Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT WHEN I WAS A CHILD AND LOVE IT STILL
SHORT, SIMPLE INFORMATIVE. A BOOK I STILL GO BACK TO AND I'VE JUST HIT 30. WHETHER YOU ARE NEW TO ISLAM OR LOOKING FOR A REFRESHER, YOU CANNOT GO WRONG WITH THIS BOOK, WHATEVER FORMAT IT IS IN.
Published 5 months ago by MDSSCY

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very superficial, if you have read anything on the subject before, don't bother with this
I had zero knowledge of Islam a couple of weeks back, but then read two random books from the library before this one.

I think this book is so simply written that it's usefulness as an introduction is severely limited. It states in very easy English that something simply IS one way or another in Islam. These statements are only very loosely backed up by...
Published 17 months ago by janwayne69


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED IT WHEN I WAS A CHILD AND LOVE IT STILL, 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
SHORT, SIMPLE INFORMATIVE. A BOOK I STILL GO BACK TO AND I'VE JUST HIT 30. WHETHER YOU ARE NEW TO ISLAM OR LOOKING FOR A REFRESHER, YOU CANNOT GO WRONG WITH THIS BOOK, WHATEVER FORMAT IT IS IN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars easy to read, 25 Nov 2012
By 
M. Houghton "melanie" (east riding of yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam - An Introduction: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
i found this a good book to read for an introduction to islam. easy to pick up and read sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam - An Introduction: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
I can not put this book down. The information contained is perfect for anyone wishing to learn about Islam and it is a wonderful guide for us muslims, who often get misguided by the cultures we live in. This was a gift for my sons friend who is interested in converting but i can not stop reading it myself. Inshallah i will buy another book for my sons friend. I will keep this for future reference when needed. Brilliant, informative, easy read, may Allah (SWA) bless and guide the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book introducing Islam, 4 Sep 2011
This review is from: Islam - An Introduction: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
This is a great book which introduces the religion very well. The writer knows the subject in depth and has a wonderful way of explaining things. The book is well laid out and covers all the bases. An enjoyable and essential read for anyone wanting to learn about Islam or thinking of converting to Islam.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very superficial, if you have read anything on the subject before, don't bother with this, 4 Nov 2012
I had zero knowledge of Islam a couple of weeks back, but then read two random books from the library before this one.

I think this book is so simply written that it's usefulness as an introduction is severely limited. It states in very easy English that something simply IS one way or another in Islam. These statements are only very loosely backed up by references to the big book or scholarly interpretation. I personally was expecting a much more diligent introduction and even from my very limited knowledge have identified a few topics where her statement aren't universally accepted at all (i'm pretty sure the big book never mentions Adams spouses name to be eve?)

In summary, get a more high brow book if you're interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A useful guide for someone new to Islam, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Islam - An Introduction: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
This book explains in detail what is important about Islam, it is a useful guide towards a better understanding of this religion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa8969c00)

This product

Islam - An Introduction: Teach Yourself
Islam - An Introduction: Teach Yourself by Ruqaiyyah Waris Maqsood (Paperback - 28 May 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews