Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read and a great idea for a book
I've read this book from cover to cover and I guarantee you it is a fascinating (and at times almost unbelievable) read. I knew some of the studies covered but not in this detail. It's a great idea for a book. The more you find out about these stories the more you appreciate how amazing human behaviour is. I loved the story of railway worker Phineas Gage who had a 6ft...
Published on 29 Sep 2005

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit basic
Summarized case studies that I had read elsewhere and more interestingly written. If you have read nothing on psychology, it is a good starting point. I would recommend 'Opening Skinner's Box' as a much more interesting alternative.
Published on 10 Jan 2009 by Darren Priest


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read and a great idea for a book, 29 Sep 2005
By A Customer
I've read this book from cover to cover and I guarantee you it is a fascinating (and at times almost unbelievable) read. I knew some of the studies covered but not in this detail. It's a great idea for a book. The more you find out about these stories the more you appreciate how amazing human behaviour is. I loved the story of railway worker Phineas Gage who had a 6ft metal pole blown through his head and lived to tell the tale travelling around carrying the pole for the rest of his life (he was even buried with it!) and the shocking story of David Reimer who due to botched surgery as a child had his penis cut off and was brought up as a girl before once again adopting a male role in his teens. Each chapter in the book deals with a different case study and they are all very interesting. The psychological importance and relevance of each case is also dealt with. I'd certainly recommend this book - you'll enjoy many of the stories and learn more about psychology and human behaviour in an entertaining way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sometimes truth is stranger than fiction..., 20 Feb 2006
Amazing life stories - they're worth reading whether or not you've got an interest in the psychology behind each story. It's really easy to read and I read the book really quickly because each chapter was so gripping. You'll bore your friends by repeating the incredible stories to them - sometimes truth is stranger than fiction. I think there's a potential film in each one of the chapters. Read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic :), 23 May 2009
By 
This book was extremely informative... I expected it would be like a text book that would put me to sleep but it isn't! It describes the first case of OCD, MPD and a whole bunch of other acronyms. Anyone with an interest in Psychology should read this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Case Studies in Psychology (Paperback)
Whether you are a GCSE, A-Level or Degree level person, this book is brilliant and outlines some of the most famous Case Studies of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Classic Case Studies in Psychology (Paperback)
loved reading this, was so hard to put down!

really interesting book, I did psychology in college and this really reignited my passion. Case studies were really in depth and pulled at my heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 6 April 2010
By 
Jen. "J." (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This book was first brought to my attention when Geoff (the author, and the head of Psychology at my old Sixth Form) carried out a General Studies lecture using some of the stories. If any other students here were forced to take GS they know how tedious and awful the lectures can be. So to have a lecture regarding a man getting a pole embedded in their head was welcomed very quickly, especially to a group of 17 year olds.
I then went to the library and loaned the book, and it is filled with stories that will make you squirm a little bit inside! Very interesting and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for exams!, 1 Jun 2009
Fantastic book for the exams- it gives you everything that you need for to be able to critically evaluate classic studies for assignments and exams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit basic, 10 Jan 2009
By 
Darren Priest "Darren" (Longing to be back in Cork) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Summarized case studies that I had read elsewhere and more interestingly written. If you have read nothing on psychology, it is a good starting point. I would recommend 'Opening Skinner's Box' as a much more interesting alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Classic Case Studies in Psychology
Classic Case Studies in Psychology by Geoff Rolls (Paperback - 26 Mar 2010)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews