Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little Gem!
Having decided to learn Russian, i was looking for something really basic to give me a good grounding in the language before buying a pack such as Colloquial Russian which is quite heavy on grammar from the beginning. I bought "Teach Yourself: Read and Write Russian Script" and "Teach Yourself: Getting Started in Russian Book/CD Pack" to get me started.

What i...
Published on 6 Jan 2012 by L. Topping

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Russki
quite easy to follow, gradual intro to letters and alphabet in Russian with simple accompanying exercises. Would recommend if you have very little knowledge of subject.
Published 19 months ago by Andrew Reid


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A little Gem!, 6 Jan 2012
By 
L. Topping (Merseyside, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Having decided to learn Russian, i was looking for something really basic to give me a good grounding in the language before buying a pack such as Colloquial Russian which is quite heavy on grammar from the beginning. I bought "Teach Yourself: Read and Write Russian Script" and "Teach Yourself: Getting Started in Russian Book/CD Pack" to get me started.

What i like about this book is that it doesn't try and get you to learn the whole Russian Alphabet in one go, rather it's split up into 4 chapters and each chapter includes lots of vocab comprising the letters you have just learnt. There are also lots of little exercises so you can practice what you've learnt as you go along. At the end of each chapter there is an end of unit review which summarises what you've learnt in each chapter, tips and some questions to test yourself.
As well as teaching you what the printed script looks like, there's also a few chapters on what the handwritten script looks like which is followed by a few chapters of exercises so you can practice reading and writing the script.

I'm very happy that i made the decision to purchase this book to get me started on my Russian language learning journey. The only negative thing that i could write would be that i bought the book for £11.16 and the book is only a paperback and 159 pages long which although a 5* book, seems a bit expensive but it really is worth it to to get such a good grounding in the language. I do tend to usually buy books that have good reviews and at the time of writing, this book didn't have one, however i made the decision to purchase the book after using the book preview. Take a look and see what you think. Definitely a 5* book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, very instructive, 10 Nov 2014
By 
maximus (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
I received this as a gift (it was on my wish list). The introduction section with the "if you have 5 minutes read this" or "10 minutes, read this" overview to Russian script is excellent. It's one of the best structured books on the subject and the chapter by chapter instruction, and the step by step categorisation of the alphabet and sounds is very helpful. I have learnt more with this in the space of a few readings, than I have done with other much more expensive language aids (audio CDs, software CD-ROMs, etc)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Russki, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
quite easy to follow, gradual intro to letters and alphabet in Russian with simple accompanying exercises. Would recommend if you have very little knowledge of subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Great book. If your looking to learn Russian on a budget then don't bother getting the complete guide this one does just as well on its own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 27 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
The Russian alphabet is quite fascinating, this gives a very good, grounding in the basics, a good understanding. I like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Russian language, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
The book tincluding plenty words and and introduces their perfect script . I'm very satisfield with it THank you very much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars useful and fun, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
This book is excellent for a beginner and written in an engaging, clear style. I found it really helpful, but you'll need to invest a few hours in really getting to grips with the information and learning it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars learn cyrillic, 30 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
just what I was looking for to learn the script. you cant learn Russian without knowing the alphabet which I find is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Teach Yourself has improved!, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Normally, I find the Teach Yourself series of books to be as dry as the Sahara! This one is fun! Working my way through it as best I can. Already familiar with most of the letters though.

What's good is the little boxes with Russian expressions, proverbs and so forth. One I can relate to on a literal level, in that I know it to be true more often than not "The first pancake always comes out like a blob"!; the equivalent of "practice makes perfect".

It is certainly less 'dry' than one I encountered in my local library. if i had to use that one, I'd have thrown in the towel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself
Read and Write Russian Script: Teach Yourself by Daphne West (Paperback - 25 Jun 2010)
£12.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews