Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most helpful consciousness textbook for my undergraduate degree
Sue Blackmore's book is an excellent guide for the introduction to consciousness. Consciousness is a great philosophical subject and Blackmore has made it an even more interesting topic. If you are an undergraduate studying consciousness I fully recommend it!
Published on 5 Nov 2010 by Ellie

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Consciousness book
Some things the book explains but I don't like that there is no definition in there, I expected that it would be required but I was wrong. A lot of vague concepts but it has helped me to understand some things. Very expensive and I wouldn't recommend anyone to buy it unfortunately - best to read it in the library or get it second hand
Published 6 months ago by Shanice


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most helpful consciousness textbook for my undergraduate degree, 5 Nov 2010
This review is from: Consciousness: An Introduction (Paperback)
Sue Blackmore's book is an excellent guide for the introduction to consciousness. Consciousness is a great philosophical subject and Blackmore has made it an even more interesting topic. If you are an undergraduate studying consciousness I fully recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ciar O, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consciousness: An Introduction (Paperback)
I bought this book as a companion to a course I was taking but it is a good read for anyone interested in consciousness. Very easy to read, covers the main theories and ideas and simple exercises throughout to aid understanding. Interesting stuff- definately gives you new ways of looking at things and food for thought. Great as both a text book or for general knowledge use. Had to wait about a week for it to arrive but that was still before the expected delivery date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a text book for serious students, therefore it's not an easy read for a layperson, but the subject matter is fascinating. I'd recommend reading 'Zen and the Art of Consciousness' by the same brilliant author first to get an introduction to the subject
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Consciousness made easy, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consciousness: An Introduction (Paperback)
The book is a well categorized and an easy read through. The difficult concepts of consciousness are clearly explained, linked and represented throughout the book; I would advise anyone embarking on consciousness to use this book as a foundation of your knowledge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a brilliant book!, 26 April 2011
This review is from: Consciousness: An Introduction (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant. As someone who has a deep interest in psychology and philosophy, i was drawn very much to this book. It cover ever so much on the topic, easy to understand yet also deeply thought-provoking. AMAZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Consciousness book, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Consciousness: An Introduction (Paperback)
Some things the book explains but I don't like that there is no definition in there, I expected that it would be required but I was wrong. A lot of vague concepts but it has helped me to understand some things. Very expensive and I wouldn't recommend anyone to buy it unfortunately - best to read it in the library or get it second hand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Consciousness: An Introduction
Consciousness: An Introduction by Susan Blackmore (Paperback - 25 Jun 2010)
30.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews