Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gudelines for a Healthier and Longer Life
Speaking as a physician and also a human as susceptible as everyone else to life-style problems, I feel Dr Agus has produced an easy-to-read set of guidelines written in non-confusing terminology that focuses on prevention of developing disease. His advice is based on generally accepted medical and nutritional advice. Where prescription drugs are discussed they have been...
Published 16 months ago by ACB(swansea)

versus
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense Advice
If you are health conscious, then not too much in this easy-to-read book should be new. Doctor Agus is keen on aspirin and Statins but advises the reader to jettison the vitamins - the reasons seems sensible. His views on regularity and intensity of exercise seem consistent with the approaches advocated in The First Twenty Minutes. Other pearls such as keep lists and set...
Published 15 months ago by Andrew Henderson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gudelines for a Healthier and Longer Life, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
ACB(swansea) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Speaking as a physician and also a human as susceptible as everyone else to life-style problems, I feel Dr Agus has produced an easy-to-read set of guidelines written in non-confusing terminology that focuses on prevention of developing disease. His advice is based on generally accepted medical and nutritional advice. Where prescription drugs are discussed they have been scientifically researched and are evidence based.

He emphasises the need for an individual to look at their total health and life-style and get to know their own bodies and what works for them especially with exercise and nutrition. He divides the book into three sections:
1)What To Do.
2)What to Avoid.
3)Doctor's Orders.
These are followed by several useful lists which summarise the contents of the book. These include 'Actions to Reduce Your Risk for Illness'; 'Top 10 things to Educate Kids About Health and Wellness'; Popular Weight Loss Myths': Top 10 most sugary foods; top 10 high in Trans Fat (bad fats); Top High Glycaemic Index Foods (rapidly absorbed sugars that cause damaging insulin swings); Top Fish with beneficial Omega-3 oils; Top fish with mercury contamination.

This book contains much that is common sense. Good dental hygiene, sensible regular exercise, eating fresh foods and avoiding anything with a label on that you cannot pronounce or is full of additives and numbers, weight control, 3 portions of cold water fish per week, no more than three servings of red meat per week and processed meats in moderation, (bacon, salami, etc.), a glass of wine with your evening meal, smile more and even get a dog (not always practical!).

By following a regular and routine daily programme using Dr Agus's advice, the aim is not only to reduce the incidence of cancer but also heart disease, strokes, diabetes and high blood pressure and improving a positive life-style. Developing an individual schedule requires self-discipline, as when young we choose today and pay our dues later.

There are some points of controversy. There is undisputed evidence of the benefits of 75 mg aspirin daily in substantially reducing the risk of cardiovascular disease but also the common malignant cancers. It can cause stomach pains and bleeds. Discuss it with your doctor. Statins again not only target cholesterol but also reduce inflammation that can cause other ailments. Again, discuss it with your doctor. Genetically modified foods have been promoted as harmless. Not everyone agrees and personal opinion is divided, quite reasonably. Dr Agus also writes about age-related screening. Much is sensible (blood pressure, dental, cholesterol, diabetes). Prostate screening is taking a different approach from a blood test and this may be redundant in the near future and there is some doubt about the benefits of an annual check-up if you are feeling well.

The volume of advice transmitted daily by the media is confusing and often contrary. Dr Agus has neatly summarised the positive, proven and sensible approach to good health and hopefully longevity. A very concise and well-written book that I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Common Sense Advice, 9 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are health conscious, then not too much in this easy-to-read book should be new. Doctor Agus is keen on aspirin and Statins but advises the reader to jettison the vitamins - the reasons seems sensible. His views on regularity and intensity of exercise seem consistent with the approaches advocated in The First Twenty Minutes. Other pearls such as keep lists and set medium and long term health goals together with the invitation to define good health - which he observes is highly personal - are useful and welcome. A handy primer or reminder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Emphasis on short, 14 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not a terribly well written piece . More an extended essay then a book. Not well organised and not usable as a reference item. Main statement could be compressed into a single paragraph and that would have been an accurate summary. Wish it had been a more widespread commentary with proscriptive advice in a list form,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simply written collection of numerous useful tips for living a healthier life, 9 Jan. 2014
"A Short Guide to a Long Life" written by David B. Agus is a collection of numerous useful tips that will help reader to live a healthier life, simply written, but full of small wisdom.

I heard for the book author, Dr. David B. Agus, when Howard Stern stated that he saved his life, but I also read his first book "The End of Illness" which was for some parts controversial, as this book will likely become as well.
Besides considered as one of the world's most prominent cancer doctors, Dr. Agus is pioneering some new technologies and innovative approaches for personalized healthcare.

In this sense, "A Short Guide to a Long Life" brings his medical knowledge and techniques that are not fully aligned with the main currents in medical circles and therefore it cannot be said that the reader would entirely agree with all that is written in his book.
However, this is well-made compilation of understandable everyday advices that will help reader improve health condition in general, though the greater emphasis author placed on the issue of cancer prevention due to his medical specialization.

Some of his sentences seem overly simple, as they should not have a place in a "serious medical" book because it's somehow implied that we should eat fish or smile often, until we think about these activities are we doing them and how often in our daily lives.
The book was intentionally written in a way that reader can read it on any page, quickly and easily getting information; additionally author at the book end has added a few always popular Top 10 lists, which will be liked by everyone because they are easy to remember and to be referenced on.

For all above-mentioned "A Short Guide to a Long Life" is a useful book that in one place contains a collection of simple but smart tips, and despite the fact that with all of them you won't agree, Dr. Agus book can be recommended because many of them, despite their simplicity, you may have forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Life, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this after reading an interview with Dr Agus in the clour supplement of the Times Sat March 1st 2014. Am
really impressed with the simplicity I think it's an important read for those who wish for a healthier time as the years roll on.
dr Agus is a research scientist and Prof of medecine & Engineering at University of Southern California he was part of the team that discovered Vitamin C can fuel cancer because tumors can feed on it.
NOT SURE I WOULD HAVE BOUGHT THIS WITHOUT READING THE ARTICLE. BUT SO GLAD I DID.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a quick guide to a short book, 7 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an incredibly small book for the price. The type that can be skimmed through in 20 mins. Very disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Common sense in a small book, 9 May 2015
By 
V. Gill (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No great surprises here. I bought this book after hearing the author on the radio, and he did a very good job of selling it. I haven't quite finished it but he's told me nothing I didn't already know. It's all just a question of application. Who doesn't over eat the wrong foods from time to time? Who lives a stress free life? Life is tricky to live perfectly, even if we know how to do it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Succinct, logical, informative and thank you, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book may well be a life saver for me. I was already kind of on the right track but now I have so many more very simple and implementable ways to make my life more healthy and help me reach my target of 87 (and hopefully beyond!). Thank you Dr Agus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Short Guide to a Long Life, 18 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Had this on wish list for a while. Finally bought and read in one weekend. Almost nothing in here that I didn't already know (I am a nurse though).
Very Americanized, think the NHS is stretched enough without otherwise healthy people going to docs for random blood tests etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life changing, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A series of sensible points to ensure one has a long and contented life. Some common sense, others not. It has changed what I do, limiting how much wine I and coffee I drink. I like the simple approach, e.g. no coffee after 2 pm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Short Guide to a Long Life
A Short Guide to a Long Life by M David B Agus MD (Audio CD - 7 Jan. 2014)
£15.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews