Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Edition of Well's Gaelic Dictionary
This is an excellent updated edition of John Well's Gaelic Dictionary in the Teach Yourself series. After many years when Scots Gaelic scholars and students had to be content with outdated dictionaries, we now have a wide choice of reference works in modern Gaelic. The advantage of this publication, however, is that it both concise and of handy size, so that it can be...
Published on 24 Dec 2010 by Blaran Odhar

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Binding
You are probably better off with the Kindle edition because the book in normal everyday use will not last more than 2 years. The binding is rubbish.
Published 22 months ago by Graham Fyfe


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Edition of Well's Gaelic Dictionary, 24 Dec 2010
By 
Blaran Odhar (Tullamore, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
This is an excellent updated edition of John Well's Gaelic Dictionary in the Teach Yourself series. After many years when Scots Gaelic scholars and students had to be content with outdated dictionaries, we now have a wide choice of reference works in modern Gaelic. The advantage of this publication, however, is that it both concise and of handy size, so that it can be carried in the pocket. It includes such technical terms as "computer", "software" and "hardware", besides all basic vocabulary required in everyday life. The Essential Gaelic Dictionary can be heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT GAELIC DICTIONARY, 2 Jan 2013
By 
J. M. Boyd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Professionally done and very user friendly. Would recommend it for fluent speakers and learners of Scottish Gaelic. Very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It works for me!, 30 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
I bought this dictionary specifically to try to learn how to spell words that I already understood and knew how to pronounce, so there being no pronunciation doesn't matter. I am learning Gaelic with 'Speaking our Language' using BBC iplayer and I am finding having a dictionary very useful already and it only arrived this morning.

If, like me, you are a beginner, you need to understand lenition, as the dictionary gives the unlenited form of words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent dictionary, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Very good all round dictionary. Like all books like this, it is useful to have more than one dictionary by another author as there are some different words or examples given
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Learn Gaelic review, 21 Oct 2013
This review is from: Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Has helped me out no end with helping my 6 yr old do homework from school. Would recommend to parents with children in Gaelic education
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Binding, 22 Sep 2012
By 
Graham Fyfe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
You are probably better off with the Kindle edition because the book in normal everyday use will not last more than 2 years. The binding is rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No pronunciation!, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Gołębnik (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
As any learner of Gaelic knows, the relationship between spelling and pronunciation is unpredictable, and the pronunciation of every word has to be learned. (Foreign learners of English have exactly the same problem.) Therefore a Gaelic-English dictionary which does not show the pronunciation of any Gaelic words is pretty useless.

None of the dictionaries currently on the market, to the best of my knowledge, shows the pronunciation. The authors and publishers had the opportunity, in producing this new edition, to remedy this, but unfortunately they didn't bother. There is no indication of pronunciation whatsoever. That is why I cannot give this new edition more than one star.

On the positive side, the layout is very clear, the plural and genitive forms of nouns are given, and there are a few boxes containing cultural/contextual information. Another negative point, though, is the binding, which is not suitable for a dictionary, as I imagine the spine will quickly become creased and pages might fall out.

Having bought this book for 6.99 from Amazon, I am not complaining too much, as it is marginally better than no dictionary at all, but if I had paid the standard list price of 15.99 I would be absolutely outraged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Essential Gaelic Dictionary, 21 April 2011
This review is from: Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
As an author/illustrator i use books like this often during the writing process for my own work. This one I found partcularly useful to translate specific lines or words into gaelic, a language i have little knowledge of. However, because the book gives no indication of what the actual gaelic sounds like,i had to use other books to know how the words were pronounced. For me thats were this book fall down.

Milky Saves Christmas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gaelic help, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Mrs. Yvonne Smith (Aberfeldy Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was really pleased to be able to get a Gaelic Dictionary for my Kindle , several friends didn't think you would do one, but its good, at least at my basic stage of learning gaelic, a big help thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself
Essential Gaelic Dictionary: Teach Yourself by Ian Macdonald (Paperback - 24 Sep 2010)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews