloaded it for my Kindle.

good bite-sized lessons and really found it useful, really progressed my Afrikaans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 24 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a bit hard to follow the book with the cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars send me a link where I can buy this COMPLETE ..., 26 Nov. 2014
send me a link where I can buy this COMPLETE AFRIKAANS BOOK AND CD !!
I do not see any "buy" optiion on this website , only descriptions! neither price! it says "price not available"
Send me your answer to criogen2000@yahoo.com
you guys want to sell it or what???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Aug. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
nil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Complete Afrikaans Beginner to Intermediate Course: (Book and audio support) Learn to read, write, speak and understand a new language with Teach Yourself (Teach Yourself Language Complete Courses)
£39.99
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews