Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2012
For such a thin book this book is packed with fascinating facts! Great illustrations & easy to read for all ages
- a really interesting book!
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2012
Published a year ago, this is the ideal choice for youngsters who developed an interest in the Games this summer.

The book comes in a 32-page picture book format, and you could imagine that a Story of the Olympics could be quite dense, trying to pack centuries of history into 13 spreads. You'd be quite wrong, however, and the book's strength lies in its selective approach, offering details while accepting that it doesn't need to cover everything that could possibly be known about the Olympics. Typically for Richard Brassey, there is a surprising amount of information on offer here using the minimum amount of text possible, together with quirky illustrations. Brassey has a real talent for selecting the facts most likely to appeal to his child readers, and illustrating them with delightfully realistic comic strip images.

There are spreads on particular aspects of the Olympics - Ancient Games, the marathon, women, politics - and snippets about each of the Modern Games, often homing in on particular athletes. The book closes with information about the London Games and 2016's Games in Rio de Janeiro.

I would recommend this for quite a wide age range. The material is intrinsically interesting (and very well-selected), and presented in a way that would not patronise or exclude older readers. I can see beginner readers enjoying this with an adult and children into secondary school still enjoying it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
very informaive, probably for a primary school child rather than nursery which was my intention. Lovely illistrations and lots of useful facts
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
My son received this book for his seventh birthday and thinks it's great. There are lots of interesting facts and it is presented in a cartoon like manner which really appeals to him. A good buy!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2012
great product, compliments the other items i have bought ref Olympics, very informative - kids loved it.I would really recommend to others.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2015
Over The Moon with this item since it is of excellent quality and of very good value...has a lot of meaning since it is of my beloved Olympics. TOP SELLER!!! I am an avid collector of Olympics items so will treasure this item...Buy with confidence...Highly recommended THX :-D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
I'm a primary teacher so I took this book into school. My kids loved it as it gave all sorts of info about the Olympics over the years. Lots of quirky and funny facts too. Easy to dip in and out of and interesting for everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2013
full of really interesting facts and information. used it in school around the time of the Olympics last year and the children still enjoy exploring it. well set out and good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
I bought this for my 3 grandsons, all of whom went with us to the London Olympics. They loved it, quirky and full of humour as well as lots of interesting facts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
A great book to read and look at for children. It contains many facts about the Olympics that the children enjoy finding out in the fun way it has been set out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse