Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn about the underlying causes of the natural disasters that you see reported on the television
I got this book as part of an Open University introductory short course. The book is written in a very clear and easy to read style. Although the author uses correct scientific terminology, all of the words are introduced when they are first used and there is a glossary for when you forget what something means! This book is a brilliant way for the layperson to learn...
Published on 25 Oct 2007 by ajb

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped for
Although informative, this book is rather difficult to read due to it's odd construction. I persevered but had to give up. I'm sure there are other books that read easier for the curious mind.
Published 13 months ago by Dean Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn about the underlying causes of the natural disasters that you see reported on the television, 25 Oct 2007
I got this book as part of an Open University introductory short course. The book is written in a very clear and easy to read style. Although the author uses correct scientific terminology, all of the words are introduced when they are first used and there is a glossary for when you forget what something means! This book is a brilliant way for the layperson to learn something about the causes of natural disasters and how and why they can or cannot be predicted. At 6.99 Teach Yourself Volcanoes, Earthquakes and Tsunamis is an absolute bargain and has given me an understanding of the processes behind the devastation we see on the television news reports.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more than just lava, wobbles and waves!, 25 Oct 2007
This introduction to volcanoes, earthquakes and tsunamis really opened my eyes to how much is involved in each process, and how much they're interrelated. It packs a lot of information into just under 300 pages.
Over half the book's content is on volcanoes, but this does include some science which overlaps with the other topics, eg seismic waves. There are plenty of examples of all 3, and these include a human element, "keeping it real", rather than just a load of cold science.
The glossary was invaluable for reference as I went, and considering the limitations of black & white photos, the illustrations are helpful, and there were plenty of diagrams to explain the various processes. There are some colour plates in the middle of the book too.

As the basis for the OU short course I took, this was an excellent text, but it would also be fascinating reading for anyone with an interest in these phenomena who'd like to learn more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need to know more about volcanoes - this is the book for you!, 14 Nov 2007
By 
Marg E (Abingdon, UK) - See all my reviews
I too got this book as part of an OU course.

It's a comprehensive introduction to the subject of volcanoes, tsunamis and earthquakes with some really meaty chapters describing the events, but written in a style which is clear to understand.

Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I hoped for, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Dean Davies "Dean Davies" (Liverpool, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volcanoes, Earthquakes and Tsunamis: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Although informative, this book is rather difficult to read due to it's odd construction. I persevered but had to give up. I'm sure there are other books that read easier for the curious mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars S186. S104, S276., 1 Nov 2011
This review is from: Volcanoes, Earthquakes and Tsunamis: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
In keeping with most of the reviews, this cheap book, is a must have before, spending real money on the actual course with the OU., which David has had a major input towards.
I would say however, that Davids use of Geological terms, is a bit old money compared to S104 terminology. ie. Constructive plate boundaries, instead of divergent plate boundaries, etc. etc., and types of faulting also, but that is nit picking, compared to the overall content, and well worth reading ahead, as most contributers, have mentioned.

Les. J. second year OU.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An enthralling read, 26 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed reading this book on the kindle - my only wish was for the pictures to have been in colour. A must read for doom sayers everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent intro but formatting on kindle is an issue, 16 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book. Neatly works through all the key topics in a straight forward manner. Uses jargon where need, but explains thoroughly. You need to concentrate though because he says it all only once! I'm flicking back through to remind myself what something is frequently.
My only gripe is nothing to do with the book or author. It's the kindle formatting which is inconsistent. Not all the figures in the text are linked so i'm scratting through pages to look for the relevant diagram and then scratting back to the text. Similarly there are plates referenced and not linked and i haven't even found those yet!
Think i'll stick to paper version for text books in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot put it down, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volcanoes, Earthquakes and Tsunamis: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Not enough hours in the day I really enjoy reading the book and can go into different chapters at will
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Following Teach yourself Geology, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having just read Teach yourself Geology this is a great follow on. There some repetition but I am sure the books were not necessarily written as Book 1 & 2. I would say either book can be read first but I would suggest starting with Geology as it covers a more general view of Geology it meaning and aspects, while this book covers Volcanoes, Earthquakes and Tsunamis possibly the most exciting area of geology.......
Again the author writes in a very easy manor giving full details built up gradually through the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Volcanoes and Stuff, 27 Oct 2011
By 
A. J. Clark (Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Volcanoes, Earthquakes and Tsunamis: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Very good service. The book itself is very interesting and informative but unless you have a technical kind of mind, even though technical terms are simplified and explained well, you will need good periods of quiet to be able to concentrate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Volcanoes, Earthquakes and Tsunamis: Teach Yourself
Volcanoes, Earthquakes and Tsunamis: Teach Yourself by David Rothery (Paperback - 27 Aug 2010)
9.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews