Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1
The Spiderwick Chronicles is a great series of five fantasy adventures featuring three normal kids, Jared, Simon and Mallory Grace and their adventures with all sorts of different creatures including elves, goblins, trolls, brownies and ogres. I thought this was a brilliant book and have now read the whole series. I am looking forward to more books coming out soon!
Published on 25 May 2005 by penny5680

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Field Guide
If you like short snappy book's with big writing then this is totally for you, it is good but feel's as if it's only one chapter of a book rather than the whole of one book. It's not really worth the price either but is good if you want to read something easy. I have read three of the series and I have quite enjoyed them. The book is all about Friendship, Adventure and...
Published 13 months ago by Anna


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spiderwick Chronicles, book 1, 25 May 2005
The Spiderwick Chronicles is a great series of five fantasy adventures featuring three normal kids, Jared, Simon and Mallory Grace and their adventures with all sorts of different creatures including elves, goblins, trolls, brownies and ogres. I thought this was a brilliant book and have now read the whole series. I am looking forward to more books coming out soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For growing imaginations, 29 Oct 2004
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This first book of The Spiderwick Chronicles introduces young readers to the world of fantasy in a fun and easy to read format. It is written in simple language, and is short enough and exciting enough to hold the attention of even the most restless reader.
The three main characters are the children of the Grace family, Jared, Simon and Mallory, who move into a dilapidated mansion, and stumble upon a world of magical folk.
With the aid of the Field Guide of the title, which Jared discovers after solving a riddle he finds in a secret room, they begin their adventures in the faerie world, realizing that they have just glimpsed the tip of the fantasy iceberg.
Though not a challenging read for older folk, this book provides good groundwork for future forays into the world of Narnia, Lemony Snicket and Artemis Fowl, though not necessarily in that order.
Magically lure your 6 to 10 year olds into the world of fantasy - get them The Spiderwick Chronicles today.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 1st book, 17 Aug 2003
This is the first book of the series. It is a really good book. I thought the book would be a bit like A Series of Unfortunate Events but it was completely different. It is about three childen who have just moved to a new house only to find it is filled with Fairies and other Mythical creatures. It is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read, 18 Nov 2003
By 
UltŠn (Belfast, N.Ireland) - See all my reviews
This is the first book in the adventures of the Grace children. In it Jared finds the Field Guide, a book about magical creatures, but even once he has read it he still does not realise how dangerous it is. It is a very exciting book for young people to read and I just could not put it down once I started reading it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book 1., 2 Nov 2006
I am 8 years old I really liked this book and I thought it was fantastic because there were goblins and

faeries .

I am very sad that I have finished it and mummy hasn't got the next book yet.

Lorenzo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Field Giude (Spiderwick Chronicles), 17 Jan 2005
By 
Mrs C J Fishlock (Clacton on Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
My seven year old son read this book and enjoyed every single word of it. He was so excited about what happened next we had to buy the next book immediately. I was intriqued so I read it too, and I could see why he enjoyed it so much. Although it is fantasy the children seem real in the way that they talk to one another. The characters are great and the drawings really help to bring it alive. Excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutelly very good, 12 July 2005
By 
Elena (Russia, Moscow) - See all my reviews
it's strange becouse i thought that all great children authors had lived somewhen in long past. But i was wrong and i have realised it when i bought this book. it's 5 little stories about children and a fairy world, very well written , the author is able to speak with children on their own language. the story is symple but not ordinary, interesting and u never know the ending.
i absolutelly recommemd this book, it reminds chronicle of narnia or alice in wonderland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful - Like a book from a Bygone Era, 19 July 2004
By 
Chrestomanci (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
The Spiderwick Chronicles are the most charming little books imaginable. There is something almost Victorian about the quality of their presentation. Beautifully designed covers, outstanding illustrations and a watercolour frontispiece piece all help conjure an aura of days gone by, when faeries were the standard reading matter for the young.
The writing has a clarity that will suit young readers whilst not being overly simple for slightly older readers. The vocabulary is good, but not off-putting for those still feeling their way through books alone. Pages are small - less than half the amount of words per page found in a standard children's book, enabling younger readers to really feel that they're progressing.
Each book is divided into 7 chapters - making it ideal for a week of bedtime stories. Furthermore, what really makes these little books special is the stunning quality of the line illustrations. The artist dedicates his work to Arthur Rackham - and it is clear that Rackham has been his inspiration. There is hardly a double-page-spread without some little picture and there are plenty of highly detailed full page illustrations too - yet again making it perfect for bedtime reading.
Although the style of the books is intentionally retro, the story is anything but. The plot of the first book: 'The Field Guide' revolves around the three Grace children; nine-year-old twins Jared and Simon, and their older sister Mallory. They move into their Great Aunt Lucinda's derelict house - and soon discover that it is not quite as empty as they thought. While trying to trace the source of the mysterious noises within the walls, Jared discovers a strange hidden room in which he finds an old hand-written book belonging to his long-lost Uncle, Arthur Spiderwick, which contains the terrible truth about the faerie world. Once he opens it, his life will never be the same again.
This book is the first in a series of five. Although the stories revolve around the magical inhabitants of the faerie world - don't assume that these books are just for girls. Jared, the main character, is very much a boy - into fighting, getting expelled from school and generally being difficult! Even the faeries are not the twee Enid Blyton variety - neither are they the like the feisty gun-toting elves of the Artemis Fowl books. No, they seem much more realistic: Strange, magical, slightly dangerous and determined to stop at nothing to protect their world and reclaim Arthur Spiderwick's powerful book. Subsequent stories include a whole menagerie of mystical beasts, including: goblins, griffins, unicorns, boggarts, ogres, dwarves and elves. The Spiderwick story continues with: Book 2 - 'The Seeing Stone'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but too short., 28 Oct 2003
By 
This book needs to be looked at as much as read. The prose is nicely written and atmospheric, but the illustrations taken alongside the text make this into a really beautiful book. The people who publish it have taken great pains to make this an enjoyable experience and I hope more publishers follow this trend.
The downside to this is the price. When you put all five Spiderwick books together you will get about the same number of words as a normal novel, just split over five books, and therefore you will be paying five times as much.
This said, however, I would pay it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spiderwick Chronicles, book one. The Field Guide, 26 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This was a very interesting book. The story is about 3 children, Jared, Simon and Mallory, and lots of wierd things which happen to them in their new house. Jared finds a puzzling poem and he then spends the rest of the time trying to work out what it means. The house is full of suprises, some of them very odd. And many of them they blamed on poor Jared.
The story is a little scary in places so would be best for a for a child of 7 or more - with the light on!
by Alasdair (aged 6)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles)
The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles) by Tony DiTerlizzi (Paperback - 7 May 2013)
£3.61
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews