Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scarily good read.
Cornelia Funke is one of my favourite international children's authors...EVER! I have yet to read a book by this author that I haven't loved and Ghost Knight will sat happily on my book shelf next to the author's other books which I have loved.
This book is an excellent ghost story written for the 9 to 12 age bracket, set in the stunning surroundings of Salisbury;...
Published 21 months ago by Serendipity Reviews

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good transition book
To start with the practical aspects, the book is just over 300 pages, but the text is quite large. The chapters average at around 10 pages, and there are line drawings at various places throughout. There is some threat from the ghosts, but it's not particularly scary or gory. I would expect this to be a good transition book, for those moving from illustrated children's...
Published 18 months ago by Michelle Moore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A scarily good read., 19 Oct 2012
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Hardcover)
Cornelia Funke is one of my favourite international children's authors...EVER! I have yet to read a book by this author that I haven't loved and Ghost Knight will sat happily on my book shelf next to the author's other books which I have loved.
This book is an excellent ghost story written for the 9 to 12 age bracket, set in the stunning surroundings of Salisbury; inspired after a visit to Salisbury Cathedral on a book tour. Considering that Cornelia does not live in England, her writing portrays the characters and the setting in such a way that you would think she had lived here for years. I am amazed by her talent as she seems to be the first international author to truly be able to recreate life in England within her stories.
The book is extremely well written, completely engaging and I was totally absorbed from beginning to end. It reminded me of the classic ghost stories I read as a child, such as The Children of Green Knowe and Moondial.
The main character Jon, is sent to boarding school and you instantly think of Harry Potter. Yet this boarding school is a little more realistic in appearance, yet it is filled with some rather gruesome ghosts rather than magic. The ghosts within the story are pretty scary, so I wouldn't recommend for the younger children, but definitely an ideal book for the 11 to 12 year olds as long as they don't frighten to easily. Jon's friend, Ella was based on a real person who is really sassy and stands no nonsense from anyone. She was definitely my favourite character within the story.
The author brings to life historical figures and I loved the way the plot centred around them, offering a little bit of history disguised in a thrilling tale. It made me desperate to explore Salisbury, especially Stonehenge and the Cathedral. The UK is filled to the brim with ghost stories that need to be told, so I am so pleased to find one as wonderful as this.
The illustrations in the book are stunning and helped to bring the story alive. I really would like to see more 9 to 12 books with illustrations, even in older books, the odd picture would be nice.
This is an ideal winter read for those cold, snowy nights - an excellent Christmas present for the older spookily enchanted child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A ghost story which will appeal to both boys and girls, 1 Nov 2012
By 
Brida "izumi" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Cornelia Funke is one of my favourite children's authors. INKHEART, especially, is one of my favourite series. GHOST KNIGHT is a very successful ghost story, one which I think would appeal to both boys and girls. It follows the story of Jon Whitcroft, an eleven year old boy who is beginning his time at a new boarding school in Salisbury. Not long after he arrives there, he sees a group of ghosts; ghosts who seem to be after him. With his new friend, Ella, Jon discovers that he is going to have to call on another ghost to see if he will help him.

That is a very brief synopsis of the plot. There are a few twists and turns along the way and the beautiful line drawings help to bring the story to life. The plot will also appeal to both boys and girls - for the boys, there is betrayal, fighting and knights fulfilling oaths; for the girls, there is the savy Ella, friendship and a little romance. And, of course, most kids like a good ghost story.

GHOST KNIGHT is a very charming tale. The setting is just perfect, showing how history is still relevant today. As the reviewer before me said, this tale has certainly made me want to go and explore the cathedral for myself.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good transition book, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Michelle Moore (Dartford, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
To start with the practical aspects, the book is just over 300 pages, but the text is quite large. The chapters average at around 10 pages, and there are line drawings at various places throughout. There is some threat from the ghosts, but it's not particularly scary or gory. I would expect this to be a good transition book, for those moving from illustrated children's books, to longer, more grown up books. It has enough to appeal to some older readers, but it does have a more childish feel to it than some others I've read.

The story is about Jon, who's sent off to boarding school, something he blames on his mum's boyfriend. Once there, he immediately starts to have problems with ghosts who wish him harm, and that turns out to be because of his family history.

Jon meets Ella, a fellow pupil, who has a good knowledge of the area and of the ghosts, and with the help of her gran, she starts to help him.

The history aspects are good, and I like the implication that ghosts aren't always cute floaty characters, but can actually cause harm. It certainly has it's place, but for me, it didn't quite work as well as it should, and I do prefer Cornelia's Funke's writing for older ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghastly Ghosts, 30 Dec 2012
By 
D. Elliott (Ulverston, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Most children are attracted to ghost stories even if it means scaring themselves. There is often an attitude of the more ghastly the better - and in `Ghost Knight' the ghosts certainly have the capacity to shock and frighten as they intimidate, threaten and attempt to cause harm to the 2 main protagonists - 11 year old schoolboy and schoolgirl, Jon Whitcroft and Ella Littlejohn. Jon is a descendent of the Hartgills murdered in the 16th century, and Ella is linked to Ela the wife of the principal ghost from the 12th/13th century! The relationship between Jon and Ella is credibly constructed and readers will readily empathise. If their ages suggest a target readership of 10-12 years I concur - but beware the ghosts are quite spine chilling and blood curdling.

In a spirit (no pun intended) of educating through entertaining the settings are real locations in Salisbury and surroundings of cathedral, school and other places, and the ghost personae are based on real historic figures. A useful `Glossary' defines key words and presents factual detail on English royalty, associated individuals, Druids etc. and on events such as Crusades, signing of Magna Carta etc. Author Cornelia Funke also includes a `Note' explaining how she got the idea for `Ghost Knight' together with an insight to her research. However one of the most appealing features is the incorporation of delightful yet sometimes disturbing black & white illustrations. These are magnificent and lift what is a probably a good 4-star story to a well deserved 5-star publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghostly Charm, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Book Gannet (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
When Jon Whitcroft was sent away to boarding school he knew exactly who to blame: the Beard, his mother's new boyfriend. If it wasn't for him, Jon's mother would never have thought of sending him away to Salisbury, even if it was Jon's father's old school.

But it doesn't take Jon long to realise that the Beard and school are the least of his worries. Not when there's a sinister gang of ghosts out to get him! If only there was another ghost, a good one, that he could call on for help...

I loved ghost stories when I was younger, I knew loads and had a great time scaring all my friends with them. As such I found Stourton and his gang a bit dull. Oh, they had a good entrance, but I don't think I would have found reading about them all that scary, even at ten. For me they were a bit too stupid to be truly menacing. Longspee was interesting though, and Aleister was convincingly snotty.

Jon was an all right main character, though a bit whiny at times, while Ella was great. There's also a nice feeling of age and history, with real places (Salisbury cathedral, the school, Stonehenge) and real people (Longspee, Stourton, Ela). I did think the peril ended surprisingly early, though, leaving just the quest to trickle out towards the fairly ordinary ending. Because of that it was a little difficult to maintain my interest all the way through, though the pictures should help keep the attention of slower readers.

Written in a nice, easy style - which confident readers might find too easy at times - history and ghost fans should enjoy this. It's quite charming, but I felt it lacked the originality and imagination that Funke usually creates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ghosts of Salisbury, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Renowned children's writer Cornelia Funke draws on her experiences of a trip to Wiltshire to bring us a classic British ghost story.

This novel runs for three hundred and thirty pages and is divided into twenty one chapters. The print is quite large and there are a lot of illustrations.

It's the tale of Jon Whitcroft, who narrates things in the first person. As he recounts events that happened to him years before. When his mother got a new boyfriend whom everyone liked but him. And his resulting antagonism lead to him being packed off to boarding school in Salisbury.

Where he finds ghosts. Who want to kill him. Because of his family history. His only ally is Ella, a smart girl of the same as him. And the ghost of a knight. Who has things to atone for.

Can all concerned find the answers and happiness that they are looking for?

Ideal reading age for this would probably be nine years and up. But it is good enough to be enjoyed by older readers also. And good it certainly is. The large print and the illustrations mean this shouldn't be too daunting a read for anyone who doesn't make a habit of it. And the prose is so clear and involving that it rapidly grabs your attention.

The writer has clearly done their research - as has the artist - as the setting is absolutely spot on. A lot of the history it deals with is real, and the story is involving enough to make you want to know more about such things. A glossary of terms at the back will help with that.

It does follow a well worn path in having characters learn life lessons and become different people by the end of the story. But they are sympathetic characters so that's a very pleasing outcome.

A great setting and characters. Excellent plotting and detail. Superb illustrations. It all adds up to an excellent read. Whether you are nine or older. A very good piece of writing and well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ghost Knight, 21 Nov 2012
By 
A. Lucas "bookworm" (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
A great adventure book for boys or girls. I think it is suitable for older children - or those not too nervous - as there are lots of references to scary ghosts .... but an interesting book, with great main characters, who really do make the reader smile at times, when they bicker with each other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting book, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Paperback)
Fantastic book. This got a my teenage boys interested in reading and as I like near to salisbury where it is set it great to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book for intermediate readers, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Paperback)
Product arrive on time and in very good conditions. I had bought for a present, but probably I will buy another one for me in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 26 Feb 2013
By 
V. Kidd "Viki" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ghost Knight (Hardcover)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My eleven year old daughter took this book to school to read for her English class. She said it was a good story, it took her a while to get through it so it obviously wasn't one of her favourites, but she seemed to enjoy it enough to read it to the end. She has read quite a few of Cornelian Funke's books, but usually the ones for younger readers which she really enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghost Knight
Ghost Knight by Cornelia Funke (Paperback - 8 Nov 2012)
Used & New from: 50.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews