Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content, but format is a problem for ebook for non-Kindle tablets
In response to this: "Complete Cantonese: Teach Yourself Audio Ebook (Kindle Enhanced Edition) (Teach Yourself Audio Ebooks) [Kindle Edition With Audio/Video]"

Although some of the negative comments you found below - they just didn't understand how to use this book effectively (so don't be put off by their ratings. In fact, this is the best way to learn...
Published 11 months ago by DCLL

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for beginners
i bought this book because i'm going to hong kong this summer to visit relatives and having terrible cantonese i thought i'd brush up. the cd is very helpful to get the pronounciation right and the use of the pronounciation is consistent which helps - though the accent is nothing like i've heard in the new territories! its a shame there isn't much material out there to...
Published on 1 Feb 2011 by jt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for beginners, 1 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teach Yourself Complete Cantonese (Book/CD Pack) (Paperback)
i bought this book because i'm going to hong kong this summer to visit relatives and having terrible cantonese i thought i'd brush up. the cd is very helpful to get the pronounciation right and the use of the pronounciation is consistent which helps - though the accent is nothing like i've heard in the new territories! its a shame there isn't much material out there to push your cantonese further. i'd recommend this to beginners whilst speaking with a cantonese speaker or in classes as it is very good as a boost to what you have learnt elsewhere, but might be a bit unstructured in places to use on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT FOR BEGINNERS, 7 Nov 2003
By A Customer
Beware. This pack is NOT for beginners. You are launched into the deep end far too quickly and you are expected to remember how to ask if someone sells cars before you can even ask for a drink...I think the main flaw is that it's intended for business use, and this is not clearly stated.
The tape is low quality, with background noise and breaks in sound quality. There may be nothing else on the market for Cantonese, but have a good look before buying this pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content, but format is a problem for ebook for non-Kindle tablets, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In response to this: "Complete Cantonese: Teach Yourself Audio Ebook (Kindle Enhanced Edition) (Teach Yourself Audio Ebooks) [Kindle Edition With Audio/Video]"

Although some of the negative comments you found below - they just didn't understand how to use this book effectively (so don't be put off by their ratings. In fact, this is the best way to learn Cantonese (especially, unlike many Cantonese books I came across lacked Cantonese characters). However, nowadays, some people like me would love to have this as an ebook with audio incorporated in them to learn this language on the go (and with privacy). But there's a problem... I own a tablet other than Kindle tabs with a format that's incompatible with my tablet device - so therefore I can't play the audio as I read the dialogue in the book. Also, there's another disappointing thing I found when I was trying to read the Chinese characters is that, it's not in it's TEXT format!!! So the Chinese characters written here are entirely in IMAGE format for which you CAN NOT EXPAND/ZOOM it like as you can with English characters! Even if you expand/zoom that image you select - it's blurry!

Amazon, stop being lazy and fix these issues as I've described above!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable standard, 27 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cantonese (TYL) (Paperback)
A relatively simple book which will cover some basic language structures and every day pharses. However romanisation of chinese words is not very good. Does not sound anything like the real thing. Book forms a foundation for learning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's good if you have someone who can speak Cantonese., 9 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cantonese (TYL) (Paperback)
The book is a good starter kit for anyone who would like to learn Cantonese. It builds up the vocabulary gradually and explains the sentence structure and grammar well. However some of the sentences are not useful in every-day situation. The book can be accompanied by cassette tapes and I fully recommend that. The pronunciation provided by the book can be misleading. It is necessary to listen to how the words are pronunced. I find certain words sound different when pronunced according to the book and from a friend who can speak Cantonese fluently. The first few chapters can be quite hard to get through as the materials are difficult. However once a certain amount of vocabulary is built up it is easier to continue to the later chapters. Overall the book is worth buying as long as you don't solely depend on it to learn Cantonese.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok if you have a native tutor to help, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: Teach Yourself Complete Cantonese (Book/CD Pack) (Paperback)
This book is only a good foundation if you have a native speaking friend to help with pronunciation. The book spells words phonetically, but unfortunately this is often quite different to the way the words actually sound when spoken aloud. It is a good starting point to help you through the basics of learning a language, but I found it more a base on which to build with a Cantonese speaking friend, rather than something that could enable you to master a language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 16 April 2010
By 
D. Wyrzykowski (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fast delivery and accurate description from seller. Good book, according to my Cantoneese friend. I've started reading and I like it. Only thing. The way they describe and mark tones is not so stright forward for me. Had to use chart from other source but that may be personal impression. Also text in the book has no tone markings so you'll go nowhere without cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teach Yourself Complete Cantonese (Book/CD Pack)
Teach Yourself Complete Cantonese (Book/CD Pack) by Pui-Kei Ho (Paperback - 26 Nov 2010)
£54.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews