Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still using this book after 15 years!
I first experienced this book when I was studying for an RSA in book-keeping back in 1993. Having recently changed jobs and gone back into the 'finance' world I have found it invaluable to refresh my memory and skills. Especially as the place I'm now working at hasn't yet joined the 21st century and gone computerised!
Simple, easy to follow instructions that can be...
Published on 22 Oct 2008 by Weremadog

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners
As a self-studying accounting student, this book does not provide adequate information or the level of detail required to get up to speed on your own. I am a third way through the book and I am beginning to doubt its usefulness to me; not enough explanations and worked examples to aid you in progressing on your own. It is probably better as a refresher for someone already...
Published 11 months ago by Xavii


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still using this book after 15 years!, 22 Oct 2008
By 
I first experienced this book when I was studying for an RSA in book-keeping back in 1993. Having recently changed jobs and gone back into the 'finance' world I have found it invaluable to refresh my memory and skills. Especially as the place I'm now working at hasn't yet joined the 21st century and gone computerised!
Simple, easy to follow instructions that can be quickly translated into any working environment and this copy is mine and has been jealously guarded for 15 years!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
If your just starting out in accounting this is a great book.
for my first year in accounting this book came in very handy.
it brakes down all major areas of accounting with examples. it also gives definitions for all accounting jargon used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not for beginners, 6 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a self-studying accounting student, this book does not provide adequate information or the level of detail required to get up to speed on your own. I am a third way through the book and I am beginning to doubt its usefulness to me; not enough explanations and worked examples to aid you in progressing on your own. It is probably better as a refresher for someone already in their intermediate/advanced stages of study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars VERY BASIC, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
This book is not for beginners, I agree with others that this book is a good refresher for an intermediate accounting student/professional. However the examples and question are not informative for example the answers given show you the end figure but it does not explain how it got to that figure, which can be very overcoming for someone who needs to understand how these figures are reached especially someone teaching themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Book is interesting and helpful . I have have recommend it to at least 5 friends in my school. Good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really useful learning aid but very generic, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
I would not recommend this book as a sole source of information alone. Although it goes into a lot of detail with the worked examples it does assume you know a little about the type of terminology used in accounting; definitions given are quite generic, i.e. they give you examples rather than actually explaining what the words mean.

However, if you are very comfortable working at a slow pace, like me, and you are willing to put in a little bit of outside research then this book is fantastic.

The best features are the worked examples and the little 'test yourself' sections at the end of each chapter.

Overall, a very good book that I would recommend but would also pointout that it is not to be used on its own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab!, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Really useful book that has helped me get through my coursework for accountancy. If you're planning on doing a course i'd recommend you purchase this first and make sure you know what you're in for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Basic Accounting, 2 Nov 2011
This review is from: Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
Basic book at a basic price basically the basics for accounting, but if your reading this in year 3 then your probably on the wrong course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not that basic, 16 Jun 2011
This review is from: Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself (Paperback)
For someone looking for a guide on accounting without any prior knowledge of the subject, I was quickly swamped in thinly explained information and terminology. No doubt an excellent reference for those who have been taught accounting but by no means 'Teach Yourself'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself
Basic Accounting: Teach Yourself by Andrew Lymer (Paperback - 30 April 2010)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews