Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Kindle Oasis

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars23
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2011
I've read some abominations on this subject but thankfully this book contains a plethora of relevant and easily understood information presented in a very effective layout.

"Happiness is pig-shaped" is a well used phrase by the author Tony York and his genuine affection for his animals abounds from every page, with plenty of anecdotes from over forty years of pig keeping and dashes of humour throughout this man shares his encyclopedic knowledge of pigs in a frank and honest and altogether non preachy manner.

So what do we get for our money? After a brief introduction exploring why we want to keep a pig in the first place we swiftly move on to the law, encompassing movement licences, herd numbers and registration. Fencing, housing, breed varieties and the all important cost factor are explored in depth. Feeding, breeding and an invaluable section on pig health are next, followed by a self explanatory section entitled "Meat for the freezer". The book is rounded out by a chapter on sales and marketing if that path appeals to you and ends with a who's who in the pig world.

I found this book invaluable and engrossing and will certainly go a long way towards getting you started in the world of pig keeping. Oinking brilliant......Hats off to Tony York!!
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2012
This book has been so well written, it is a good read for anyone whether venturing into pig keeping or not. The author gives practical advice and guidance which you should read and follow before keeping pigs. The author clearly has a love and passion for pigs which spell bounds the reader from page 1. The content is useful in providing practical information, it provides the reader with essential knowledge and a base from which to begin. I bought this book along with another before keeping pigs. This has been excellent reference and I refer to it for peace of mind and reassurance. A great book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
Have brought a couple of books on pigs as this year going to have a couple.
It is true don't judge a book by it's cover - the other book I brought had a lovely cover and happily read that first - came to this one and it is far better - lots of information and very practical.
Will be put into use this year!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
this book does exactly what it says on the cover "covers all aspects of pig keeping". it is a fantastic book for the beginner. i could not put it down, i just wanted to keep on reading. easy to read, well laid out, very informative, up to date and an excellent read.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2012
This book was very thorough about pig keeping. The author treats his pigs as his friends, and places a great deal of care and detail into there management. But pig keeping seems to have very tight profit margins and is not designed as a business book.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2010
Loads of useful information which has made my transition from 'thinking about keeping pigs' to actually keeping pigs for real!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2015
If you are interested in pigs this book is definitely worth reading. It does not matter if you are just curious about pigs, are considering getting pigs as pets or as a smallholder or are a professional pigfarmer. For the beginners it essential reading and for the more experienced or indded the professionals its an excellent referencebook. Great value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
Very good starter: gives you a good sense of the rewards as well as the basic principles/considerations when embarking on a pig-keeping journey. Not an in-depth technical guide filled with commercial topics but instead an excellent primer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2013
Bought this as I was on a trip with National Trust/Tyntesfield to see how pigs were kept at another property. Read it on the way, the ten minute info was invaluable....I was able to sound knolwledgeable by the time I got there!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2013
Thoroughly good read and excellent advice. I'm coming to pig keeping afresh so this was a must buy. Great explanations delivered with much humour. I like it on many levels.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)