Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 30 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
For such a thin book this book is packed with fascinating facts! Great illustrations & easy to read for all ages
- a really interesting book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars olympic, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
very informaive, probably for a primary school child rather than nursery which was my intention. Lovely illistrations and lots of useful facts
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colourful, fun account of the Games through history, 14 Oct 2012
By 
Mrs. B. S. Kemp "Beth Kemp" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
Published a year ago, this is the ideal choice for youngsters who developed an interest in the Games this summer.

The book comes in a 32-page picture book format, and you could imagine that a Story of the Olympics could be quite dense, trying to pack centuries of history into 13 spreads. You'd be quite wrong, however, and the book's strength lies in its selective approach, offering details while accepting that it doesn't need to cover everything that could possibly be known about the Olympics. Typically for Richard Brassey, there is a surprising amount of information on offer here using the minimum amount of text possible, together with quirky illustrations. Brassey has a real talent for selecting the facts most likely to appeal to his child readers, and illustrating them with delightfully realistic comic strip images.

There are spreads on particular aspects of the Olympics - Ancient Games, the marathon, women, politics - and snippets about each of the Modern Games, often homing in on particular athletes. The book closes with information about the London Games and 2016's Games in Rio de Janeiro.

I would recommend this for quite a wide age range. The material is intrinsically interesting (and very well-selected), and presented in a way that would not patronise or exclude older readers. I can see beginner readers enjoying this with an adult and children into secondary school still enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 20 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
My son received this book for his seventh birthday and thinks it's great. There are lots of interesting facts and it is presented in a cartoon like manner which really appeals to him. A good buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars book, 8 Jun 2012
By 
G. Garrill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
great product, compliments the other items i have bought ref Olympics, very informative - kids loved it.I would really recommend to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 14 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
full of really interesting facts and information. used it in school around the time of the Olympics last year and the children still enjoy exploring it. well set out and good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Story of the Olympics, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
I bought this for my 3 grandsons, all of whom went with us to the London Olympics. They loved it, quirky and full of humour as well as lots of interesting facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 11 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
Bought for 7yr old - enjoyed over and again by him and his younger brother too! Nice to buy something fun and interesting and current!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this for my son but even I loved reading it, 18 Sep 2012
By 
Gladys "glad_uk" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
My son 7 got it from the library and enjoyed it so much, i bought it for a summer 2012 momento for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Topical British, 7 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Story of the Olympics (Paperback)
Again, hugely appreciated pressie by a young man aged 8 yrs from the USA and which went with the Union Jack pen set just reviewed by Aunty Jill !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Story of the Olympics
The Story of the Olympics by Richard Brassey (Paperback - 1 Sep 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews