Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lively in content and illustration; bound to appeal to a wide range of children
What I like most about this is that it covers the Queen's whole lifetime (and a little family history too), yet still manages in pack in all sorts of quirky facts. This is the secret of Brassey's appeal for children, and also means that the book presents the Queen as an individual, whilst also conveying something of her responsibilities. Crucially, it is also a very...
Published on 6 May 2012 by Mrs. B. S. Kemp

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing content
Not as I expected so disappointed. I thought there would be more of a simple history for kids but it is just odd details and pictures..
Published 18 months ago by Mrs L


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lively in content and illustration; bound to appeal to a wide range of children, 6 May 2012
By 
Mrs. B. S. Kemp "Beth Kemp" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
What I like most about this is that it covers the Queen's whole lifetime (and a little family history too), yet still manages in pack in all sorts of quirky facts. This is the secret of Brassey's appeal for children, and also means that the book presents the Queen as an individual, whilst also conveying something of her responsibilities. Crucially, it is also a very respectful presentation, without being sober and dull.

Children will learn some aspects of the Queen's life that they are perhaps less likely to encounter elsewhere. Brassey has taken a chronological approach and provided quite a bit of information about her childhood and young adulthood before she became Queen. For example, it's a small thing, but my youngest (8) hadn't connected WWII as being in living memory, but learning how the young Princess Elizabeth had been in the Women's Army and learned to change truck tyres really brought that home for her. This is the kind of thing children often struggle with, in learning about history - putting it all together. This book does a great job of contextualising the Queen's lifetime and her reign without feeling particularly instructive. While it clearly is a non-fiction book, it's the sort of book that kids would pick up out of interest, learn from and enjoy. The quirky yet realistic illustrations (people are easily identifiable) add to the book's appeal and to its ability to provide interesting information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for the little ones!, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
Bought for my granddaughter as a memento of the Queens Golden Jubilee. Such a lovely book with good illustrations that are also amusing and a great introduction to our Royal Family for small children everywhere!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful illustrations. Informative, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
Ideal for children who are interested in knowing more about the Queen and her family. Beautiful illustrations. Informative, interesting, amusing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 30 Mar 2013
By 
krerof (Burgess Hill, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
I bought this book for my 5 yo as an introduction to the royal family, really good book, contains main facts, sets family relationships in the family, I learned some new bits myself! Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Queen, 14 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
I thought it would be a interesting way to learn about the queen. Children saw as more factual than enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing content, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
Not as I expected so disappointed. I thought there would be more of a simple history for kids but it is just odd details and pictures..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent book, 4 Sep 2012
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
As always, Richard Brassey made a beautiful book for the Queen Diamond Jubilee.
His drawings are wonderful and he had this particularity of making the Queen nice and funny!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angela, 25 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
A great insight to the Queen's life. I bought these books as a memento of the Queens Diamond Jubilee for Rainbow Guides aged 5-7. They loved them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, 16 July 2012
By 
S. Childs (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
I bought this for my 2 yr old as a jubilee prezzy, the pictures are good but the book is for an older child, lots of info. Maybe for 5 yr old? I learned lots though, a lovely book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Queen (Paperback)
Both children and adults enjoyed this book. You should pay me commission AS EVERYONE WHO SAW IT WANTED TO BUY ONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Queen
The Queen by Richard Brassey (Paperback - 5 April 2012)
4.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews