Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly written and accessible- a great introduction to the Middle East
This book is clear and accessible and a fanatstic introduction to the Middle East.

The book is arranged into chronological order, briefly outlining pre-1945 events and the region's imperial history. It assumes no previous knowledge, but is not patronising and goes into lots of detail. The chapters are divided into broad time periods and countries, such as the...
Published on 6 July 2011 by Norbert

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ... it tends to skim over events and is more like a reminder of what has gone on rather than ...
I think background knowledge is required when reading this book as it tends to skim over events and is more like a reminder of what has gone on rather than a book for someone new to the subject.
Published 6 months ago by Shirley Ann Cook


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clearly written and accessible- a great introduction to the Middle East, 6 July 2011
This review is from: Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself (Paperback)
This book is clear and accessible and a fanatstic introduction to the Middle East.

The book is arranged into chronological order, briefly outlining pre-1945 events and the region's imperial history. It assumes no previous knowledge, but is not patronising and goes into lots of detail. The chapters are divided into broad time periods and countries, such as the Gulf War, Six Day War and a whole chapter on Lebanon. In most chapters, the book gives a sort of 'update' about all the countries of the region which is very useful. The book is very up-to-date. Though written before the Arab Spring, it is very useful to understanding the causes of recent uprisings.

It is perhaps impossible for an author to be unbiased on such a controversial issue, but the book is as fair and balanced as it can be. Those supporting Israel would probably say it is biased against them, so it is always worth using the Internet or other books as well to research some of the issues. It is an excellent starting point for readers to do their own research from.

My only minor criticism is the exclusion of the history of Afghanistan from the book. Whilst it may not be technically a part of the Middle East, it is hugely important to the region and I think an extra chapter would be warranted. The book briefly discusses the 2001 intervention, but does not outline the history of Afghanistan that is crucial to understanding that war.

Overall, a fantastic book that I urge everyone to put a small amount of time into understanding this fascinating region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very easy to read!!, 17 Jan. 2012
By 
Huckfead (Ticehurst, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself (Paperback)
For such a complex situation, this book deals concisely and simply with the Middle East, since the early 1900s. For someone like myself who has a rudimetary understanding (or thought I did) of the Middle East this book is great. Written very simply, with end of chapter "main points" simply laid out. I bought this book thinking it would be a long hard read, and probably reread. However the authour is to be applauded in guiding you through such a complex issue with a very easy and concise syle of writing that makes you want to read this book in one go! In conclusion, after stumbling accross this, it is probably, the most valuable book I have read in years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imtiaz A. Kazi, 16 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself (Paperback)
A must read for those who want to read an objective narrative of the longdrawn out drama of our times. The facts, figures and the quotes are excellent alongwith txts of historical documents whereever necessary. Above all, I liked the linguistic style of the writer who has a grip on the flow of apt words at appropriate places. Having read a dozen books on the subject this seemed the best one. Probably because author has served somewhere in the Middle East in academia and observed things from different perspectives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 11 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Well written, informative and easy to read, interesting commentary, includes small sections for quick reading, and a timeline of events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting, 10 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this book made the problems in the middle east made it very easy to understand all the troubles that have been going on .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 21 Sept. 2013
By 
Mr. G. E. Davison "Gareth" (South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased this as I know very little history on the Middle East and with the rescent events in Syria I wanted to a better understanding on this place. It certainly does that from what I can tell from other sources. I found it an easy read and the Kindle edition helped to jump back and forth wherer it suggested.

Well worth the price if you are in my position.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ... it tends to skim over events and is more like a reminder of what has gone on rather than ..., 16 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself (Paperback)
I think background knowledge is required when reading this book as it tends to skim over events and is more like a reminder of what has gone on rather than a book for someone new to the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superbly written easy and accessible reading, 8 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Compelling book, very interesting for whoever want to better understand the middle east challenges, a must read.
Clearly written, accessible without a Phd, and very well thought. Well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book and seller, 9 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Arrived very speedily and in perfect condition. Great service from seller and extremely useful introduction into middle east politics. Would highly recommend both book and seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for basics, 19 Nov. 2014
By 
Steven Clarke (Hannington, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
A dispassionate and fact driven review of the middle east that brings the layman up to speed very well. Sadly, through no fault of the author, it's description of intolerance and hatred on both sides becomes rather repetitive. Hard to deny though that the Palestinians are victims of history who have been cruelly treated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself
Understand the Middle East (since 1945): Teach Yourself by Stewart Ross (Paperback - 27 Aug. 2010)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews