Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars16
3.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2012
The book seems very good but the add gives the impression that a CD is included: it is not. for the book to be of any real benefit you will have to buy the associated CD.Teach Yourself Complete Welsh
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2011
I have done Welsh before but still found this product hard to get on with. it didn't follow the book exactly and was very easy to lose where you were. The cd was too fast and did not alow enough time for responce. Compared to other teach yourself courses it's not easiest.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2013
The idea of a language course with text and audio both conveniently accessible on the Kindle seemed like one of those "how logical - why has no one done this before" ideas. Unfortunately, despite being fully updated, the sound files were not compatible with my Kindle, or my wife's. I even tried a the Kindle app on a tablet - still no joy.
The book is great and would deserve 4 if not 5 stars, but the "value added" of the integrated sound files didn't work for us. Maybe it will in time; until then, caveat emptor, and thank goodness Amazon makes refunds so painless.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2011
Perhaps, if the author was more realistic-about what BEGINNERS DID NOT KNOW, it would be a good book. But she is not. The recording goes like that: IfyoualreadykwnowWelshfineotherwiseforgetit.
The speed is much too fast, the book assumes that the reader already knows some basic Welsh-I did not, and could not understand even unit one.
Total waste of money in my opinion.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
This is a really good book if you already have some knowledge and have linguistic tendencies and skills. My husband does and it suited him down to the ground - however, if like me you want an 'easy reader' learner then I'd suggest you could struggle.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2011
When i bought this book i did not realise it was meant to come with a CD. Therefore you need the CD in order to understand how to pronounce the words.

Its quite in depth but not overwhelming and it has a repetitive system so each chapter is organised in the same way, with a bit about speaking and reading (and listening if you have the CD).

It has a dictionary in the back one from English to Welsh and one Welsh to English which is handy.

There are a few references in the book to the CD so i would just make sure if you get the book-get the CD to go with it.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
This is a good book for learning to read and write Welsh - it's thorough and the explanations are clear. But it's not at all suitable for learning to speak or listen, despite what it says on the cover - there's no guidance on pronunciation, apart from two pages in the introduction and whatever words happen to be included in the recorded dialogues, and the dialogues and listening exercises are far too fast, and often far too complicated, for a learner to follow without help (try Lesson 12 Dialogue 3 and then tell me I'm wrong!). Do a beginner's speaking and listening course first (such as the wonderful online Say Something In Welsh or an evening class) and then use this book to work on your reading and writing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
This is a really useful publication that is greatly helping my reading. However, a little more help with pronunciation would not have come amiss.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Excellent book. I've learned more from this book than I did in all my years of Welsh lessons back in my school days. You will need to buy the CD separately. I also used the Teach Yourself Welsh Grammar book alongside it, which I found very useful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Very good, accompanies basic certificate in Welsh well
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)